Review: The Bone Season

the bone seasonThe Bone Season (The Bone Season #1) by Samantha Shannon
Published: 20.08.2013 by Bloomsbury
Genre: Fantasy
Rating: 4/5 stars – ★★★★

Goodreads | Bookdepository 

Synopsis: The year is 2059. Nineteen-year-old Paige Mahoney is working in the criminal underworld of Scion London, based at Seven Dials, employed by a man named Jaxon Hall. Her job: to scout for information by breaking into people’s minds. For Paige is a dreamwalker, a clairvoyant and, in the world of Scion, she commits treason simply by breathing. It is raining the day her life changes for ever. 

I redacted the synopsis of this book, because I feel like it’s too telling -although not majorly spoiler-y. I think this is truly all you need to know.

review

I have heard so many things about this novel. A lot of people absolutely adore it. Other people genuinely dislike it. I feel like the main reasons for dislike people have given were that the world was confusing, and so was the magic system. So you can understand that I was quite intimidated by this book. I waited quite a while before actually picking it up. It must have been on my shelf for month -if not a year. I’m kind of sad I waited so long, because I ended up truly enjoying this read. 

WORLD

I have to admit that this isn’t the easiest world-building to read. It takes a bit of concentration in the beginning to understand what is going on. So I’ll help you a bit. Here’s what’ going on. 

Paige lives in London, which is a Scion city, in 2059. This basically means that being clairvoyant is deemed unnatural, and using the skills is forbidden. Well, having the skills is forbidden. So of course, underground criminal orders have been formed. I believe they are called Mime Orders, and the bosses are called Mime Lords. Paige works for one of the Mime Orders in London -under Jax Hall. She’s a dreamwalker, which means she can leave her body and wander into other people’s minds. I think. 

This whole world is based on the fact that there is an ether, to which clairvoyants have access. It’s what Paige walks into when she’s dreamwalking for example. All that information should make it a bit clearer when you start reading. 

I actually really enjoyed learning more about this world, the magic and its history. It wasn’t easy to figure it all out, but I liked having to thread all the information together. The history of Scion, London, Ireland, the types of clairvoyants. It’s all incredibly detailed, and Samantha Shannon must have spent ages creating it all.

The only thing I found a bit confusing is the types of clairvoyants. There is a list in the beginning -sort of like a family tree- with tons of different sorts of clairvoyants, and which type/class they belong to. But it doesn’t have any information about their actual powers. It’s just a name. So you kind of have to figure that out as you go along. 

PLOT

At first, I was like: where is this story going? It starts with Paige waking up from almost an hour in the ether, dreamwalking. We follow her as she goes home, and when everything goes wrong. I won’t tell you more than that -discover Paige’s journey for yourself! 

I will admit that I was completely engrossed after a while. It took me a chapter or so to get into it, but after that I was hooked. I just wanted to continue reading. Aside from a fantasy/sci-fi feeling, this book has a great dystopian vibe to it. At one point, I remember thinking: this is what a more adult dystopian should be like! I say adult, because Paige is 19 and this does read as more of an adult book than a YA one. 

It was an engrossing read, full of mysteries and discoveries. I was hooked right until the ending. Can I just say: what an ending? I mean, very interesting. There are so many possibilities for her story from here on. I’m excited to see what The Mime Order will bring. 

CHARACTERS

There are only 2 people mentioned in the synopsis, so I’ll only talk about them. 

First up, Paige. A true survivor. A strong woman. Loyal. That’s how I’d describe her. She embraces who she is -for the most part- and does her utter best to survive in a very unjust world. I liked how she didn’t just take everything for granted during the happenings in this book, but instead asked questions and analyzed everything critically. I actually really enjoyed her character. I’m all for kick-ass women who know what friendship is -and who wouldn’t betray their friends for anything. Loyalty is very important to me -I guess it’s the Hufflepuff in me- so I always appreciate true loyalty in books. 

I wish I could say I loved Jax(on) too. I don’t. I really liked him in the beginning, because I felt like he gave Paige a home when so many others would have turned their backs. But while I was reading, I actually grew to be disgusted by him. Everything he did (and does), he did for profit. For himself.

There are many other interesting characters in this book. I liked reading about Paige’s friends in the Mime Order (especially Nick), and I loved getting to know the people Paige meets throughout the story

The only thing I didn’t really like is the romance. I wish it would have been slower. That’s not something you’ll hear me say often, because I hate having to wait for a romance. Like in TV shows, where you have to wait for 5 seasons until they kiss. SERIOUSLY. But I felt like this had true potential to become an amazing slow-burning romance. Although I do like the guy, don’t get me wrong! I hope I’ll be more on board in the next book(s). 


Overall, I’d highly recommend this book. Don’t be intimidated by the world-building, I promise it won’t be that difficult. I loved the story line, the characters and their adventures. I have high hopes for the next book.

Also, there will be like 7 books in the series, but only 2 have been released. That’s scary! It’s feels like the start of another George R.R. Martin situation. Kidding, no one is that bad. 

13 thoughts on “Review: The Bone Season

  1. This book was one of my favs from last year, I have the mime order on my shelf but have yet to read it because I feel that I have forget men a lot about the bone season but you’ve brought a lot of it back from it, it may just be my next read before I get even more forgetful ahah 😂😂😂

    Like

  2. I remember really enjoying this book when I read it! But, I guess it has been too long, because I am embarrassed to admit I can hardly remember what happened in it. I’m looking forward to the third book, but maybe I’ll need a refresher on books 1 and 2 before I read it.

    Like

  3. I’d been a bit hesitant about this book, but the criticisms you listed don’t sound awful (even if I do dislike too-quick romances). I’m looking forward to this book more now. Thanks for the great review! 🙂

    Like

  4. I liked The Bone Season, too. It’s a great debut novel and while I haven’t read The Mime Order yet, I’m pretty excited about it.

    I understand your feelings about Jaxon. I hope we get to see more of his reasons in book 2 because so far, he has only been a very selfish individual. And yeah, the romance seemed a bit abrupt to me, too, it’s one of those Stockholm Syndrome cases that I don’t fully understand, but let’s hope it develops in the sequels!

    I’m just a bit worried about the fact that this is a SEVEN part series – I mean, it’s a huge endeavor of a debut author, I think. But we’ll see.

    Like

  5. I haven’t read this but I’ve heard such good things about it! I also love loyalty in books and Paige sounds like a wonderful character and the premise is intriguing as well! Great review!

    Like

  6. I definitely agree that this world is quite intimidating. I’ve read The Mime Order as well, and while I absolutely love it, I still get confused. For me, it’s the characters that made me laugh the book so much. Oh, and Samantha Shannon is just an incredible person.

    Like

  7. I’m so happy you enjoyed this! I love having to piece some things of the world building together. Another example is Truthwitch: so many people were like: I don’t get it and it’s confusing and I was in heaven merrily reading away 😂
    The Mime Order is even better in my opinion. And Jax is even more despicable. I might have to do a reread before book three comes out.
    Great review 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

