Top Ten Tuesday: Unsung Heroes

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. Today, the topic is “Ten Books I Really Love But Feel Like I Haven’t Talked About Enough”. I’m going to be honest, it was hard to narrow this down to 10. 

The Magician’s Guild (Black Magician #1) by Trudi Canavan // It’s been a while since I’ve read this but I still remember loving this entire trilogy. I feel like I read one of her other books like 8 years ago, and really loving it too but obviously that doesn’t really count anymore as I hardly remember it. Trudi Canavan is a great fantasy (YA) author though, and deserves some more attention on this blog.

The Secret History by Donna Tartt // I only read this in 2016, so I feel like it’s normal I haven’t talked about it that much. This fiction novel was so different and unique, it’s safe to say I haven’t read anything like it. It’s about some intelligent college kids who commit murder. 

The Spirit Thief (Legend of Eli Monpress #1) by Rachel Aaron // I do talk about this one most of all of this list, I believe. But still, I rarely ever see it on other blogs and it saddens me. So I’m mentioning this again. 

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes // When I talk about my favorite books on my blog, I often talk about fantasy novels, retellings or novels that involve mythology. Yet Me Before You is one of my favorite contemporary romance novels, ever. It’s so much more than a romance novel. I found it inspiring! And let’s be real, it’s going to get emotional.

Paladin (Paladin #1) by Sally Slater // I actually received this book from the author, but I ended up loving it. This is another YA fantasy novel, about a girl pretending to be a guy in order to become a Paladin -the best and fiercest warriors in this world. The protectors who fight demons. It’s such a fun book, with a fierce girl at its heart. 

Warbreaker (Warbreaker #1) by Brandon Sanderson // I haven’t even reviewed this book, which is scandalous because I read it last year. This book was so wonderful. It’s the second Sanderson book I’ve read, and I’m so glad I did. Even after all these months, I still think of that book with a smile on my face. 

Uprooted by Naomi Novik // I also read this last year, soon after it was released. I’d seen such raving reviews on it and decided I had to read this for myself. And I loved it just as much. I know some people think this story dragged on, but I wasn’t bored a single second.

The Miseducation of Cameron Post by Emily M. Danforth // I am hesitant mentioning this book in favorites lists. Why? Well, I read it in 2013, almost 3 years ago. Before I had a blog too. So I often wonder whether I’d still love it as much. Yet I think that’s a bit unfair, as I do mention books I read before my blog. And I remember absolutely loving this slow-paced, character-driven LGBT contemporary. 

The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah // I think, aside from The Book Thief, this is my favorite WWII novel I’ve read so far. The story of these 2 sisters was so moving and captivating! 

Stolen Songbird (Malediction #1) by Danielle L. Jensen // I love this trilogy, although I do think the final book is my favorite of the three. I had so much fun reading this YA fantasy trilogy about trolls and witches. I don’t read much about trolls, really. This one is definitely worth it!


I’m so excited to see all of your lists! It’s always the most interesting when you get to read about other people’s favorite books. Have you read any of these? 

26 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Unsung Heroes

  1. I’m kind of kicking myself because I saw the Miseducation of Cameron Post at the library sale for 50cents and WHY DIDN’T I GET IT?!?! GAH. I’ve seen another blogger raving about it too…FAIL FOR ME. 😛 But omg I want to read all the Sanderson!! I barely ever mention that I’ve read Mistborn, which is ridiculously because IT WAS SO SO GOOD! *flails*

    Like

  2. I can’t believe I haven’t picked up any of these books yet. I really want to read a Sanderson book, uprooted and Me Before You (even though I’m not a huge contemporary reader). Great list!

    Like

  3. One of my best friends bought me the first Magicians’ Guild book a few years ago and I devoured the whole trilogy. I loved it! I think a reread is due. Same for Warbreaker — was my first Sanderson read and I fell in love with Lightsong, haha. I recently gifted that to a friend because I knew she would love Lightsong just as much.

    And well, Me Before You… ♥

    Like

  4. AHHHH The Miseducation of Cameron Post is my favorite book of all time, so you have no idea how happy it made me to see it on this list. ^_^ I HAVE SO MUCH LOVE FOR THAT BOOK. I bought my own copy of it the other day and I’m so glad that I finally own it (some three years after first reading it) so that now I can reread it whenever I’d like! 🙂

    Like

  5. I’m going to end up giving in and reading Me Before You soon. I hear so many good things about it. Uprooted was awesome, but I’ve noticed a few bloggers who didn’t enjoy it quite as much as I did, I suppose it’s not for everyone. Great list, Jolien and I’m happy to hear you’re safe after what happened earlier. Your country is in my thoughts.

    Like

  6. Oh no, I’ve only read one of these and I wasn’t a fan of it! The Miseducation Of Cameron Post was just a little too slow for me. I’d likely feel differently if I re-read it, I suspect.

    Like

Leave a Reply

