Weekly Wrap Up | June #2

what i read 80c8b0

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell // ★★★★ // I actually quite enjoyed this one. Maybe because I didn’t have incredibly high expectations? I’d seen some not-so-raving reviews on it. And I had already read Fangirl, so I knew this was their Harry Potter-esque story. I was so invested in Baz. Love him.

Nice Dragons Finish Last (Heartstrikers #1) by Rachel Aaron // ★★★★.5 // I was scared to start this book. I absolutely love Rachel Aaron’s Legend of Eli Monpress series, so I really wanted to like this one too. And I was afraid I wouldn’t. I didn’t have to worry. I truly enjoyed it. Julius was such a fun main character. Julius the Nice Dragon. 

Switched (Trylle #1) by Amanda Hocking // ★★★★ // I had a bind-up of this series, including the novellas, on my shelf and decided it was finally time to read it. This series reads so quickly! I really enjoyed it -although I did know something about 2 of the main characters’ lives at the end of the trilogy already before starting. I read the Kanin chronicles, which feature them. 

The Vittra Attacks (Trylle #1.5) by Amanda Hocking // ★★★ // I don’t often read novellas, but as they were part of the bind-up I figured I might as well. This was an interesting introduction to Loki, who is introduced in book 2.

Torn (Trylle #2) by Amanda Hocking // ★★★★ // It’s hard to make a distinction between the plot lines of the three books in my mind, as I read them all so quickly after the other. I was really happy to see Wendy started being more responsible, and taking on more. I wasn’t really into the love triangle at first though.

One Day: Three Ways (Trylle #2.5) by Amanda Hocking // ★★★ // Again, another novella. Fun, but nothing amazing. What I liked most was that we finally got to read something in the perspectives of others. 

Ascend (Trylle #3) by Amanda Hocking // ★★★★ // The only thing I didn’t like here was the end  battle. It just felt a bit.. anti-climactic? All these build-up, for such a short battle. I love the ending – although I admit it’s quite optimistic. 

Ever After (Trylle #3.5) by Amanda Hocking //  ★★★★ // This was my favorite novella, because you see the main characters come together for something normal! 

what i watched 80c8b0

TV SHOWS

Cold Case // Cold Case is one of those series that was always on TV. I used to watch a bit when I was doing homework in high school or such but I never truly followed it. So I thought I’d start from the beginning!

Criminal Minds: Beyond Borders // I love Criminal Minds -although I haven’t seen the last like 5 episodes. I wanted to give this new series a go, and so far I like it. It won’t take the place of the original Criminal Minds, but it’s enjoyable. And fun to see places other than the US.

MOVIE

charlie and the chocolate factory

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory // I had such an urge to re-watch this on Friday evening. I should really re-read this book. I’ve only ever read it in Dutch. I really like this story -and the movie.

in real life 80c8b0

Not all that much to say here! I had two more exams this week. One of them was incredibly unfair -but I’m trying to let go of the anger here. Three more to go!


How was your week? Did you read, watch or do anything fun?

16 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up | June #2

  1. I also read the Trylle series and really liked it. Glad you enjoyed it too! I still have to read the Kanin Chronicles though, what did you think about that one compared to Trylle?

    Like

  2. You read so much! Well done! I’ve been thinking of reading Carry On but I’m not sure as I haven’t really enjoyed the author’s other books? Have you read the Wake series by Amanda Hocking? I love that one! Also, good luck with the rest of your exams! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

