My Recent Obsessions

Obviously, my life consists of more than just reading and my blog. While I do love both aspects of my life, there are many other things I love to do. So today, I thought I’d talk about some things I’ve been really enjoying in the past few months/weeks. 

skincare

I have been loving skincare for about a year now. To me, skincare is so important. No matter how much makeup you use, it will never “cover up” bad skin. I’m all for no makeup days, and feeling comfortable with my own face -if you know what I mean? And skincare has been my savior. I started looking into it more, educating myself on what types of products I should use, my skin type, etc. 

I got my skin type tested at a Kiehl’s store in London last summer, and while I always thought I had dry skin apparently I have combination skin. So I started really looking into which products to buy, instead of just going with the cheapest options. I’m 21 years old, and I want nice skin until I’m 90. Is that really too much to ask? 

By the way, Caroline Hirons is my skincare goddess. She’s incredible. I’m an avid follower of both her blog and her YouTube channel

cooking

I’ve always loved cooking. But lately, I’ve really been trying to keep to one of my resolutions for this year: trying out more new recipes. This kind of goes in line with my desire of becoming a bit healthier. I’ve been trying out new recipes, ingredients I’ve never tried before and ones I used to hate as a kid. 

I’ve discovered that I actually love broccoli, while I hated it when I was a kid. I’ve been trying to cook more -and I’m loving it. I’m constantly thinking of what to make or eat next -oops. I’ve discovered a healthy way of making cookie dough with 3 ingredients, I’ve re-discovered my love for oatmeal, and have a whole new appreciation for potatoes and my food processor. 

I’ve also been following a lot of YouTubers who either eat healthy, or are vegan. I’m not vegan myself, but I have been trying to reduce the amount of animal products I eat (less dairy, less red meat and so on). 

yoga

I’ve been into yoga for months although I don’t practice as often as I’d like. I did a 30 day yoga challenge with the best buddy, Inge @ Bookshelf Reflections. I just love yoga, because it can be anything you want. Feeling bad? You can do a relaxing stretch-session that will calm you down. Feeling like a heavy workout? Do an intense session! Trust me, yoga can be incredibly intense. 

I don’t take classes near me, instead I use videos. I find I’m more comfortable when I can practice in my own home, or if the weather is nice, on the terrace. And then I can practice whenever I want. My favorite yoga instructors are Adriene, whose YouTube channel has amazing practices, and Dylan Werner. Dylan Werner teaches several practices on Cody App which is an amazing online space for workouts. 

decluttering

Ever since I read The Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo, I’ve been really into decluttering my life. I think it’s a combination of that book and the fact that my favorite YouTuber, ViviannaDoesMakeup, has started using certain principles like a capsule wardrobe. 

I’ve gone through my wardrobe, my makeup, my skincare, my purses and shoes several times, and just removed anything I wasn’t wearing or using. It feels SO GOOD to get rid of stuff you don’t use! I’ve even gone through my books, and now have a pile I want to get rid of too…

coffee shops

And no, I don’t mean the version from the Netherlands. What I love most about Brussels -and big cities- is that there are so many coffee shops you can either just relax at, or even work. I’ve found that I work much more efficiently when I pack my stuff, and go to a coffee shop for a while. I’ve discovered 2 favorites in Brussels: one called Café Capitale, and one called JAT’. 

JAT’ even has a fresh juice bar and healthy lunch options. Let’s be real, I’d never leave if I didn’t have to. I’m actually looking forward to doing some work now, when I can go there! 


So those are some of my recent obsessions! I thought it’d be nice for you all to know a bit more non-bookish stuff about me. Let me know, what have you been liking lately? 

12 thoughts on “My Recent Obsessions

  1. Ahh I totally fell down the YouTube rabbit hole with the channels you linked to! I love the Vivienne one. Thanks for sharing these!
    And yep, oatmeal is the best. I was really bummed when I couldn’t eat it for a while because my early pregnancy food aversions included milk, but then I realized I could be making it with rice/soy milk instead and I’ve been doing that A LOT. I still don’t drink milk … Ugh.

    And yeah, I should most definitely go through my books and donate some, our bookshelves are getting out of hand. 😦

    Like

  2. PLEASE SEND ME THIS HEALTHY COOKIE DOUGH RECIPE.

    I’m so glad you’re my yoga buddy. As much as I love yoga, I don’t do it nearly enough and you’re a big help in that aspect. Do let me know if you need someone to babble to about skincare and healthy foods, I’d love to know more!

    Like

  3. I seem to unknowingly hoard stuff and I think people would be surprised by how much it secretly stresses you out. I always feel better when I’ve had a good clear out so I suppose de-cluttering is one of my hobbies.

    (YOU HAVE A RECIPE FOR A HEALTHY COOKIE DOUGH?! PLZ, SHARE!!)

    I don’t wear make up at all. 1. Because I’m lazy. 2. It feels weird on my skin. I’m lucky that genetics have given me good skin, but I could be taking better care of it. Most I do is wash my face and occasionally use moisturizer.

    Yoga sounds like great fun and good exercise.Will have to check the links you’ve shared!

    Like

Leave a Reply

