Top Ten Tuesday: My Last 5 Star Reads

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. Today, the topic is “10 Of My Most Recent 5 Star Reads”. Apparently, to reach 10 5-star reads, I had to go back into 2015. So I didn’t read all of these in 2016, some I read some of these in the last months of 2015.

I’ll go from most recent to further in the past.

Warrior Witch (Malediction #3) by Danielle L. Jensen // To me, this was an incredible ending to a fantastic trilogy. Trolls, witches and politics. YES. I’m excited to see what Danielle L. Jensen will do next. If you’d like to read my review on it, you can find it here

A Gathering of Shadows (Shade of Magic #2) by V.E. Schwab // I’d been looking forward to this sequel for a year, and I’m so happy to say it didn’t disappoint me. I loved the characters’ struggles, new adventures and was even intrigued by the new characters introduced. I can’t wait for the next book! Again, if you want to read my full thoughts on this book, you can read my review.

Hounded (Iron Druid #1) by Kevin Hearne // I picked this up in my latest Bookdepository haul because it was so cheap. And wow, did I love it! I’m kind of on a non-official book buying ban so I haven’t bought the next books yet but I definitely want to do so soon. It’s a fun book about a 21-century-old Druid. CENTURIES OLD. Again, you can read my review for more details.

The Warded Man (Demon Cycle #1) by Peter V. Brett // I’d seen this book around as I think it’s quite a well-known fantasy series/author. But it only has like 60000 ratings on Goodreads, which in my opinion isn’t nearly enough. In this world, demons rise from the ground to kill humans every time the sun goes down. And the only way the people can defend themselves is by drawing protective wards and staying in them. My full review explains everything in more detail, but I’d highly recommend this!

The Secret History by Donna Tartt // This is a completely different novel than those mentioned above. For starters, it’s not a fantasy novel. It’s fiction. The story revolves around a group of college students who study Greek (and Latin). They murdered one of their friends. Yup. It’s intense. My review can be found here.

Marked in Flesh (The Others #4) by Anne Bishop // This is one of my all-time favorite series now, so it shouldn’t be a surprise that I rated this latest book 5 stars. I just love all of the characters. Every single one -and there are many. If you haven’t started this series, please do so! My review can be found here.

The Death of Dulgath (Riyria Chronicles #3) by Michael J. Sullivan // Again, one of my favorite series. Or should I say worlds? The author has multiple series in the same world (two of them revolving around the same characters). He’s writing a third series now set in the past, and I’M SO EXCITED TO READ THAT ONE. Anyway, I highly enjoyed this book. The audiobooks for these are really great as well! Full review here. I think this was the first book I read in 2016, so the next 3 books I all read in 2015.

The Way of Shadows (Night Angel #1) by Brent Weeks // Again, quite a well-known author and series in the fantasy genre. Although it took me a bit to get into the story, I ended up loving it. Really, you have to give this book a little bit. Don’t give up! My review can be found here, if you want to read more of my thoughts on it. 

The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah // I think this battles The Book Thief for my favorite WWII book-spot. There, I said it. It’s absolutely amazing. It follows 2 sisters, one living in a small town in France, the other living in Paris. This book… I shed a few tears by the end. It’s just SO BEAUTIFUL. You can read my review here

Winter (Lunar Chronicles #4) by Marissa Meyer // The long awaited conclusion. I know many people found this to be too long or drawn out. I have to admit that I loved every second of it. I think this is an amazing series, and I grew so attached to the characters. A definite recommend, but you can read all of my spoiler-free thoughts here.


So those are my latest 5-star reads! Obviously, I’d recommend all of these to you. Please give them a try! I’d love to see your posts too, because I have a feeling I’ll have to add many to my TBR this week. 

48 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: My Last 5 Star Reads

  1. Marked in Flesh was SO GOOD. I’m really sad that the next one is the last. This series just blows me away. It is just amazing.

    Like

  2. Yay for Winter, it was amazing. 🙂 I am currently in the middle of A Gathering of Shadows and I am LOVING it! She is such a great author. and I’ve been meaning to read The Way of Shadows for forever, since my old roommate recommended it!

    Like

  3. We both chose The Secret History! I had to keep resisting the urge to sharpen pencils and apply to grad school when I was reading this one. I loved the characters that Tartt created! Thanks for sharing your list!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I loved Winter too. I’ve grown so attached to all the characters, I’m just not ready to say goodbye. I have the Stars Above short story collection, but I don’t want to read it just yet because then it really will be the end. Nice list this week!

    Like

  5. I’m seeing The Nightingale on many people’s list, and I feel like I should stop putting it off and read it–as well as A Darker Shade of Magic and its sequel. I really need to read something by Donna Tartt, too.

    Like

  6. I might be considering picking up The Secret History. I hear so much about it and it sounds like an interesting enough tale. I always love seeing Bishop’s “Others” series show up on lists – it made mine too this week. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  7. I haven’t looked too much into it, but I’m SURE (like 100%) that I would have to go waaayy back to find my 10 5-stars books, so I totally understand what you mean. I’m so picky, it’s ridiculous. I thought for a minute that The Secret History would have ended up on my list, but turns out I’ve given it 4 stars. It’s still one of my favorites, though !

    Like

  8. Gahhh you’re list makes my mouth water! I’ve been meaning to read all of these (except The Death of Dulgath that I’d never heard off but have now added to my TBR list). So excited that you loved them all means I have a great year ahead of me 🙂

    I’m currently reading A Gathering of Shadows, V E Schwab is an amazing writer, I want to read the Archived series next and A Savage Song as soon as it’s released.

    Happy Reading
    Rachel @ Paein-and-Ms4Tune

    Like

    • So glad you added Death of Dulgath too! I do think that you’ll have a great year ahead with these on your to-read list! I absolutely loved them all. I haven’t read her Archived series or A Savage Song either, so I want to read those too. Thanks!

      Like

  9. I want to read The Iron Druid series I’ve heard good things. I also liked the Star Wars book he wrote so I’m sure I’ll like the Iron Druid books as well.

    Like

  10. I’m so excited to read AGOS! I loved book 1 and from what I’ve heard book 2 doesn’t disappoint!
    I’ve not read TLC yet but the hype of the finale has me hunting down my library for a copy of Cinder. I’m glad to hear you liked it so much!

    Like

Leave a Reply

