On Giving Authors a “Second Chance” | Inspired by The Infernal Devices

Today, I’m writing a kind of different post for you all. I guess you could say it’s a discussion post -or maybe it’ll just end up being me rambling about authors and series to you. As you can see from the title, I was inspired to write this post after finishing The Infernal Devices trilogy, by Cassandra Clare. 

Here’s the thing. I have never made a secret of the fact that I am definitely not a fan of her The Mortal Instruments series (pictured above). I’ve only included the covers for the first 4 books, because those are the only ones I’ve read. I was really put off by this series (although I quite enjoy the TV show), and I feel like that’s mostly due to the characters. I didn’t connect to Clary, Jace or Simon. I wasn’t invested in their story. I felt like it was too dramatic -honestly, how many horrible/weird things can happen to two people?? Overall, I’m one of those people who feel like this series should have ended at book 3. 

I’m sorry if you love this series, but that’s just the way I feel. Now, flashback to 2013, when I read Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare, the first book in her Infernal Devices trilogy. 

I was genuinely surprised at how much I enjoyed the first book in this series. Yet I heard/saw a spoiler in a BookTube video on part of the ending (although it wasn’t all that much, now I’ve read it for myself). After that spoiler, I didn’t feel like continuing the trilogy soon. 

After reading that book, and deciding I didn’t want to continue soon, I read some pretty amazing books. 2013 was the year in which I picked up reading again. So when I thought about continuing the trilogy, I was hesitant. Here’s why. 

“I didn’t really like her TMI series -the drama, the characters, etc. And I’ve read so many amazing books since, my reading standards have increased so much. So I probably won’t really like the trilogy now. Plus, I already know that spoiler I saw…”

Those were my reasons for not continuing. Plus the fact that reading her books is so confusing. There are so many books and novellas set in the Shadowhunter world. IN WHICH ORDER DO YOU READ THEM? 

But then this thought crossed my mind. 

I really couldn’t care less if someone spoiled me for the ending of The Mortal Instruments. I’d kind of like to know how it ends, but I can’t be bothered with reading them. Yet I would be upset if someone spoiled even more of the ending of The Infernal Devices for me. 

So if I’d get upset at a spoiler, I must still be interested in reading it. Last week, I decided to give it a go, and pick up Clockwork Prince. I’m so glad I did. I ended up absolutely loving the story line and characters. In fact, I was invested enough to continue immediately with the final book, Clockwork Princess. 

Having finished this trilogy today (Sunday 29.05), I’m so glad I gave Cassandra Clare another go. True, her TMI series is not for me. But that doesn’t mean none of her books are -even if they are set in the same world. I ended up absolutely adoring the characters. I laughed, I was angry -and I even go watery eyes. I will remember some of these characters for a while to come, especially Jem. 

Yet here is my problem. I want to try and read more of her work, but don’t know where to start or what to do. For example, I don’t want to read TMI. Yet I need to know how it ends. I love Magnus, but I dislike the other TMI characters. So should I read The Bane Chronicles? The Shadowhunter Academy novellas? Lady Midnight? The only thing I know for sure, is that I’ll probably give the adult books she is going to write about Magnus a try. I do love Magnus. 


Have you ever given an author whose work you didn’t enjoy a second try? If so, did you end up enjoying it? Which author was it? And of course, if you have any advice on what to do with my issue on which of her books to read mentioned above, help me! 

11 thoughts on “On Giving Authors a “Second Chance” | Inspired by The Infernal Devices

  1. I LOVE The Infernal Devices! I really like TMI too but TID is my favorite! I had a similar issue with the author Sarah Dessen. Everyone loved her books but I just couldn’t get into them! I then read one of her older books and then I read several more and now she’s one of my favorite YA contemporary authors! Also, about the Cassandra Clare thing, I really enjoyed the first 3 books, hated the 4th book and then loved the 5th book, but I still haven’t read the last book. I’d give the last two books a go! 🙂

    Like

  2. I understand completely! I did like the first 3 TMI books, but hated the last three books. I only got through them because of the Alec and Magnus scenes. (So happy about the Magnus adult books!) But I ADORED The Infernal Devices and Lady Midnight. I haven’t read The Bane Chronicles or The Shadowhunter novellas but I would definitely recommend Lady Midnight. Though some TMI characters are mentioned here and there, I don’t think it’s SUPER necessary to read TMI before reading Lady Midnight. If you don’t mind spoilers for TMI, then I would recommend just reading a recap and you’re good to go 🙂
    It’s definitely good to give an author a second chance sometimes. Not each book is the same and authors also learn and change over time, so chances are their books do too.

    Like

  3. This is such a timely post. I started the first book of the Mortal Instruments ages ago, but never finished. Just recently I’ve decided I will be giving them a try again, since it has been so long and I wonder if now that I’ve had more fantasy and YA novels under my belt, I will experience it differently. Also, I’m planning to read the Cassandra Clare/Wesley Chu Magnus Bane series because I am a fan of Chu, so reading TMI will probably help.

    Like

  4. Oh Cassandra Clare, I’ve been having this dilemma with her myself. I gave up when reading the fourth book because I thought it was a trilogy and was just generally annoyed at having to read more to see how it ended. But now she has soooo many books that it’s hard to not want to give others a try. It’s good to know that the Infernal Devices series is good. I think you should just skip to the Bane Chronicles if he’s the character you like. Or try out Lady Midnight?

    I read Shiver when I was in high school , DNFed it, and vowed to never read another book by Maggie Steifvater ever again. Except now everyone is all a flutter about The Raven Boys and so on so I might have to give her another try!

    Like

  5. I often give authors multiple chances, because sometimes you don’t mesh with a story because of the topics discussed or the characters not being relatable. It happens. ^_^

    Like

  6. I agree that sometimes you should give an author a second try. I gave Rainbow Rowell 3 chances but she just clearly isn’t for me, and that is okay. 🙂

    Like

  7. Neil Gaiman – I first read Stardust, having loved the film, and couldn’t get on with the book. Then I read American Gods at university (with trepidation: it was on a reading list for class) and heard a BBC R4 dramatisation of Neverwhere (which is now on my TBR list).

    Like

Leave a Reply

