Top Ten Tuesday: Bookworm Delights

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. Today, the topic is “Bookworm Delights”. So let’s get into it!

#1: Browsing the shelves in your local/favorite bookstore

One of my favorite things to do is to walk into my favorite local bookstore and just browse the shelves. For those of you who live in Belgium, or have been to Brussels before, my favorite book store is called Sterling Books, which is an English bookstore. They always have fun decals and themes on the windows, and the store has some pretty great bookish merch. If you want, I can do a post on it.

Anyway, one of my favorite things to do is just to browse their shelves. Mostly the fantasy shelves, and the new additions displays. I have found so many books to add to my to-read shelf this way, books I’ve never heard of before. It remains the greatest bookworm pleasure, I think.

#2: Picking up a book you’ve never heard of before, which turns out to be incredible

I love this community, I truly do. But sometimes I just feel like reading something NEW. Something I haven’t seen around in the community before. However, that’s always a risk too. What if I end up hating it? Yet it’s so amazing to discover a hidden gem. Not only will you have a new author to check out, you get to recommend it to all the bookish friends you have! 

#3: Discovering a new favorite author

This happened to me in 2015 with Michael J. Sullivan. I read his first bind-up in the Riyria Revelations series, and fell in love with it. I loved the writing, the world, the characters – absolutely everything. So I went on to read the rest of the series. And then I read his Riyria Chronicles. Now, I’m excited every time I think about his book Age of Myth, which will be released this year. Knowing he is out there writing his heart out, makes me incredibly happy. And I’m so glad I discovered him last year. 

#4: Discovering an “old” favorite author is writing a new book

Seeing an announcement on one of your favorite authors writing a new book is THE BEST. I mean, who doesn’t get excited by the opportunity of another book by your favorite author? It’s one of the best feelings ever. You’ll get to experience a book by them for the first time, again. 

#5: Spotting another bookworm

For example, last week I was walking to lunch in my university when I saw a girl sitting with her laptop. By itself, not a surprising occurrence at a university. But she had a decal on her laptop that said “If Harry Potter can defeat Voldemort, you can graduate university” or something similar. And I loved it so much, I genuinely smiled at the sight of it. I didn’t have time to say anything though, because my friends were power walking to ensure we wouldn’t have to wait in line for 20 minutes. But seeing other people who love the same things as you do, it’s just great. 

#6: Beautiful covers

I’m going to be honest, I love walking around in the bookstore I previously mentioned and look at all the pretty covers. Honestly, cover art has grown so much in my opinion. Each book is truly a work of art, both in cover and in content. Sometimes, you find a book that has such an intricate cover, you could look at it forever. (Or is that just me?)

#7: When you recommend a book to someone, and they love it

I’m always terrified to recommend books to someone. Why? What if they don’t like it? What if they’ll never trust my judgment again? It’s scary, people! But if I keep recommending a book to someone and they read it and love it: it’s such a joy! On my blog here, I keep recommending the following: anything by Michael J. Sullivan, The Legend of Eli Monpress by Rachel Aaron, The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller, The Others by Anne Bishop and the Gentleman Bastards by Scott Lynch. 

#8: Gushing about books with other book lovers

That’s one of the main reasons I love blogging. I love talking to you all about books! I have discovered some amazing gems thanks to you all. Plus, you’re all such nice people. I think I’m lucky enough to say that in my 1.5 years of blogging (or a tad more), I have never had a negative experience with another blogger, reader or author. Probably because my blog isn’t big enough to create drama, but still. I tend to stay away from drama too. If I read some on Twitter, I’ll usually not say anything, unless it’s an outrageous thing that happened to someone. 

#9: A perfectly arranged bookshelf

I’m always re-organizing my bookshelves. It gives me such pleasure to look at them, and I love watching pictures from others on Instagram. Although you all seem to have shelves far more beautiful than mine. But who cares? Seeing all those books you collected on your shelf, it’s a happy happy thing. 

#10: Book-mail

No matter whether it’s a book you order, a gift you received or a package you won. Maybe even an ARC copy? I’ve never received a physical ARC copy by mail, so I can’t attest to that. But the other 3 are just such incredible feelings. When I see a package from Bookdepository, I’m always delighted! And last Christmas, Inge got me The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin! I was soooo grateful and happy. I still have to read it though Inge, I’m so sorry. 

47 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Bookworm Delights

  1. I love browsing at a favorite bookstore, there’s always so much to see. And you should do a post on Sterling, it sounds great. I love bookstore posts. I also agree about favorite authors writing new books- that’s like some of the best news. 🙂

    I haven’t read Michael Sullivan yet, but I have to admit I’m intrigued mainly because I saw the cover of Age of Myth and loved it (a good book cover will get me every time).

    Like

  2. I love this week’s topic, it’s great to think about all the great things that come with being a bookworm! Especially recommending books, arranging bookshelves and gushing about books with other booklovers. It’s just great to be a bookworm 🙂

    Like

  3. I love spotting book lovers too. It always makes me smile 🙂 I also love it when you invite someone round for the first time and they take one look at your bookcase and start browsing through and asking questions! Instantly love them more lol.

    I keep grinning at how many lists have rearranging their shelves. I can spend hours doing that! I’ve only just got new shelves so I can finally take some shelfies hehe.

    Great List,
    Rachel @ Paein-and-Ms4Tune

    Like

  4. I’ve heard a lot about Michael J Sullivan, still haven’t actually read any books from him yet. I’m planning to start Theft of Swords soonish. Hopefully.

    Like

  5. I always have mixed feelings when recommending a favourite book to someone as well! That fear that the person would hate it and think that I have bad taste in books… Although most of the time my friends never read the books I recommended to them anyway 😅

    Like

  6. It’s really hard for me to get over how beautiful some covers are!! When you talk to other people about books .. there’s nothing better than that. You chose some great delights. Here’s mine: TTT

    Like

  7. ALL OF THOSE! What a great list! And book mail days are definitely among the best kind of days. I used to work in a bookstore and now I order my books for pick-up so that I can meet up with my former colleagues, but some books I still order via Book Depository or such and it’s so great to have a little package in the mail. I like getting mail in general hahaha

    Like

  8. Love this list! Book mail and an organized bookshelf? The best! My bookshelves are terribly disheveled just now, but I’m *finally* going to be able to reorganize this week, which makes me so happy. 🙂 Also, discovering new authors or that one book that turns out to be incredible? A priceless kind of amazing for a book nerd!

    Like

Leave a Reply

