Weekly Wrap Up | June #1

what i read 80c8b0

Clockwork Princess (The Infernal Devices #3) by Cassandra Clare // ★★★★.5 // I finished the trilogy, everyone. I knew I wanted to continue immediately after finishing the second book. I actually genuinely enjoyed this trilogy. Which is quite high praise from me, because I don’t really like The Mortal Instruments. Yet I love these characters. This trilogy actually convinced me to give Lady Midnight a go. 

Frankenstein by Mary Shelley // ★★★★ // I wanted to pick up something relatively short after that, seeing as I had to take it with me on a train journey (and I already had a suitcase filled with stuff). I liked it well enough. It’s an interesting story, but it left me with quite a few questions. It has renewed my hope in classics though. That hope took a serious hit after The Great Gatsby and The Picture of Dorian Gray.

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys // ★★★★★ // Aaaah, Salt to the Sea. Everyone has raved about this book. I had only read one other book by this author, Out of the Easy, which I really enjoyed. But I absolutely loved this one. I was attached to all of the characters, aside from Alfred. After one page in his perspective, I was pretty sure he could grow up to be a serial killer who makes lamps out of their victims’ skin. 

what i watched 80c8b0

I really felt like re-watching some Veronica Mars. So I re-watched the first two seasons of the show. It’s one of those shows I truly wish had 10 seasons. Unfortunately, we only got 3 -and an amazing movie. This will always be one of my favorite TV shows. I wish I could get a box set of the three seasons and the movie! Hmmm, maybe for Christmas. 

Then I decided to watch some Supernatural. I’m on season 11 now, but only a few episodes in. I kind of love the start of this season already, because I feel like it’s “going back to their roots”. They are hunting cases again each episode, which was always my favorite part of the show. I don’t know what will happen next, but I’m expecting some crazy shit. 

in real life 80c8b0

Not much to tell here. I defended my thesis on Monday. It was such a scary experience. I have no idea whether I passed or not -as they aren’t allowed to say so. I have to wait for the results with the rest of my grades at the end of June. 

Yesterday, I had the first exam of the month. I think it went well enough -although I feel like you can never be too sure about those things. Anyway, this week I have two exams coming up -and two the week after that. 

The highlight of my week however, also took place on Monday. I finally got to see one of my best friends again! She lives in the US, so I barely ever see her. We try to Skype once in a while, but often things get cancelled. I’m so glad she was here visiting, and that I got to meet up with her! Bonus points: we went to a secondhand bookstore together.


How was your week? Did you read or watch anything? Did anything fun happen?

12 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up | June #1

  1. Yay, that’s awesome that you got to see your friend! I miss my friends SO MUCH but hopefully I can visit SA next year! Good luck with the rest of your exams ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

