Weekly Wrap Up | April #2

what i read 80c8b0

City of Stairs (Divine Cities #1) by Robert Jackson Bennett // ★★★★★ // Okay, this book is a new favorite. I’m so glad I finally picked it up. It’s a fantasy novel with unbelievably good world building. The religion, culture and history of this world is so rich, I was lost in it. I enjoyed the story line and characters as well. I’ll have a full review up tomorrow, if you’re interested in reading my thoughts on it. 

Danny Dirks and the Heir of Pendragon (Danny Dirks #1) by S.A. Mulraney // ★★★.5 // I just finished this last night! I actually managed to read it in a few hours. It just flew by, such a quick read. If you like MG/YA and fantasy (and dragons), I think you’d enjoy this! I definitely did. Even though it wasn’t the best thing I’ve read by far, it was entertaining -and intriguing. I’m even upset I can’t find any information about the sequel, aside from the mention at the end of the book. What’s up with that? I want to know what happens! Anyway, my review for this will be up soon. 

what i watched 80c8b0

MOVIES

Two Weeks Notice // ★★★.5 // I love Sandra Bullock, and I felt like watching a romantic movie. While this was fun to watch, and I definitely enjoyed it, it didn’t stand out to me. There’s nothing truly special about this, to be honest. Although if you’re in the mood for a romantic movie, I would recommend it. 

Stick It // ★★★ // I needed to watch something mindlessly. So Stick It, it was! I actually thought this was a fun movie. I don’t know why I love to watch gymnastics, but it never fails to intrigue me. 

Ant-Man // ★★★★ // I really didn’t expect to like this movie. I mean, an ant man? That doesn’t sound impressive at all. In fact, it sounds a bit ridiculous. But it appeared on Netflix, and who am I to judge, right? So I watched it. And enjoyed the hell out of it. I laughed out loud several times because it was just great. Suddenly, an ant man sounds like an incredible idea to me!

TV SHOWS

Supergirl // I am finally caught up! I do love this show. I love that she’s so awkward, nice, genuine, kind yet still the Girl of Steel. It’s the ultimate anyone-can-be-a-hero scenario. And I loved the cross-over with The Flash! I do love me some Barry Allen (or some Grant Gustin). I haven’t caught up with the new season of the Flash yet though, so I might do that. And catch up with Arrow, because they have cross-overs too. Man, you have to catch up on three shows!

Fairy Tail // I have never watched anime before. At least, not consciously. Yet so many people absolutely adore anime! As I’m already a book lover, a movie lover and a TV show lover, I thought I’d probably enjoy anime too, right? So I wanted to give this show a try. I actually quite like it. It’s amusing and entertaining. Although I adore Natsu and Grey and Erza, I don’t really like Lucy. Probably not a popular opinion, right? But it doesn’t hinder my enjoyment of the show. 

Full House // Everyone was so excited when Netflix announced Fuller House! But I had never seen Full House -I was born in 1994- so I figured I’d start from the beginning. I’m currently on season 2 and loving it. John Stamos: YES. It’s such a funny show, and so cute at times (baby Michelle!). 

in real life 80c8b0

What happened this week, in my life? NOTHING BUT STRESS AND TV SHOW WATCHING. I’m stressed out about my thesis, and quite honestly sick of it. So instead I’ve been watching TV. Welcome to the life of a procrastinator. 


Did you read or watch anything this week? Do you have some anime to recommend to me? 

10 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up | April #2

  1. Really fun post! I adore “Two Weeks Notice” (though as you say, it’s nothing special, but when I want a chick flick, it’s a contender), also “Stick It” is fun too in a mindless kind of way. I had a similar reaction to “Ant-Man” but since I heart Marvel, it was one I *had* to see! If I’m being honest, it *might* be their best yet, although in my rankings, I’m not sure anything could or will replace the Captain America franchise because STEVE. 😉

    Like

  2. Looks like you’ve had an incredible week!

    And Full House <3! I was born in 1994 as well, so I have only just started watching the series from the beginning on Netflix too! I have officially come to the conclusion that I want to marry Joey. Haha.

    Like

  3. Wow. You’ve read and watched a lot.. Your TV shows though, I’m watching Arrow and The Flash, sooo good. And the crossovers adorbs!😀 and for Animé, try One Piece, totally hilarious and hopefully you’ll be hooked. Loyalty and friendship and adventure and fun, that’s One Piece.❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

