Mini Reviews | Fantasy Books I Loved Yet Never Reviewed (Part 1)

Here’s a confession: I read quite a few books in 2015 I never got around to reviewing. Yet I truly loved some of those books. So why haven’t I talked about them yet? That’s going to change. I feel like mini reviews will be more helpful to you. Here are 3 fantasy books I read in 2015, absolutely loved, yet never reviewed. 


warbreaker

Warbreaker (Warbreaker #1) by Brandon Sanderson
Published in 2009

Genre: Fantasy (Epic)
Rating: 5/5 stars

Goodreads | Bookdepository

Synopsis: Sisters Vivenna and Siri are princesses of Idris. Susebron is the God King one must marry. Lightsong is the reluctant minor god of bravery. Vasher is an immortal still trying to undo mistakes of centuries before. Magic from individual breath from everyday objects can perform all manner of miracles and mischief.

review

This was my second Brandon Sanderson book, and I loved it just as much as the first – which was The Final Empire, if you’re wondering. First of all, I loved the world in this novel. Magic comes from breath, and the more breath you collect, the more powerful you are. In the Kingdom of Idris, no one has breath because they don’t believe in magic or the Gods. They believe in a simple life. Yet magic is color, which means that Idris is a very dreary place and little color exists there. 

I loved the plot of this book, the schemes and the politics. I love it when fantasy books include political intrigue. There are so many aspects to this story. Religion, politics, family, and so on. Especially religion. In this world, when someone dies and comes back to life, he/she becomes a God(dess). 

I can’t say enough great things about this book. The religion was interesting, the politics intriguing, the schemes endless. Who I loved most of all was Lightsong, a God. His banter is just incredible! And I far preferred Siri over her sister Vivenna, although the latter grew on me over time. 

I’d highly recommend this book, no matter if you’re a fantasy-lover or not. If you haven’t read it, PLEASE GO DO SO.

★★★★★


the name of the wind

The Name of the Wind (Kingkiller Chronicles #1) by Patrick Rothfuss
Published: March 27th 2007 by Penguin Group

Genre: Fantasy (Epic)
Rating: 4.5/5 stars

Goodreads | Bookdepository

Synopsis: Told in Kvothe’s own voice, this is the tale of the magically gifted young man who grows to be the most notorious wizard his world has ever seen. The intimate narrative of his childhood in a troupe of traveling players, his years spent as a near-feral orphan in a crime-ridden city, his daringly brazen yet successful bid to enter a legendary school of magic, and his life as a fugitive after the murder of a king form a gripping coming-of-age story unrivaled in recent literature.

review

This book is hard to describe, to be honest. The narration is pretty great, because Kvothe is telling his own story. When the book starts, he owns a tavern. There, he starts recounting his tale to a Chronicler, who writes it all down. Of course, he starts from the beginning and thus this story does as well. It starts with Kvothe as a small child, traveling with his parents in a troupe. 

I’m one of the people who absolutely loved this book. It’s different, and not an easy read if I’m honest. His writing is very eloquent, and captured my attention immediately. So, it all starts when Kvothe is a child. I’m not going to lie, he’s had a pretty rough life. I don’t want to say all that much but I felt so bad for him on many occasions. He’s a smart kid, yet often reckless. I really enjoyed Kvothe’s story, and I definitely want to know how it continues, how he ends up owning a tavern. Yet they are intimidating books, so I’m going to wait with starting the next book until I know I have enough time to finish it right away.

The only thing I did not like about this book were the female characters. The only truly outspoken one is Denna – she’s the only one who is often mentioned. Yet I feel like she is so… nothing. I know that sounds weird. But she’s so dependent on others, manipulates men to get what she wants and doesn’t really seem to do anything. Or be capable of anything other than singing and looking pretty. So I’m hoping that changes in the next book. 

Elodin proved a difficult man to find. He had an office in Hollows, but never seemed to use it. When I visited Ledgers and Lists, I discovered he only taught one class: Unlikely Maths. However, this was less than helpful in tracking him down, as according to the ledger, the time of the class was ‘now’ and the location was ‘everywhere’.

★★★★.5


heart of betrayal

The Heart of Betrayal (Remnant Chronicles #2) by Mary E. Pearson
Published: July 7th 2015

Genre: Fantasy, YA
Rating: 5/5 stars

Goodreads | Bookdepository

I won’t provide a synopsis of this book, as it is the second in the series (trilogy?). If you want to know what this series is about, feel free to read the synopsis of the first book, here

review

I absolutely loved the first book in this series. For those of you who don’t know, the first book revolves around a princess (Lia) who escapes her arranged marriage and runs away. She is followed by the prince she was supposed to marry, and an assassin assigned to kill her. For the first like 70% of the book, you have no clue who the prince is, and who the assassin is. I was afraid that this book would disappoint me a bit, because the whole mystery is gone now. I’m so glad to report it wasn’t. 

There was much more to explore in this book. Not only do you get to know the characters better, especially the two men now that we know who they are, but the world is explored more as well. Lia travels for a long time, across deserts and into harsh lands. It provides an interesting view on the different kingdoms, and their wars with each other. Maybe they wage war just to survive? Also, the religion is interesting here. Lia’s religion is so different from those of the different countries, and she’s trying to figure out what is true. What she should believe. 

I love Lia‘s character. She’s strong, smart, capable, brave yet knows to not take anything for granted. And she knows that she shouldn’t believe everything, just because someone you trusts says so. She questions aspects she grew up with, which shows true character in my opinion. Being able to understand that you were wrong. Also, I love Kaden. I dislike Rafe. THERE, I said it. I hate how the latter is always telling Lia what to do, like she’s not capable of doing anything on her own. So very controlling.

It’s a series I’d highly recommend, if you haven’t read it! I’m looking forward to the release of The Beauty of Darkness.

I had been silenced far too many times by those who exerted power over me. Not here. My voice would be heard, but I’d speak when it served my purposes. I  betrayed neither word nor expression.

★★★★★

11 thoughts on “Mini Reviews | Fantasy Books I Loved Yet Never Reviewed (Part 1)

  1. I decided Sanderson was one of those authors that I will always have an unpopular opinion about. I can’t help it, I tried 2 of his books and they just didn’t click with me. *sigh*

    That said, I’m really happy you enjoyed The Name of the Wind. It’s one of my all-time faves! You’re right, the prose is absolutely beautiful. But yeah, the women do lack a stronger presence. Why is this so hard for male writers to get right?!

    And yesyesyes I’m looking forward to the last part of the Remnant Chronicles, too! This is a great YA series, I love the character development.

    Like

  2. I’m less of a fan of Rothfuss, but a LOT of my dissatisfaction comes from his handling of his female characters (although I also find Kvothe unaccountably good at everything, in a way that no female character would ever be allowed to get away with, and that annoys me even more). Plus I really want to know what’s going on in the present rather than back in the day 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lightsong is such an interesting character. A god who questions his own divinity. Someone who tries his best but acts apathetic. His interactions with Blushweaver was also fun to read. The conclusion of his story arc sent chills down my spine.

    An interesting little tidbit: Sanderson gave his wife a sword called Lightsong on their wedding day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

