Review: Damage Done

damage doneDamage Done by Amanda Panitch
Published: 21.07.2015 by Random House Children’s
Genre: Mystery, YA
Rating: 4/5 stars

Goodreads | Bookdepository

I received this book for free from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.

Synopsis22 minutes separate Julia Vann’s before and after. Before: Julia had a twin brother, a boyfriend, and a best friend. After: She has a new identity, a new hometown, and memories of those twenty-two minutes that refuse to come into focus. At least, that’s what she tells the police.

review

First, I’ll say that I redacted the synopsis from Goodreads before adding it here. I feel like you’ll get even more from this story if you only know what is said above.

PLOT

Don’t worry, I won’t mention anything from the actual story line here. I feel like this is one of those books that works best if you know almost nothing about it. That way, you just go in without prejudice, following the Julia’s story. 

Let me just say that I absolutely loved the story line of this book. It really made an impression on me, as a YA mystery-thriller. And no, I didn’t put the YA there in a derogatory manner. I just meant that while I have been creeped out by some adult thrillers and TV shows, I’m not easily creeped out. Yet this book made me uncomfortable at times, made me cringe and grimace. It’s an impressive feat, in my opinion. 

I was captivated by this story. I kept reading for a while, instead of studying -oops- and finished within a few hours. I did guess some of the big twists after a while but the ending and true plot still managed to surprise me. 

CHARACTERS

I don’t really know whether there’s anything I can truly say about the characters. I’ll only talk about Julia because that’s the only person mentioned in the synopsis.

So, Julia. I don’t know how to feel about her. I was on an emotional roller coaster with regards to this character while reading. I loved her, I disliked her, I admired her, I felt bad for her. All of those things, I felt within a few hours. I did write one status update while reading this, when I was at about 30%, saying: “I don’t like how she emotionally manipulated her best friend into driving her somewhere”. That’s definitely true. All the relationships in this books are so grey-area. They are good, yet have some really bad aspects to them. 

The only thing I’ll say, is that I’m disappointed in the role of the parents. Like, really. What’s the matter with you two? 


I would highly recommend this mystery novel. If you pick it up, don’t read more of the synopsis that I showed you. It won’t spoil you, but it may take away some of the added mystery. It was a captivating read, that made me cringe and grimace all the way through.

7 thoughts on “Review: Damage Done

  1. […] Damage Done by Amanda Panitch // ★★★★ // I felt like reading a mystery novel after finishing The Novice, so I picked up Damage Done, as I had received it via Netgalley quite a while ago. I was pleasantly surprised by this book. It kept me intrigued, and although I did guess a bit of the twist, I was still left surprised by the ending. If you want to read my full review on it, you can find it here.  […]

    Like

  2. SO GOOD, RIGHT? GAH. My mind was completely blown at that reveal. So twisted and brilliant. Glad you enjoyed it as much as I did! Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    Like

  3. I usually jump on thrillers and mysteries but surprisingly have only read adult ones. But more than anything I LOVE guessing what the big twist is going to be so this is definitely going on the TBR. I’ll follow your advice on not reading anything else about it 🙂

    Like

  4. This sounds really good but I’m not a fan of mystery thrillers especially if they’re quite creepy and gruesome so I think I’ll give this a miss. Glad you enjoyed it though – great review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

