Series I Won’t Finish #1

When I look at the books I’ve read this year, most of them belong to series. So yes, I read a lot of series. Some I love, some I like, and some… well, I wasn’t a fan of. Today, I’m showing you 5 series I don’t plan on finishing. There are many more series I don’t want to finish, but that would make such a long post! I’ll make several ones of these instead if you’d like to see them. Here we go! 

#1: Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

I read: Uglies, Pretties

In 2013, when I first got back into reading I saw this series everywhere. It was dystopian-central at that time, and everyone was reading dystopian books. So I figured I’d give these a try, as many people liked them. I wasn’t a fan of the first book. I didn’t hate it, but I didn’t love it either. There was just nothing captivating about it, in my opinion. But I didn’t want to give up, and so I read book #2. I liked that one even less. It really wasn’t for me. I didn’t enjoy the characters, the story line or the world. There’s no way I’m continuing this series -there are two more. 

#2: The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel by Michael Scott

the alchemist

I read: The Alchemyst

I read the first book in this series in 2013. It’s been quite a while, and I honestly don’t remember anything that isn’t mentioned in the synopsis. I liked it well enough, it just didn’t jump out to me. I don’t remember anything, and there are like 6 books in the series. While I enjoyed the book when I read it, I didn’t like it enough to re-read it and then continue with the next 5 books.

#3: Sweep by Cate Tiernan

What I read: Book of Shadows, The Coven

This is a paranormal series about a teenage girl who is a witch. It’s been a while since I truly enjoyed a paranormal YA series (aside from Jennifer L. Armentrout’s). I quite liked these, but again: I read them in July 2013 and there are 15 books in the series. 15! I didn’t like this enough to commit to that. Plus, I’m fairly certain I wouldn’t enjoy them as much now as I did then. 

#4: Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

What I read: Falling Kingdoms, Rebel Spring, Gathering Darkness

I wrote a post this week (last week?) on my change of heart in this series. I wrote all about how my opinions had changed over time, and what I’d rate them now. If you’d like to see that, you can find my post here. The main gist is that I’m not attached to any of the characters. In fact, most of them annoy me. Thus I don’t really care about what happens to them. Sorry! I know this series has many fans – I’m just not one of them.

#5: Ardentia by J.L. Tomlinson

the empyrean key

What I read: The Empyrean Key

I read this one in 2015, so it hasn’t been all that long. And while I liked it  well enough, I wasn’t amazed by it. There are honestly so many books I want to read. I don’t want to spend my time reading something I’m not truly loving. So I don’t think I’ll be continuing the series. 


Those are the first 5 series I won’t finish! Have you read any of these? What do you think about them? Should I make another post with more series I don’t plan on finishing? 

31 thoughts on “Series I Won’t Finish #1

  1. I dropped both Uglies & The Nicholas Flammel after just one book. (I haven’t read any of the others).

    Like

  2. I read the Uglies series before dystopians were big, so it had the benefit of feeling fresh to me. (Granted it WAS fairly original when it was published, but it kind of got swept away with The Hunger Games fad.) I did think each book left a nice hook into the next one.

    Like

  3. YES! I read Uglies and I don’t even know why I read the second one after that, but I refuse to finish. I would even like my time back from the first two lol!

    Like

  4. I added Falling Kingdoms a year ago on Goodreads but the mixed reviews really put me off. I don’t know if I should give it a chance or not. But we’ll see 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I gave up on the Uglies series after reading the second book as well. And I still have some mixed feelings about the Nicholas Flamel series, I really enjoyed the first three books but I don’t have the urge to continue, or if I have the time and effort to read all the books in the series.

    Like

  6. I find Falling Kingdoms entertaining, but looking back it appears I’ve given the last two books 3ish stars, possibly indicating that the series is stagnating. I guess I’ll give it one more go with Frozen Tides before deciding if I want to ditch it too. It’s not a bad series but, why stick with something “not bad” when I can potentially read something else that’s amazing?

    Like

  7. I loved Uglies, but like other dystopia like The Hunger Games, it gets progressively less interesting. I finished the trilogy but didn’t read the spinoff Extras. Scott Westerfeld is a great writer though, and after meeting him at a book signing, he’s just as kind. I think this series could do well on screen!

    Like

  8. The only one you listed that I’ve read is Uglies–and I kind of hated it. I vaguely remembering being both bored and exasperated at (what I perceived as) its ridiculousness, and I only barely managed not to DNF it. Glad I never gave book two a shot, if it’s even worse than the first one.

    Like

  9. I didn’t finish the Falling Kingdoms series either (although I couldn’t even get past the first book). I had the same main problem with it as you did; I couldn’t get attached to the characters at all.

    There’s so much pressure to finish books even if you don’t like them, which I find a bit frustrating. That’s why I really like seeing posts about books/series that people didn’t finish!

    Like

  10. I read all the uglies books. They weren’t amazing but I enjoyed them. But the true sign of a good book is if I want to own it and re-read it. These didn’t make that cut. The first book in the Falling Kingdoms series was apparently so forgettable that I forgot I read it and honestly couldn’t remember most of it. Someone suggested I read it so I looked it up and thought “wait a minute.” So I decided to just let that series go. The other series you mentioned do not appeal so I will skip them. Please do more of these types of posts!
    x The Captain

    Like

  11. The Uglies series covers kind of freak me out! I read the first book in the Falling Kingdoms series and didn’t like it at all. I really only picked it up because so many people were singing its praises. I completely agree with the fact that the characters are annoying. I also didn’t care about them and how much they complained all of the time.

    Like

  12. I read Uglies for the first time a few weeks ago, and I really enjoyed it. It took quite a few go’s to get past the first 100 pages though, so I understand where you’re coming from. I think I enjoyed mostly because I read it for class and it made sense with what we were studying. I couldn’t actually get past the first Falling Kingdoms book. I didn’t hate it, but like you said, I didn’t feel anything for the characters.

    Like

  13. To be honest, thinking about it now, i don’t know how i managed to read everything in the Uglies series. The first one was cool, second i went with it ( i actually enjoyed them together maybe because i read them on 2 days :P) and the third was a lot better than the second. I even read the 4º volume but thinking about it now i really don’t know how i did it…

    Like

Leave a Reply

