Weekly Wrap Up | May #4

what i read 80c8b0

The Novice (Summoner #1) by Taran Matharu // ★★★.5 // I was so hesitant about this book. I’d seen some really negative reviews on it, mostly people saying that this book has so many elements of other popular fantasy novels. I do agree with that. Yet I still really enjoyed it. I’m actually thinking of upping my rating to a 4-star read. Once I put aside my issue with the familiarity, I ended up truly enjoying the book. I’ve written a full review which you can find here, if you’re interested. 

Damage Done by Amanda Panitch // ★★★★ // I felt like reading a mystery novel after finishing The Novice, so I picked up Damage Done, as I had received it via Netgalley quite a while ago. I was pleasantly surprised by this book. It kept me intrigued, and although I did guess a bit of the twist, I was still left surprised by the ending. If you want to read my full review on it, you can find it here

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire // ★★★★★ // I had started listening to the audio-book weeks ago. But I stopped listening with only 2 hours to go! So I figured I’d listen to the ending this week. I love these books so much, and Stephen Fry’s narration only adds to it. 

White Cat (Curse Workers #1) by Holly Black // ★★★★ // After listening to the Goblet of Fire,  I wanted to listen to another audio-book. Then I remembered that Jesse Eisenberg narrates this series by Holly Black. I love Jesse Eisenberg, ever since The Social Network and Now You See Me, so I jumped on that. I ended up really enjoying this! And it was only like 6.5 hours. 

Clockwork Prince (Infernal Devices #2) by Cassandra Clare //  ★★★★★ // So yesterday, I looked over to my shelf and saw this trilogy sitting there. I read the first book in 2013, and really enjoyed it. Yet I heard a spoiler about it, so hadn’t felt like continuing since. Also, I’m not a big fan of Cassandra Clare. I do not really like the Mortal Instruments, and I gave up on that after book 4. I actually would like someone to tell me the ending of that series -after I finish the 3rd book in this trilogy. I’m so glad I didn’t give up on her as an author though, because I ended up loving this. 

Yes, I read a lot. And you might be thinking: Jolien, don’t you have exams soon? Yes, I do. But I read when I’m stressed. It calms me down, and makes me feel rested. Plus, you need them study breaks!

what i watched 80c8b0

I didn’t really watch a lot this week. With all the studying and reading, there wasn’t much time for anything else. But I watched the remainder of season 10 of Supernatural -only one more season before I’m caught up again. And I watched part of season 5 of Game of Thrones. I haven’t seen ANY of the new episodes, because I feel like I need to refresh what happens in season 5. I never really saw it, and as the happenings in the book differ from that in the series, I need to figure out what actually happened on TV. 

in real life 80c8b0

Well, not much to say here. I studied. I got a blood test done by the doctor, who states that I am healthy. 

My exams start the 4th of June. I’m not THAT nervous, mostly because I still have some time to prepare. However, I’m defending my thesis tomorrow. #nervousashell


That was my week. How was yours? Did you do anything fun? Did you read or watch anything? 

8 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up | May #4

  1. I am so far behind on Supernatural! I’m only up to season 3 and I stopped watching like 8 months a go… I really want to start watching it again but I don’t have any time right now 😦

    And GoT… Wow. I love this show. But it’s so heart breaking! And so cool at the same time. It’s just so freaking good. You definitely need to catch up 😮

    The Novice sounds really interesting, that cover is also really pretty. I’ll have to check out your review!

    Jordon @ Simply Adrift

    Like

  2. Will you read the sequel to the Novice? I noticed it on some new releases lists the other day, really interested in picking it up but am hoping to wait for some reviews. Book one was fun, so I’m curious!

    Like

  3. I didn’t finish the Mortal Instruments, either. I think like you I only made it to book 4. I really liked things about it – mostly the dialogue, but I don’t know…. I meant to finish the series. I want to read Lady Midnight. I’ve heard great things about it.

    I’m a huge fan of the Jim Dale audiobook versions of the HP novels, but one of my friends loves the Stephen Fry ones. 🙂 Great list!

    Like

  4. I’ve also been resisting The Novice (despite my initial interest in it) because lots of people said it was very cookie-cutter. But I think I’ll read it soon so I can see for myself! Best of luck defending your thesis, I’m sure you’ll kill it! 🙂

    Like

  5. AHH GOOD LUCK WITH YOUR EXAMS AND THESIS! ❤ I'm sure you'll do great!

    What did you think of White Cat? I really enjoyed that one. The Infernal Devices trilogy is AMAZING.

    Like

  6. Good luck on your exams and your thesis! I definitely understand how scary it can be. >.< I remember doing my own oral defense at the front of the classroom while my hands were shaking and I was pretty sure bad luck would find it a great time to invade my life LOL.

    Also, I'm happy to hear you loved Clockwork Prince! I hope you enjoy reading Clockwork Princess as well (because that third book is just DAMN *frantically tries to stop my tears*).

    Like

Leave a Reply

