Weekly Wrap Up | May #2

what i read 80c8b0

The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle #2) by Maggie Stiefvater // ★★★★★ // I wanted to re-read the first three books before continuing on the The Raven King. I’m glad I did. I think I noticed a lot more subtleties this time around. I do think that this is my least favorite one of the 4, although I obviously still loved it.

Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle #3) by Maggie Stiefvater // ★★★★★ // Again, had to re-read it first! I do love this one. I think this is where the books start to become more action filled. 

The Raven King (The Raven Cycle #4) by Maggie Stiefvater // ★★★★★ // I can’t tell you how happy I was to finally hold this one in my hands. SO HAPPY. I am very satisfied with this book. I laughed, I smiled, I was afraid (for my favorite characters). It even managed to change my mind about Adam. I really didn’t like Adam before.

Air Awakens (Air Awakens #1) by Elise Kova // ★★★★ // I’ve heard a lot of good things about this series. And the author seems incredibly nice -an opinion I’ve formed after following her on Twitter. As I had a copy of this on my Kindle app, I decided to give it a go. I really enjoyed this! I liked the characters, the magic system and the story line. The only thing is that I expected it to be more… epic fantasy? More worldbuilding, and more pages?

The Bone Season (The Bone Season #1) by Samantha Shannon // ★★★★ // Okay, I was very intimidated by this book. I’d seen some reviews in which people stated they had a hard time getting into this because of the world. I highly enjoyed it, so I’m incredibly happy I finally picked it up. 

The Breakup Doctor (The Breakup Doctor #1) by Phoebe Fox // ★★★ // I got this on my Kindle app a while ago because it was only like $1 or $2. The synopsis sounded good, so I figured: why not? The first half was really good -in my opinion- but the second half tore my rating down. I’ll write a review on it soon, so you’ll know what I mean. 

what i watched 80c8b0

jane the virgin

I watched a bit more of Jane The Virgin. I’m only on episode 7, so don’t spoil me! But I’m really enjoying this series. Plus, I think the actress portraying Jane is such a beautiful woman. Her outfits are always so flattering and amazing!

izombie poster.jpg

I started watching iZombie this week! I always thought it sounded intriguing, but when I found out Rob Thomas was the brain behind this show, I just had to watch it. Yes, ever since Veronica Mars, I’m a fan. This is such a fun show, I’m really liking it so far! 

in real life 80c8b0

You might be wondering: Jolien, how did you read so much when you had more classes than usual? (I know you probably weren’t wondering, but just go with it). Let me tell you why. 

As you may know, I live in Brussels in a student apartment during the week. When I arrived there on Monday (from home), I discovered I had forgotten my laptop charger at home. So I had 5-6 hours of battery for 5 days. Yes, I read much more than I usually do… 

This week, starting tomorrow, will be my last week of class. After that I have two weeks off,  and then the exams start. When I arrived home on Thursday evening, I saw a package had arrived for me. I was so confused, because I hadn’t ordered anything. The lovely Inge had sent me a little box to survive the exams (with tea, chocolate, lovely sticky notes and face masks)! Thank you so much Inge, you are the sweetest person alive. 


How was your week? Did you read or watch anything? I’d love to hear about it!

15 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up | May #2

  1. I’m so glad you enjoyed The Bone Season. Wait until you read The Mime Order. It takes it to a whole new level 🙂
    I really need to get started on the Raven Cycle. I probably will start next month. I want to have read all of them before I hopefully get to meet Maggie at YALC 🙂

    Like

  2. Aw man, now I’m regretting not buying the Bone Season when I saw it on sale! Like you, I saw some Goodreads reviews that made me a bit hesitant but now I’m kicking myself. Ah, well. I was debating on whether or not to reread The Raven Cycle before The Raven King but I settled for a recap instead. Can’t wait to read the final book, glad you liked it!

    Like

  3. Rereading the first three books before the Raven King was so wonderful. I hadn’t realized just how many clues and interesting little details Maggie Stiefvater included in all the books. Some parts make so much more sense. I went a little post it crazy while doing the reread, marking all the significant passages that pertained to the characters and overall plot. I think it’s probably one of the best series to reread. Glad you enjoyed The Raven King!

    Like

Leave a Reply

