Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Reads of the Year So Far

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. This week is a freebie week, and since it’s the end of June and thus the middle of the year, I figured I’d do a favorite reads of the year so far. Keep in mind, these were NOT all released in 2016. I just read them this year. 

The Secret History by Donna Tartt // This novel actually really stands out in my list of books I have read this year. Not just because I loved it, but also because it’s vastly different from what I usually pick up. I’d recommend this book to everyone. The plot was intriguing, the characters were so well developed I kept changing my mind on who I actually liked, and I felt simultaneously smart and dumb while reading. 

Six of Crows (Six of Crows #1) by Leigh Bardugo // I picked this up because I loved Leigh Bardugo’s last trilogy, and this one had great reviews to it. I was so pleasantly surprised, which is saying something because my expectations were quite high already. I’m also happy this will be a duology – I love duology. 

The Death of Dulgath (Riyria Chronicles #3) by Michael J. Sullivan // If you’ve read my blog for a while, you may know that this is one of my favorite fantasy series/authors. I’m happy to say that the latest installment of the Chronicles didn’t disappoint me at all. 

A Gathering of Shadows (Shade of Magic #2) by V.E. Schwab // I was so afraid to pick this one up. What if I didn’t like it as much as the first one? I’m glad I did though. She took things to a whole other level here. That ending! I ended up loving the story, and even the new characters she introduced. 

Marked in Flesh (The Others #4) by Anne Bishop // No surprise here. This series has been on my favorites lists for years, I think. I just love it to pieces. Each and every character in interesting and amazing here. There are so many side characters I have grown to love just as much as the main ones, which to me is a sign of a good novel. 

City of Stairs (Divine Cities #1) by Robert Jackson Bennett // I was so surprised by this book. I had tried to start it several times, but the first few pages seemed so confusing to me that I never stuck with it. But I’d seen so many raving reviews, I gave it another try this year. And I found myself sucked in after like 20 pages! It was just so good. I can’t wait to read the sequel. 

Hundred Thousand Kingdoms (Inheritance #1) by N.K. Jemisin // N.K. Jemisin was one of those authors I’d wanted to read a book by for ages. I had the first two of this trilogy on my shelf, so decided to finally give it a go. I loved it so much. Honestly, I’ve read both books on my shelf now. I really want to purchase more of her works, but I’m trying to lower my TBR! 

The Warded Man (Demon Cycle #1) by Peter V. Brett // Another pleasant surprise. I’d seen this author recommended several times for fantasy lovers. And the concept of this book seemed intriguing to me. I’m so glad I picked it up. Not only was the concept amazing, but I was interested in the different main characters and their POVs as well -not just one of them. It also spans over many years, which really shows you how the characters developed. I’m excited to read the sequel! 

Hounded (Iron Druid #1) by Kevin Hearne // This book was really quite cheap on Bookdepository, so I decided to add it to an order I made this year. I picked it up almost immediately after it arrived, and immediately wanted to buy the entire series. It’s about a 21 century old druid in modern times. It’s just incredible, and I laughed out loud several times. I really need to purchase the sequels, but like I said, I’m trying to shrink my TBR not increase it. 

Clockwork Prince (Infernal Devices #2) by Cassandra Clare // If there is one book that surprised me this year, it’s this one. It’s no secret that I’m not a fan of her TMI series. In fact, I don’t like it at all. And while I had this trilogy on my shelf, the less-than-great experience with her other series made me incredibly hesitant to continue this one. You can’t imagine my surprise when I ended up reading both this one and Clockwork Princess in 2 days. I just had to continue, because I was really attached to these characters -well, mostly to Jem. I’ve decided to give her another chance, and pick up Lady Midnight too. 


That’s my TTT for the week! I’m so glad I’m back to making these, I’ve missed it so much during the past month. What were your favorite reads of the year? Have you read any of these? Feel free to link your TTT post in the comments!

 

33 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Reads of the Year So Far

  1. Well, this just extended my tbr by four titles. 😀 Thanks for putting this together, I really need to read some of them. I also saw The Secret History is being published in Slovenian this year, so I’ll probably look for the translation.

    Like

  2. Six of Crows is also one of my favorite reads this year – I can’t wait for Crooked Kingdom. I also read and loved Clockwork Prince and I share your love of Jem 🙂 I haven’t read any of the other books, but most are on my TBR, especially the Shade of Magic and the Others series.

    Like

  3. The Secret History is such a bizarrely wonderful read. I first found out about Donna Tartt because she graduated from one of the colleges I was interested in applying to (Bennington College) and I can definitely see that time in her life reflected in this novel. I’m not going to lie, even though I’m sure the majority of it is fictional it kind of makes me feel glad I didn’t end up going there for school haha 🙂

    Like

  4. Six of Crows is one of my favorite too this year! I give it 5 stars immediately because I love everything in it! Also I read Clockwork Princess a few years ago and TID remain one of my all time favorites. Glad you love AGOS, I’m looking forward to start ADSOM 🙂

    Like

  5. I really really really need to read City of Stairs. And I should probably do it before I give in to V E Schwab, as it’s been on my list much much longer!

    I’m so glad you enjoyed The Secret History 🙂 It will always be on my Top Ten All Time Favourite Books.

    Like

  6. I have heard a lot about Six of Crows and I see so many book bloggers posting reviews for it so I think it is about time I moved it up the TBR!

    My favourite read of this year so far is The Night Circus. I couldn’t believe it took me that long to get to it!

    For my Top Ten Tuesday I talked about things that have changed since I started book blogging! ☺ https://thebookiemonsters.wordpress.com/2016/06/28/top-ten-tuesday-10-changes-i-ve-made-since-i-started-book-blogging/

    Like

      • I think so! I must admit I don’t have much of a relationship with audiobooks but if I don’t like the voice then I struggle to get into the story! The first part of The Night Circus did drag a bit for me and it did take me a while to get into but after that I loved it ☺

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

