Series I Won’t Finish #2

A lot of you seemed to enjoy my first post on Series I Won’t Finish I wrote last week. So I thought I’d continue the trend with part 2! Here are 5 more series I don’t plan on finishing (ever).

#1: Someone Else’s Fairytale by E.M. Tippetts

Break it up

What I read: Break It Up (#2.5)

Okay, I won this in a Goodreads giveaway, and didn’t know it was part of a series before I read it. This is one of those romance companion series though, so I didn’t need to read the first 2 books to be able to follow. I read and reviewed it and while I thought it was okay, there was just nothing that special about it. I have no need to read any of the other books.

#2: Study by Maria V. Snyder

poison study

What I read: Poison Study (#1)

I know this is like a YA fantasy classic. And many people adore this book. I did enjoy it, but I didn’t love it. At this point in time, I can no longer remember anything more than what the synopsis tells me. I just wasn’t really captivated by it, and I don’t think I’ll be continuing. Plus, I really wasn’t a fan of the romance in this book. And I think I’m the only one.

#3: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

miss peregrine's home for peculiar children

What I read: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (#1)

I read this when the Booktube hype around this book was so high, and I just found it disappointing. It’s not a bad story, but it just wasn’t creepy. Or as good as everyone said it was. I think this is a case of the hype ruining a story for me. I was just expecting so much more. I don’t think I’ll ever finish the series, as I have no interest in finding out what happens.

#4: Chaos Walking by Patrick Ness

the knife of never letting go

What I read: The Knife of Never Letting Go (#1)

I feel like I’m the only person in the community who is not a fan of this book. In fact, I haven’t read any of his other works, because I’m afraid his writing style just may not work for me. First of all, this book almost gave me a headache. There is just TOO MUCH going on. It’s chaos. (Ha, see what I did there?) It really wasn’t for me, and I didn’t really enjoy the main character, Todd, either. But mostly, I think it’s just the writing. The sentences are so long, because you’re reading a stream of consciousness, and I truly couldn’t deal with it. I couldn’t keep up!

#5: The 100 by Kass Morgan

the 100

What I read:Β The Hundred (#1)

I’m a big fan of the TV show, even though I’m so behind and have barely watched any episodes of the new season. I love the show far more than the book -which is something I don’t say often. I was so confused in this book at first, because of the many switching POVs. Plus, Β I like the characters and their development far more in the TV show. I feel like they are really different.


Those are 5 more series I won’t be finishing. I’m sorry if I shocked anyone with my choices today, but oh well. I hope you know that I’m not saying these books are horrible, or the authors are. They just weren’t for me. Have you read any of these books or series? What did you think of them?

40 thoughts on “Series I Won’t Finish #2

  1. Another vote for not finishing the Poison Study series. How is it love if he’s would kill you in an instant if ordered to do so?

    SPOILER WARNING

    I also had a lot of issues with the sex scene at the end (and not for any religious reasons). It just didn’t make sense for someone who is head of security to have sex with a rape victim, who hasn’t been with anyone since, while they are hiding (in the dungeon) inside the manor of someone who is looking for them and trying to kill them. You can’t know if she is going to have issues OR if someone is going to come by at just the wrong time. She deserved better than that, and he should have known better.

    Like

  2. I also don’t feel like continuing with the Poison series. I thought the relationship between the two main characters (their names escape me) was too imbalanced. I dislike it when one of the couple has such power over the other one.

    And someone has to be the black sheep. πŸ™‚ I liked Ness’s Chaos Walking trilogy and A Monster Calls was pretty good. I still have to read the newer stuff, though.

    Like

  3. I totally agree about Miss Peregrine! I struggled through the first book so I’m most definitely not going to read the next books of the series.
    Patrick Ness’s writing is amazing for me, not in the way that his POV of Todd was annoying, but in how he tells the world and the story through the eyes of the main character. His worldbuilding, plot, and characters are excellent despite the quite annoying writing style in the book. If you didn’t like his style in Knife of Never Letting Go you should read A Monster Calls! You might change your mind 😊

    Like

  4. Oh no! The Chaos Walking series is my favourite, it’s too bad. But I can totally see why, that style of writing isn’t for everyone. But don’t give up on Patrick Ness! I’ve only read one other book by him so far (The Rest of Us Just Live Here) and it’s a completely different writing style. So you may still enjoy things by him! And he’s so funny and charming on Twitter πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. I’ve started reading Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children a handful of times and have never made it past the first few chapters. It just seems like it’s trying too hard to be unique. It reminds me of an attempt at A Series of Unfortunate Events, actually. Great post!

    Tracy @ Cornerfolds

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I couldn’t even get past the first chapter of The Knife of Never Letting Go. Dialect and stream of consciousness writing each individually give me a headache, but together? I can’t. I’ve read the first couple of pages of that book in I-don’t-know-how-many bookstores because everyone is so into the series, but it never seems right for me.

    I love this series of posts you’re doing! πŸ™‚

    Like

  7. I have Poison Study sitting on my bookshelf at the moment and have been contemplating whether or not to read it anytime soon. So many people rave about it that I’m worried that I’m not going to like it because I’ll be expecting so much. But, I guess we’ll see. Sorry to hear that it wasn’t for you! πŸ™‚

    Like

  8. You’re not alone with Poison Study! I didn’t even finish the first book as it hit all the wrong notes for me from very early on. It was long enough ago I can’t remember specifics, just the grinding of my teeth πŸ˜‰

    Like

  9. The general sentiment amongst fans of the 100 tv series is that it’s better than the book. I decided to give the first book a try last summer and I had to constantly remind myself that it actually came first, because it felt like it was ripping off some of my favourite characters. I’m so much happier with the tv series, tbh!

    Like

  10. I’m not finishing the 100 and Miss Peregrine either, and I agree with you on them. I’ll watch the miss peregrine most likely though just because I’m curious to see what they made of it

    Like

Leave a Reply

