Top Ten Tuesday: Characters I’d Love to Revisit As Adults

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. Today, the topic is “Ten Childhood Characters You’d Love To Revisit As Adults”.

Frodo and Pippin // The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien // Doesn’t anyone else wonder what life is like for Frodo after he left? How does it look like? TELL ME. I want to know how he is. And I know Pippin didn’t join him, but he’s my favorite so I have to know what happens later on in his life. I know I’ll never get it, but wouldn’t anyone else like an epilogue-book? 20 years later, how is everyone doing? I know it’ll never happen though.

Percy and Annabeth // Percy Jackson & the Olympians by Rick Riordan // I think this is mainly because I have trouble letting go. But I also want to know how they do with adulthood and adulting in general. I can see Percy being very nonchalant about it all, and Annabeth being very meticulous, paying every single bill immediately. I want to know.

Literally everyone // Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling // I know we got a little epilogue at the end of the last book. But that was like 1 chapter! I need more. 

Eragon // The Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini // What happens to Eragon after the end? What is his life like? I feel like these questions might actually be answered one day because he is planning on writing a fifth book in the series. No one knows when that will happen though… (sad face).

Elisa // Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson // I truly loved this trilogy. A big reason for that is because I loved Elisa’s character. She’s not a typical YA heroine, and I admire her so much. So I want to know, 20 years later, what’s happening?

Eli // Legend of Eli Monpress by Rachel Aaron // If you’ve been a follower of my blog for a little while, you probably know I love this series. Eli is just an amazing character. So I want to catch up! What have you been doing lately, Eli? 

Ari & Dante // Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz // This is one of my favorite contemporary reads. It’s very much character-driven, which I highly enjoy. I felt so much for these two characters. My heart was just filled with love for them. And I’d like to know how the rest of their lives went.

Kristin // None of the Above by I.W. Gregorio // Again, another memorable contemporary read. This is about a girl named Kristin, who finds out she’s intersex. I’d like to know how Kristin’s life turned out, after the ending. How is adulthood treating her?


I know that’s only 8, but oh well. That were 8 characters I’d love to revisit! Have you read any of these books? Do you agree with me? 

48 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Characters I’d Love to Revisit As Adults

  1. “Literally everyone” from Harry Potter is right! I think even if there was no one I’d still love to visit Hogwarts and every magical place there is. And I’m glad to see you mention The Girl of Fire and Thorns – I really liked that book and agree that Elisa isn’t your typical heroine. Plus I love the way the romance is set up. 🙂

    Like

  2. Percy & Annabeth. ❤ Honestly, I'd love to revisit every character in the PJO series as adults. It'd be interesting to see how everything turns out for them. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous post! ❤

    Like

  3. Oh man, why don’t these exist? I would love to know what the hobbits get up to after the books! Just the thought of Percy and Annabeth as adults has me laughing. Now I really want Rick Riordan to write an older YA story about them, haha. I’m assuming someone else has already told you that your wish will come true for Ari and Dante? 😉

    The only book I absolutely don’t want to see sequels for is Harry Potter. I’m happy with where it ended, and I don’t want to see unhappy, middle-aged Harry and crew. (I’m dreading The Cursed Child.) I would love prequels, though!

    Like

    • Cait just told me about Ari & Dante and I freaked out! That’s such exciting news! (Please don’t be disappointing). I guess you’re right on the HP thing. Although I’d like to think that none of my favorite wizards and witches would settle for anything less than a happy life 😀

      Like

  4. I love Frodo and Pippin on this list. Would love to see what life is life with the elves in the Undying Lands. And Pippin… did you ever read the appendices of Return of the King? It’s been a while but I think they talk (a little) about Pippin and Merry becoming leaders in the shire and even going to Gondor at times- if I remember right? Would love to know more about that! Fun to think about…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Giant heck yes to Harry Potter!

    Omg I loved Pippin in LOTR and would totally love to see what everyone is up to. That wasn’t just some small adventure everyone went on, you know?

    Great list! Here’s my TTT. 😀

    Like

  6. Amazing list! YES to Harry Potter (of course). Each character could have his own book set in the future and I would read them all. George Weasly, Draco Malfoy, Neville Longbottom,… any one of them would be amazing. And then there could be new books starring the kids… Anyway, yes to Harry Potter, though I agree with your other picks as well. Aristotle and Dante is on my TBR, I really want to read it soon.

    Like

  7. I feel like even if there was an HP novella to catch up with everyone I wouldn’t know what to do with myself. I would be worried that I’d end up disappointed with how things turned out. The mystery might be better. Except I do really want to know what Luna ended up doing in more detail…

    Like

  8. I think I own part of that Rachel Aaron series so maybe I need to check it out. I am in the process of converting an extra room in our home to a library/chill room (husband said we could paint it purple so I am all up on that) and am discovering lots of books I had forgotten I owned.

    Like

  9. YES I WOULD LOVE TO SEE PERCY ADULTING. XD I think that would be hilariou and perfect. Hehe. I could imagine he being an awesome Camp Director or something tbh. :’) And did you know Ari & Dante are actually getting a sequel??! I’M SO VERY EXCITED.
    Here’s my TTT!

    Like

  10. Totally agree with Harry Potter. Sure we got that little epilogue, but they only covered a few of them. What about the rest of them? Like Neville—what’s he doing other than being a Professor?

    My TTT

    Like

  11. I want to know about life in the Undying Lands too! I think Harry Potter characters is a must on this list. Haha. At least we’ll know about how some of them are doing soon. Hyped for the Cursed Child!

    Like

  12. Great list! I was close to putting the Harry Potter characters too but thought against it as I always put Harry Potter on these lists. Frodo and Pippin are brilliant choices too. I almost put Eragon on my list, but I haven’t finished that series yet though so it would be a bit silly.

    My TTT

    Like

  13. I haven’t really read all that many books from the list, but I totally get HAVING to know how some of the characters fared in the future. It’s just so unfair sometimes. You get to know and love some of those people and then you never find out how their lives end.

    Like

Leave a Reply

