Review: One Day Soon

one day soon

One Day Soon (One Day Soon #1) by A. Meredith Walters
Published: 18.02.2016

Genre: Contemporary, New Adult
Rating: 4/5 stars

Goodreads | Bookdepository

SynopsisHe found me in blood and tears. I stayed with him through darkness and fire. We loved each other in the moment between innocence and bitter truth. We were the kids easily ignored, who grew into adults we hardly knew. We weren’t meant to last forever. And we didn’t. He ran away. I tried to move on.

Yet I never stopped thinking about the boy who had fought to keep me alive in a world that would have swallowed me whole. He was the past that I buried, but never forgot. Until the day I found him again, years after believing I had lost him forever. And in cold, resentful eyes, I saw the heart of the man who had been everything when I had nothing at all. So I vowed to hold onto the second chance that was stolen from the children we had been. Sometimes fate is ugly. Life can be twisted. And who we are can be ruined by who we once were. For two people who had survived so much, we would have to learn how to hold on before we were forced to let go.

review

I picked up a copy of these on my Kindle app on a whim, because it was only like $3. And I felt like reading a romance story on Friday so I started it. I was immediately hooked by the characters and story. It’s not a 5-star read to me, but I still really loved it. 

STORY

Look at the first two sentences. They seem so dramatic, but actually describe this story perfectly. “He found me in blood and tears. I stayed with him through darkness and fire”. 

First of all, I’m glad I read this because I don’t think I’ve every read a book about people in this situation. I don’t know whether I should mention what that situation is, but the synopsis doesn’t, so I probably shouldn’t either… Anyway, what these two characters experience is both so common, yet uncommon. It’s common because it happens to so many people around the world. Yet it’s uncommon because I have never read a book about people in their situation, especially not a contemporary one. Life is hard for these people. And I felt for them. I just wanted to rescue everyone! 

I found this story really captivating. It switches with every other chapter from the present, to 15 years ago. So I estimate the characters to be around 30 in the present time, and the female protagonist was 15 in the past scenario. So while you get to know the characters in the present time, you’re discovering more of their past. Sometimes, this can draw me out of the story but that luckily wasn’t the case here. In fact, it made me even more attached to these characters, and even more invested in a possible happy ending. 

I have to admit that at one point, I tried to guess where it all went wrong 15 years ago, and was mistaken.

CHARACTERS

Okay, the female protagonist in this story is Imogen -or Imi to friends. I really enjoyed reading about her. She’s very strong, and not just because of what she went through 15 years ago. I think it’s amazing to see how she turned her life around, and managed to achieve so much -starting from so little. She graduated college, has a nice apartment and a job as a social worker at a hospital. She loves her job, and lives for it. She was married, now divorced. I haven’t read that many new adult books lately in which the main characters are already settled in a job and life, and have already figured out what they want from life. I found it really refreshing and interesting! 

The male protagonist is called Yossarian -or Yoss, which he prefers. He captured my heart. This man seems so precious. And I felt for him SO MUCH. Why does bad shit always happen to good people, right? He’s definitely a survivor. And although he’s been through so much, he still is the kindest person to those he considers friends/family. Let’s be real, he’s had a rough life. An incredible rough one. Yet he still has capacity for kindness and love. What I don’t like about him is that he took some decisions thinking it was for the better, for everyone. I don’t like it when people do that, because it takes the power of choice away from others. 


If you like romance novels, I’d highly recommend this. I don’t really think it’s all that new adult because it doesn’t really mention sex often. And half of the story is YA if you think about it, because at that point the main characters were 15 & 18. I’d especially recommend this because of their “common situation” I mentioned above. It’s important we read books about these issues, in my opinion! 

4 thoughts on “Review: One Day Soon

  1. The description of this book is absolutely breathtaking. If the prose is as captivating as the cover excerpt was then I can imagine not being able to let the book down. But you are right, from the sound of it alone, I wouldn’t classify it as a NA novel. Not because of the lack of sex, because IMO that isn’t a prerequisite for a book to be considered NA, but because the characters have surpassed the age of NA, as set by current trends (though I deeply disagree with that personally, but oh well, who am I to change book industry labels).

    Like

    • That’s true! I feel like half of this book, they are YA age. And then the other half they’re older than most NA characters! It’s actually quite interesting. I always wonder, at what age are you no longer in one age category according to “official labels”? Is there a set of rules or something? I have to know now.

      Like

      • Officially, Young Adutls, are individuals aged 18-25. That is also the age gap YA books were directed to at first. After that you are considered an Adult.
        However, as teenagers started behaving more and more like YA (sex at 14, dressing provocatively at an early age) they also started reading those books intended for older audiences, because being merely a “teenager” and reading books for “teenagers” wasn’t in anymore. So they started “appropriating” YA lit for themselves, which in turn had to be rebranded to fit the age group. Instead, for the true YA the new genre New Adult was created. It is also widely branded as a more sexual genre and oftentimes complex (if you know how to find the right books), to keep those teens at bay and from ruining another perfectly good thing. 😉
        My biggest problem with that isn’t the need for NA to be created as a genre, but that so many teens (13-17) insist that they are Young Adults. I rarely voice this, but what keeps going through my head is bitch if you consider yourself a YA then by all means, take on the responsibilities of one and if it comes to it, get tried as a YA in court. But that might be my education getting the better of me 😉

        Liked by 1 person

        • Wow, thanks! When I want to read a book with a main character around my age, I can really never pick up a young adult book (I’m turning 22 this year). Even though that’s exactly what WE are: young ADULTS. But instead I have to turn to books branded as NA or adult fiction. Sometimes I feel like reading a book about a younger person (like 17-18) yet still most YA doesn’t feature people that age group. It’s all like 16 or 15, and even getting younger. I’m sorry, but to me the ages up to 14-15 should at least be middle grade! It makes no sense at all. I agree, there is a difference between a teenager and a young adult! If you are 16, you fit the “young” part of it. But definitely not the adult!

          Like

Leave a Reply

