A Spring Wrap Up Rolls Into a Summer TBR

When I made my Spring TBR a few months ago, I said I’d install a new system of creating TBRs. I’ll stick with 10 books per season, on the TBR. I chose 10 books in the beginning, and I’ll only switch out those I’ve read by the end of the season. 

To show you what I mean, here were the 10 books I said I’d try and read during Spring. 

However, of those 10 books, I only read 2 #donotjudgemeplease. Here are the ones I read: 

Snow Like Ashes (Snow Like Ashes #1) by Sara Raasch // 3.5 stars // I’m so glad I can say I’ve read this-because I only read it like a week ago. I enjoyed it, but it left me a bit underwhelmed to be honest. Most people have been absolutely raving about this book, so I had some expectations before going in. And while I liked it, it’s not something really special in my eyes. 

Air Awakens (Air Awakens #1) by Elise Kova // 4 stars // I really did enjoy this one. Again, I’ve seen many people rave about it -and the entire series so far really. I’m actually looking forward to continuing it. If you are interested in it, please don’t hesitate. The Kindle versions are sooo cheap. 

So because I’ve only read 2 out of the 10, the other 8 will stay on my TBR for the summer. I can only add 2 more to replace the ones I’ve read. 

summer tbr 80c8b0

The Emperor’s Blades (Chronicles of the Unhewn Throne #1) by Brian Staveley // This book has been on my to-read list for sooooo long. Honestly, it’s sad I haven’t read this. I think I’ve actually owned this copy for a little less than a year. That’s so long.

The Way of Kings (Stormlight Archive #1) by Brandon Sanderson // Okay, I love Brandon Sanderson, but I’ve only read 2 of his books. Therefore, 2 of his other books are on this list. I’ve heard such amazing things about this book, but I haven’t picked it up because the book is so long, and I haven’t had time for that commitment. 

The Demon King (Seven Realms #1) by Cinda Williams Chima // Again, this has been on my shelf for so long. I think maybe even 2 years. Sigh, that’s so sad. But I’ve heard good things about it for years, and I think I’m just afraid to be disappointed. 

Wolf by Wolf (Wolf by Wolf #1) by Ryan Graudin // This is another case of being scared of the hype. I’ve seen raving reviews about this for months. And I know I’ll probably love it. Yet I haven’t picked it up yet. 

The Well of Ascension (Mistborn #2) by Brandon Sanderson // I started this series so long ago. I think even in 2013 or 2014? And I absolutely loved it. But I haven’t continued yet. I have noooooo idea why. I mean, I absolutely LOVED the first one! 

The Queen of the Tearling (Queen of the Tearling #1) by Erika Johansen // This book is another one of those which many people love. When it was released, everyone went crazy over it because it already had a movie deal with Emma Watson I believe? I’m not sure about that, but I think I heard it back then. Yet I still haven’t read it. Oops.

The Black Company (Companies of the Black Company #1) by Glen Cook // I’ve tried to start this one multiple times since I bought it, but the beginning always confuses me horribly! 20 pages in, I still have no clue what’s going on, who is who, etc. It’s really discouraging. 

Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson // This seems like such an inspiring and funny read. I actually want to listen to the audio book for this one, because Jenny Lawson narrates it herself. 

Royal Assassin (Farseer #2) by Robin Hobb // I read my first Robin Hobb book, Assassin’s Apprentice, this year. I actually have the entire trilogy already, so I want to continue this soon.

Age of Myth (Legends of the First Empire #1) by Michael J. Sullivan // Michael Sullivan is one of my favorite fantasy authors, so of course I have to read his new release this season. I can’t wait to dive into this one!


So as you’ve seen, I’ve only added 2 books to my TBR for the summer: Age of Myth and Royal Assassin. This way, I’m still committing to the books I wanted to read in spring, but never got to. 

19 thoughts on “A Spring Wrap Up Rolls Into a Summer TBR

  1. I recently read Air Awakens and really liked it. It was such a quick and fun book. Will definitely be continuing on with the series soon to where it goes. I urge to read The Well of Ascension just so you can get to the final book which is amazing btw. Royal Assassin is my favourite in the trilogy, I hope you enjoy it too.

    I currently have The Way of Kings on my summer TBR too and I’m so excited to finally read it. It’s been a long time coming. 😆

    Like

  2. Trust me, I am not one to judge 🙂 I always try making these kinds of lists for myself too, and inevitably I always stray from them because I’m just too easily distracted by good looking books. And it’s so hard to choose just 10! I’m glad you’re sticking with it though, because I see some great ones on your spring list like Wolf by Wolf. At the same time, I approve of your choice to add Age of Myth! It was excellent!

    Like

  3. This is genius! I’m definitely trying this method out! And what great book choices – I’m also a huge fantasy fan and half your choices I have read – the other half are also sitting in my TBR pile. Now lets see if I can make that pile any smaller…

    Like

  4. I really like this system! I’ve never had a TBR list but I totally need one because books are piling up. I think I will try out this method because it seems really effective for me!

    Like

  5. I just made a similar post (I credited you, of course) – I think it’s a great way to keep track of what you already have on your bookshelves and what new releases you want to get to. I hope you like The Demon King, I enjoyed it a lot. I really should get the second book in the series soon!

    Like

  6. This is such a good system, Jolien! I should use it too because I never complete my TBRs haha! XD I currently have Snow Like Ashes out from the library, so hopefully I like it! I also have The Queen of Tearling on my bookshelf – I hope we like it when we read it! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

