Weekly Wrap Up | May #1

what i read 80c8b0

Thorn by Intisar Khanani // ★★★★ // This was a book I received for review, and as I had enjoyed one of her other books, Memories of Ash, I was excited to give this one a go. I really enjoyed it! It was a re-telling of The Goose Girl. If you want to see my full thoughts on it, here‘s my review.

Mad About the Hatter by Dakota Chase // ★★★ // Another book I received for review through Netgalley, and another re-telling too. This one is a different take on Alice in Wonderland, years afterwards when her younger brother goes to Wonderland. It’s a fun read, and I’ll have a review up for it tomorrow. 

Six of Crows (Six of Crows #1) by Leigh Bardugo // ★★★★★ // My order of this book arrived this week, and I just had to read it immediately. I’d heard such amazing things about this book. Since I already loved her Grisha trilogy, I was excited. I’m so glad to say I loved this too! I’ll write a review for it as soon as possible. 

The Raven Boys (Raven Cycle #1) by Maggie Stiefvater // ★★★★★ // With that order of Six of Crows, my copy of The Raven King arrived too. But I wanted to re-read the other three books first. So I started reading The Raven Boys again. I last read it in 2013! That’s crazy. I still love it, maybe even a tad more now. If that’s even possible. 

what i watched 80c8b0

jane the virgin

I finally started watching Jane The Virgin! I have heard such good things about this show, but I never really started watching. I haven’t watched many TV shows or episodes this week, because I’ve mainly spent my time outside. But I watched like 2 episodes of this and already LOVE it!

what i listened to 80c8b0

It’s been  a while since I had a “What I Listened To” category, yet I feel like it was warranted this week! I watched very little TV, which also means I had a bit more time to listen to other things.

PODCASTS

ladies who lunch
I discovered the podcast Ladies Who Lunch this week, and I absolutely love it. Ingrid Nilsen and Cat Valdes are both YouTubers, and good friends. Each week, they give their opinions on certain topics. I really enjoyed the friendship episode, and the online dating one. Such a great podcast to listen to!

MUSIC

I have been obsessed with Jean-Baptiste Maunier’s new album, Nuits Blanches. I have loved his voice since I saw the movie Les Choristes, even though he was just a little boy then. Now, his music is just epic. If for some reason the Spotify thing doesn’t work, here‘s my favorite song from the album.

in real life 80c8b0

This  week has been the best ever. The weather is absolutely gorgeous in Belgium! I usually only have class on Tuesday & Thursday, but as Thursday was a national holiday, I came straight home from Brussels after Tuesday. I’ve been home, in the gorgeous sun, all week. 

I didn’t have tot work on my thesis, or study. So here’s what I did: I tanned, I read outside, I mowed the lawn, I got a haircut, I barbecued, I had a nice glass of wine outside, I practiced yoga outside. I basically spent every single minute of the past days outside. 

Today, I’m planning on riding my bike in the neighborhood, and taking some (amateur) pictures! (I’m in denial about going back to class afterwards). 


How was your week? Did you read or watch anything? Do you have a podcast to recommend? Let me know!

10 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up | May #1

  1. I’m in love with the cover from Thorn 🙂 and I’m really interested in it, of course, seeing it is a fairytale retelling. Six of crows is amazing and I’m also rereading The raven cycle. The weather is amazing over here as well and CAN IT STAY LIKE THIS (FOREVER)? I love it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

