Top (14) Tuesday: 14 Books For People Who Value Friendship

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. Today, the topic is “Ten Books Every X Should Read”. I chose to pick some books that all contain a great friendship, in my opinion. And I couldn’t pick 10, sorry. :

Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling // Obviously, I had to mention this first. When talking about friendships in novels, you have to talk about Harry Potter. And I don’t just mean his friendship with Ron and Hermione. I also love how the Weasleys treat him like family. How incredible Neville, Luna and Ginny truly are, if you only give them a chance to be themselves.

Rat Queens (Vol #1): Sass and Sorcery by Kurtis J. Wiebe // The Rat Queens are an assassin’s guild of incredibly powerful women. And they are amazing. Each is so different, yet they all love each other so much they’d do anything to protect them. I loved reading the first two volumes of this, and I’ll definitely be continuing the series. Powerful group of women, YES.

Written in Red (The Others #1) by Anne Bishop // Meg, a blood prophet, runs away from the people keeping her caged. She finds a place to stay in the Lakeside Courtyard, with The Others. The friendships that are created throughout this series are outstanding. There are many side characters, yet they all have their distinct qualities, and characteristics. It’s not just a friendship between two people, but between a community. 

A Darker Shade of Magic (Shades of Magic #1) by V.E. Schwab // The friendship between Kell and Rhy is to die for. The bromance! Rhy is the extrovert, while Kell is definitely more of an introvert. And while they are both so different, their love for each other is endless. What wouldn’t you do for your brother, after all? 

The Crown Tower (Riyria Chronicles #1) by Michael J. Sullivan // Probably my favorite bromance ever: Royce and Hadrian. Not only are their adventures epic, their witty banter is fantastic as well. If you start reading the series at The Chronicles, you’ll get to experience their friendship from the start. If you start at the Revelations, you’ll get to see how solid their friendship is/becomes.

Dreamer’s Pool (Blackthorn & Grim #1) by Juliet Marillier // Dreamer’s Pool is the start of a friendship between Blackthorn and Grim. Blackthorn has been through much in her life, and all she wants is revenge and a solitary life. Grim just wants to help her. I love how much respect these two have for each other. Respect for personal space, for the other wanting to keep certain things to themselves, and so on. You can’t have a solid friendship without respect in my opinion, so this is the start to a great friendship.

The Raven Boys (Raven Cycle #1) by Maggie Stiefvater // You all know I love this series. If you talk about friendship, Blue and her Raven Boys just have to be mentioned. This group of friends is everything. Truly. Their dynamics are incredible. Plus, I’d love anything Gansey is in. 

The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson #1) by Rick Riordan // Dynamic trios! I know it’s normally duos but let’s be real we can’t forget about Grover. Percy, Annabeth and Grover. It just doesn’t get any better! 

The Fellowship of the Ring (LotR #1) by J.R.R. Tolkien // The fellowship is one giant group of friends. They may not always get along well. But they are there for each other. And then you have the little groups of friendships within the fellowship: Legolas and Gimli, Merry and Pippin, Frodo and Sam. It’s just incredible. 

The Spirit Thief (Legend of Eli Monpress) by Rachel Aaron // Another dynamic trio: Eli, Nico and Josef. I love how they all balance each other out. That seems to be the key to a great friendship. Eli is the impulsive one, Josef the careful one. Nico is… wel. Kind of hard to explain. 

Eragon (Inheritance #1) by Christopher Paolini // Obviously, I’m talking about the intense bond between Eragon and Saphira. First of all, Saphira is a beautiful name. I love the bond between them, how she always calls him “little one”. Even though they are completely different species, friendship binds them together. Now that I’m writing this, I have a strong desire to read this book again. 

Uprooted by Naomi Novik // Here, the friendship between Kasia and Agnieszka is great, in my opinion. They adore each other. And yes, they sometimes have those petty thoughts about each other: maybe a bit jealous of the other. But that’s normal! Every human will experience some of those thoughts in their life. But they dealt with it and talked about it. 

The Lies of Locke Lamora (Gentleman Bastards #1) by Scott Lynch // Oh, how I wish I could be part of the Gentleman Bastards. Honestly. Locke, Jean, Calo, Galdo, Bug. Even Sabetha, although you really only get to know her in book 3. They’re thieves and con artists, but they do everything together. They trust and rely on each other. 

Lumberjanes Vol. 1 by Noelle Stevenson // Yay, a graphic novel! This series is basically about a youth-camp/movement called The Lumberjanes, and in particular the friendship between these 5 ladies. This graphic novel is so much fun, and easy to read. I always love stories about capable girls, and especially friendship between girls and women. 


So this is my Top Ten Tuesday of the week! Have you read any of these books? I’d love to hear about it! If you’ve made a list, let me know. I’m curious to see all the types of lists everyone has come up with. 

43 thoughts on “Top (14) Tuesday: 14 Books For People Who Value Friendship

  1. As soon as I saw the topic you picked, I thought: “No way is she going to do this one without Frodo & Sam” and I was right! 🙂

    I still haven’t read Lumberjanes, even though I loved Nimona and Stevenson’s artwork is just crazy good. I’ve not heard of the Sullivan books, are they good? Where would you start if you were a newbie? Are the series finished?

    Like

    • YES to Frodo and Sam. Obviously, I could not make this list without them.

      You don’t know how happy your questions about Michael Sullivan make me. I always love to recommend him to others! Okay, I started with the Riyria Revelations series, which consists of 3 bind-ups and is finished. Those books revolve around Hadrian and Royce in the “present time” if you will. Then I continued with the Riyria Chronicles, which are prequel books. They start from the moment they meet. I would actually suggest using the same order: first the Revelations, than the Chronicles (prequels). It worked perfectly like that. The Revelations are completely finished. The Chronicles, I’m not sure. He has written 3, and a 4th hasn’t been announced. But he only starting writing them because fans asked him to. So I think whether he writes another will depend both on him, and the fans. And this year, the Legends of the First Empire series by him will start. I think that series will happen hundreds of years before the Revelations (or maybe more) but it’s not necessary to read those first to start it. I hope that explanation made sense! If not, feel free to message me on Twitter or Goodreads or so!

      Like

  2. Great topic! I love it when books feature great friendships, it’s so important and sometimes it’s a bit looked over in books in favor of romance and that’s a pity. I completely agree with Harry Potter, Percy Jackson, Eragon and Lord of the Rings! Uprooted, The Raven Boys, The Others and Darker Shade of Magic are on my TBR and I hope to read them soon 🙂

    Like

  3. I love books with strong friendships, and have seen Anne Bishop’s and Percy Jackson books around, but never read either of them. Good to know there’s a nice friendship inside their pages. 🙂

    Thanks so much for your recent visit to Finding Wonderland, Jolien. I appreciate you stopping by; you’re welcome anytime. 🙂

    Like

  4. I loved the friendship so much in The Raven Boys! They all have such complex relationships with each other, but I love how ultimately, they all care about each other so much. I’ve only read the first two books (I’m ordering the others today though!!), but really enjoyed them both. I loved the friendship in ADSOM too! I really want to read Uprooted soon 🙂

    Denise | The Bibliolater

    Like

  5. FRIENDSHIP IS THE BEST OF EVER IN BOOKS!!!!! Definitely The Raven Cycle is the best. DEFINITELY. AFJDALKSD I cannot even with those adorable boys and their adorable bond. ❤ Also Kell and Rhy are amazing friends and brothers and their banter is the best. AHHHH. And of course Harry Potter. That is like iconic for it's wonderful friendships. :')

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’ve heard Rat Queens is really good. And fellowship is a great choice as well, love that group and the mix of hobbits and men and elves etc.

    Like

  7. I’ve only read three of the books on this list (Written in Red, Raven Boys, and Uprooted), but I agree with your comments about them 100%!

    I actually reread Written in Red recently, in preparation for finally picking up Murder of Crows, and I was once again totally enamored with the community embraces Meg. For a book with such a serious tone/subject matter, it’s incredibly uplifting. (Though I guess it should be, considering how much of it is about healing.) Anyway: love it, and love its place on this list.

    I’ll have to check out all these other books sometime, too! =)

    Like

Leave a Reply

