Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’m Not Sure I’d Like As Much Now

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. Today, the topic is “Ten Books I Feel Differently About After Time Has Passed”. I chose 10 books I loved/liked at the time, but am not sure I’d like as much if I re-read them now.

Vampire Academy (Vampire Academy #1) by Richelle Mead // I absolutely adored this book when I read it 3 years ago. I’m quite certain I’d still like it, but I’m not sure I’d love it quite as much. 

Beautiful Disaster (Beautiful #1) by Jamie McGuire // I’m 100% sure I wouldn’t actually like this one if I re-read it. I already took down my rating to 3 stars sometime last year. I can see now that it’s about an abusive guy with anger issues. I don’t know how I ever looked past that. 

Shatter Me (Shatter Me #1) by Tahereh Mafi // Again, I really enjoyed this when I read it a few years ago. I thought the writing was interesting, and I grew quite attached to the characters. I’m not so sure I’d like it as much now. I have a feeling I may not like Juliette as much now. 

Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse #1) by Charlaine Harris // I used to love this series, years ago. Way before I even had a Goodreads account. It’s the reason I started watching True Blood -although I haven’t finished watching that show. I’m fairly certain I wouldn’t like the writing style now. Or Sookie’s character in the books. 

One For the Money (Stephanie Plum #1) by Janet Evanovich // Like the Sookie Stackhouse series, I loved this series years ago. I have a fair amount of the books on my shelves. It’s one of the first series I read in English, I think. I still think this is a fun series, but I feel like I would now notice small things about it I don’t like. I still have a fair amount of love for this series though -and Ranger.

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green // I have a feeling people won’t like this one. I still love this story. And I love the movie. But I don’t particularly love John Green’s writing style. Don’t get me wrong, I love vlogbrothers. But I feel like these characters, and the writing, is so pretentious. I have never met a teenager who even knew 80% of the words these ones use.

Of Poseidon (Syrena Legacy #1) by Anna Banks // I quite enjoyed this when I read it. I don’t think I would now. I have a tiny dislike for the trope: “I always knew there was something different about me, but I never knew what it was until this mysterious boy showed me”. Which is exactly what this books is. 

Divergent (Divergent #1) by Veronica Roth // Here’s the thing. I think I’d still like Divergent, the first book. Yet I don’t think I’d like Insurgent or Allegiant just as much. I do still think the first book was a solid dystopian read. I still like the idea of the Dauntless, and their trials.

The Summer I Became A Nerd (Nerd #1) by Leah Rae Miller // I quite enjoyed this contemporary read when I read it years ago. Yet I don’t think I would now. If only for the fact that this girl thinks you can’t be popular/have friends if you’re a nerd (by which she means if you’re into comic books, superheroes and so on). Hey. Nerd, and proud of it -right here.

The Alchemyst (Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel #1) by Michael Scott // I gave this 5 stars when I read it, so I must have really liked it. Yet now, I have absolutely no desire to continue the series. I just am not attached to it. 


Those are 10 books I’m not sure I’d like as much as a reader at this time in my life. Have you read any of these? What did you think of them?

52 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’m Not Sure I’d Like As Much Now

  1. I feel like there are a lot of mixed feelings around Shatter Me, but I loved it! I can see how the characters could end up being annoying though. I think I need to reread them just to see if I would feel the same way. I think one of my favorite parts about John Green and TFIOS is the language he uses and his quotability. I feel like I learn a lot as I am reading his books because he knows a lot ane there are always lots of hidden physics references and big vocab and it is really interesting to read over time because then I can see how much more of that I pick up on (and I am 16). Divergent Is one of those series for me that I loved at first and then it slowly died down. I’m not sure if I would like it anymore because it is so unoriginal. Thanks for the great TTT!

    Like

  2. I feel the same about Dead Until Dark. I own about 2/3 of this series and completely lost the desire to continue on. I thought about rereading them and trying to get back into the story but I’m not entirely sure I would still like it. My case of vampire burnout is still going strong, haha!

    Like

  3. I started reading the Sookie Stackhouse series BECAUSE of the True Blood TV show. I really loved the first few books but once I got up to around book 9 I stopped reading because everything had changed. The whole dynamic with Sookie had changed, she was quite negative and I didn’t really enjoy the things that were going on. It made me sad!

    I remember loving Vampire Academy as well, however I too think that I wouldn’t love it as much as I used to. I think my tastes have changed since I read the series nearly 10 years ago now 😮 Damn that’s a long time ago! Geez.

    I actually didn’t like Shatter Me at all! I thought it was boring and I didn’t like any of the characters :/

    I stopped reading the Divergent series half way through book 2! I got so bored :/ At least I can watch the movies to find out what happens…

    Jordon @ Simply Adrift

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Eeep, omg, I was the kind of teen who used huge pretentious words.😂 BAHAH. So yeah! Those kind of people do exist, I promise! ;D
    I’m with you on Divergent though. I really liked the idea, but not so much the execution of it sadly nowadays. 😦

    Like

  5. Beautiful Disaster is one of those books for me too, but I don’t think I liked it that much even during my first read. And don’t feel guilty about John Green! I completely agree with what you said about his characters, haha. I tend to not like his books/find them too pretentious in general, though. 😛

    Like

  6. The only ones I’ve read on this list are The Fault in Our Stars and Divergent but I still love them! I really wanted to read The Summer I Became a Nerd but I’m all for promoting my nerdiness so I think that the character wanting to hide that might irk me but I think I’ll still give it a go! ;D

    Like

  7. Oh, you’ve read Janet Evanovich? I love her books. I mean, I get there are SO MANY problems with them but she just makes fun of everything, including gender roles, race and death, so I can’t really bring myself to be overly critical. I have recently read #13 and am looking forward to continuing the series. I don’t want to binge-read them, I just read one every 6 months and always laugh so hard (the last time I was reading it when I had my pedi done and the lady probably thought I was weird because I snort-laughed all through the process).

    Like

  8. I loved The Fault in Our Stars. I got to it before all the hype, but after all the hype has happened, I’m not sure I’d love it as much. And yes, you’re absolutely correct, the characters are super pretentious. I don’t know if I’d have the patience to read about them now.

    Like

  9. I feel the same way about Divergent! I still love the first book and the general idea of the storyline, but I feel like the other books and the movies kind of ruined the series for me.

    Like

  10. I liked Divergent, Insurgent a little less, and Allegiant I haven’t even been able to finish. although I will at some point… I like to think I’d still like Divergent. And Vampire academy I haven’t read, but I liked the movie. A lot of people said it wasn’t good, and that’s probably true, but I thought it was kinda fun. 🙂

    Like

  11. With you on Poseidon– I didn’t love it all that much to begin with, so I can only imagine that my halfhearted enthusiasm would wane even more with a reread. I’ll have to find another mermaid book to satisfy my mermaid needs. 🙂 Great list!

    Like

  12. So much yes here! I definitely feel the same way about Shatter Me, Divergent and TFioS. I read all of those at the start of my YA reading journey (if you will), and now that I’ve read more books, better books, I think these would pale in comparison.

    My TTT

    Like

    • Yes, I believe I saw both ladies on your list too, right? Like you, I really loved their books when I first started reading them. But years later, I just don’t feel as excited about them -or don’t feel an urge to pick them up anymore…

      Like

  13. Interesting. I did the opposite for my list, books that I like more over time. I do still love Shatter Me, but I’m not sure I’d like TFiOS as much (just because I was so obsessed with it at the time).

    Like

  14. I agree on Divergent. It even made it to my own top ten. And I totally get what you said about One For The Money (even though I only ever read the first book). I still like them but not as much as I used to. I completely disagree on TFIOS, however. Well, maybe not on what you said about the characters, but mostly on the writing part. I LOVE John Green’s writing – probably BECAUSE it is a little bit pretentious Haha. Well, silly old me, I suppose.

    My Top Ten Tuesday!

    Like

    • I’m glad you love John Green! Honestly, that’s why I love the fact that so many people out there are writing their stories. Because we all love different things, so there has to be something/an author out there for us 😀 I’m sorry to disappoint you for not being a fan of his writing… I hope you’ll still give me points for liking him as a person -and his videos?

      Like

  15. I completely agree with you on TFIOS — I like the story, but John’s writing just doesn’t mesh with me for some reason and it all feels a bit pretentious. I’m actually reading the fourth Vampire Academy and I keep thinking I would’ve loved this when I was younger, but right now I’m like.. eh?

    Like

    • Exactly. I’ve read An Abundance of Katherines by John Green as well, and it was pretentious too. Plus, they all kind of feel the same? The characters I mean. Yes! I read Vampire Academy 3 years ago, which would have made me 18-19? It was one of the first YA series I read when I got back into reading, and I think that’s one of the reasons I loved it so much too.

      Like

  16. No dislike here, I absolutely agree with you about John Green. I like his books but never love them as pretentious is exactly how I describe his characters and writing style too! I included TFiOS on my list as I think I may have been too harsh in judging it because I was disappointed after all the hype. But my opinion wouldn’t change a lot. I loved Shatter Me a lot too. I might still if I reread it. But I could never read the rest of the series after finding out how Mafi ended it. No, no, no. 😉 Thanks for sharing!

    My Top Ten!

    Like

  17. I see Shatter Me around so much but a friend warned me it is not for me, and I trust this person. It is interesting to see them on these lists now.
    I agree with Divergent. The first one had a lot of potential that wasn’t used in the next too.
    I read the first three Nicholas Flamel books. They’re okay reads, but more books to grab from the library if you want a quick easy read.

    Like

  18. I agree that Divergent is good, while the rest of the series isn’t really that grand. How is the rest of the Summer I Became a Nerd? The premise sounds interesting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

