I’m Participating in the Fantasy Favourites Read-a-Thon!

Today is an announcement post! I’ve decided to participate in the Fantasy Favourites Read-a-thon hosted by Inge and Aly @ Of Wonderland, and Olivia @ Olivia’s Catastrophe! I’m going to be answering some questions as an introduction post. 

For those of you who wish to join, you can follow the links I mentioned above to sign up! The read-a-thon will happen from July 10th until July 18th. 

fantasy favorites

1. Who are you?

If you are a reader of my blog, you might know that my name is Jolien. I’m 21 years old, and summer has just started for me. I’m truly not entirely sure what to say about myself, besides the fact that I love reading -and especially fantasy. 

2. Why are you joining the read-a-thon? 

Several reasons, actually. First, it’s been such a long time since I’ve participated fully in one. They always are at inconvenient times for me! However, as summer just started for me, I’m actually free for once. Second, fantasy is my absolute favorite genre. Third, Inge is a wonderful friend, and I want to participate in anything she’s hosting when I can. Fourth, it’s been a long time since I’ve re-read Percy Jackson, so I’m excited to do that with Inge! 

3. Which books do you intend to read?

I haven’t made a complete TBR yet. I’m definitely re-reading the Percy Jackson series, at least I hope to get that done. I also want to participate in another read-a-thon which overlaps with this one, so I’ll try to make a fantasy filled TBR that fits both. 

4. How many pages do you think you’ll manage?

I have absolutely no clue. Percy Jackson’s 5 books are 1708 pages all together, so I guess I’m trying to reach that amount as a minimum? 

5. What’s your favorite thing about the fantasy genre? 

There are so many things to choose from. I guess the vast amount of imagination. There are just no limits and boundaries to the wonders we can create with our minds. All that imagination offers the perfect escape of dreary everyday-life. 

6. Which fantasy books do you always recommend? 

I’ll skip the obvious of Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter. I always recommend The Legend of Eli Monpress series by Rachel Aaron -I absolutely love it. And The Riyria Revelations and Riyria Chronicles series by Michael J. Sullivan. Still so underrated. I also love the Girl of Fire and Thorns series by Rae Carson. Honestly, I could go on for a while here. 

7. Which fantasy books are you dying to read? 

First of all, Age of Myth by Michael J. Sullivan. And Thorn of Emberlain by Scott Lynch -the release date was pushed back twice. And although I totally understand the reasons, I’m still a bit sad because I love the Gentleman Bastard series. I’m not even going to start getting into the wait for Winds of Winter by George R.R. Martin. At this point in time, I have just lost all hope of ever reading it.

8. If you could travel to one fantasy world, which would it be?

No doubt about it, Middle Earth. I want to relax in the Shire with the hobbits. I want to walk the path to Rivendell. I want to spend time in the city of Elrond. I want to travel to Lothlorien, and walk beneath its trees. I want to see the White City of Gondor. I want to see everything -aside from Mordor and Shelob’s Lair because I would die from fear. 

2 thoughts on “I’m Participating in the Fantasy Favourites Read-a-Thon!

  1. Oh man, I can’t believe I forgot about Middle Earth. Yes, Rivendell always comes to mind as one of the most beautiful places to visit.

    That’s quite the reading goal! You’ll be totally badass if you can manage it 😀 so glad to have you join us!

    Like

Leave a Reply

