Weekly Wrap Up | April #1

what i read 80c8b0

The Water Knife by Paolo Bacigalupi // ★★★★.5 // I picked this book up from the library because it’s part of the Goodreads Awards Challenge. I’m so glad I read it though! I don’t think I would’ve picked it up if I hadn’t challenged myself to do so through the Awards. I’m happy I didn’t miss out on this incredible read. You can read my full review here

Once Upon a Dream (Twisted Tales #2) by Liz Braswell // DNF // I am so disappointed by this book. I gave up after 30% or so because I just couldn’t deal with the main character. You can read my DNF review if you want. I obviously wouldn’t recommend this one. 

The Demon Girl’s Song by Susan Jane Bigelow // ★★★★ // I really enjoyed this book! I got a copy from Netgalley, and it’ll only be released in September. I’ll have my review on this one up tomorrow, if you’re curious. 

The Foxglove Killings by Tara Kelly // ★★★★ // A YA mystery novel! I actually quite enjoyed it. I read it in a few hours, because I was captivated both by the dynamics between the characters and the mystery. I’ll have a review up for this one soon. Oh, I didn’t guess who the killer was AT ALL!

what i watched 80c8b0

Supergirl // I had been looking forward to this series after it was first announced, especially because I loved Melissa Benoist’s acting on Glee. Yet I never really got to it! This week I was feeling like some superhero-action. So I started watching, and fell in love. I’m now on episode 13 -as I’m writing this- so don’t spoil me…

Smallville // While I was watching Supergirl, I felt this ache for Smallville. This used to be one of my favorite series. It’s obviously about Superman, but the years leading up to him embracing that. It’s Clark Kent growing up. It has 10 seasons, and when I watched it years ago, I stopped watching 5 episodes before the series finale. I have a problem with endings people. So now, I re-watched a lot of episodes (mostly those with Lois in it) and finished the series. I still love it so much. Every time I think of Superman, I envision Tom Welling.

Shadowhunters // I caught up with the latest episode, Malec. Can I just say: YES. It’s no secret that I don’t love these books. I feel like one of the only people who didn’t really enjoy The Mortal Instruments -and I quit after book 4. But I’m really enjoying this series. It’s getting better, in my opinion. I love the actors who play Simon, Alex, Izzy and Magnus. I know not everyone does, but I think they’re doing an amazing job, especially because they were my least favorite characters in the book, and I love them now.

in real life 80c8b0

Easter holidays! Well, holidays. I’m working on my thesis, which I have to hand in May 2nd. Scary, no? But I’ve been calm, and trying not to stress.

Lately, I’ve really been changing my eating habits. I have cut a lot of dairy, meat and eggs out of my life. I’m not vegan, but most of my meals have been plant-based. I do still eat meat and cheese, but in very small portions. What I’m trying is to switch to a whole foods, plant-based diet but I’m taking the change slowly. Otherwise I’ll never be able to do it because I’ll be so overwhelmed. Now, I’m changing one thing at a time, trying out new recipes and products. I have to admit that I feel really good, and I’ve been wanting to exercise more (which says a lot, trust me).

Part of wanting to be healthier, I’ve been trying to exercise more. My parents have an elliptical machine, which is great for cardio -and wipes me out every time. I also really adore yoga, and my most used practices are from Yoga With Adriene on YouTube or Dylan Werner’s Yoga for Strength on Cody. I’ve also started some Barre classes on Cody! Man, they are INTENSE. I really like it though, I’ve done 2 of them this week (so far).


I hope you’ve all had a good week! Did you read or watch anything? I’d love to hear about it!

4 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up | April #1

Leave a Reply

