6 Authors I Believe Deserve More Attention

I’ve written about books I believe are underrated on my blog today, so why not authors? There are several authors whose works I’ve truly enjoyed, yet I don’t see them mentioned often in the bookish communities. It always makes me so sad. So today, I’m talking about 6 authors I wish more people here talked about

To qualify for this list, I feel like I must have read 2 or more books by said author. I mean, I don’t feel truly comfortable recommending someone if I’ve only read one book they’ve written. What if it was just weird luck, and I don’t like any of the other works? I actually think I’ve read at least 3 books by each of these authors. Let’s get to it!

#1: Michael J. Sullivan

I’ve read: The Riyria Revelations (#1-6) and the Riyria Chronicles (#1-3)
Want to read: Age of Myth
Writes: Fantasy
Goodreads

I am going to keep talking about Michael Sullivan until I scare you all into reading his books. His fantasy novels are just so amazing. I’ve read so many books about Royce and Hadrian now, as they are the main characters in both series shown above. Yet I still wish for hundreds more stories starring them. 

Synopsis Riyria Revelations #1:  There’s no ancient evil to defeat or orphan destined for greatness, just unlikely heroes and classic adventure. Royce Melborn, a skilled thief, and his mercenary partner, Hadrian Blackwater, are two enterprising rogues who end up running for their lives when they’re framed for the murder of the king. Trapped in a conspiracy that goes beyond the overthrow of a tiny kingdom, their only hope is unraveling an ancient mystery before it’s too late.

Synopsis Riyria Chronicles #1:  A warrior with nothing to fight for is paired with a thieving assassin with nothing to lose. Together they must steal a treasure that no one can reach. The Crown Tower is the impregnable remains of the grandest fortress ever built and home to the realm’s most valuable possessions. But it isn’t gold or jewels the old wizard is after, and this prize can only be obtained by the combined talents of two remarkable men. Now if Arcadius can just keep Hadrian and Royce from killing each other, they just might succeed.

 #2: Charlie N. Holmberg

I’ve read: The Paper Magician (#1-3), Magic Bitter, Magic Sweet
Want to read: Followed by Frost
Writes: Fantasy (YA)
Goodreads

I started reading books by Charlie N. Holmberg when I requested her Paper Magician trilogy from Netgalley. I loved the unique magic, and really liked the trilogy. Then I saw her new novel Magic Bitter, Magic Sweet on Netgalley too. It’s about a woman who crafts cakes that influence emotions. Awesome, no? 

Synopsis Paper Magician #1:  Ceony Twill arrives at the cottage of Magician Emery Thane with a broken heart. Having graduated at the top of her class from the Tagis Praff School for the Magically Inclined, Ceony is assigned an apprenticeship in paper magic despite her dreams of bespelling metal. And once she’s bonded to paper, that will be her only magic… forever. Yet the spells Ceony learns under the strange yet kind Thane turn out to be more marvelous than she could have ever imagined — animating paper creatures, bringing stories to life via ghostly images, even reading fortunes. But as she discovers these wonders, Ceony also learns of the extraordinary dangers of forbidden magic. An Excisioner — a practitioner of dark, flesh magic — invades the cottage and rips Thane’s heart from his chest. To save her teacher’s life, Ceony must face the evil magician and embark on an unbelievable adventure that will take her into the chambers of Thane’s still-beating heart—and reveal the very soul of the man.

Synopsis Magic Bitter, Magic Sweet:  Maire is a baker with an extraordinary gift: she can infuse her treats with emotions and abilities, which are then passed on to those who eat them. She doesn’t know why she can do this and remembers nothing of who she is or where she came from. Then marauders raid her town, Maire is captured and sold to the eccentric Allemas, who enslaves her and demands that she produce sinister confections, including a witch’s gingerbread cottage, a living cookie boy, and size-altering cakes. During her captivity, Maire is visited by Fyel, a ghostly being who is reluctant to reveal his connection to her. The more often they meet, the more her memories return, and she begins to piece together who and what she really is—as well as past mistakes that yield cosmic consequences.

#3: Rachel Aaron/Rachel Bach

I’ve read: Legend of Eli Monpress series (#1-5), Nice Dragons Finish Last (Heartstrikers #1) , Paradox trilogy (#1-2)
Want to read: Heartstrikers #2-3, Paradox #3
Writes: Fantasy, Science Fiction
Goodreads 1 | 2

I have so much love for this author! I absolutely adored her Legend of Eli Monpress series, and none of her other books have let me down so far. 

Synopsis Legend of Eli #1:  Eli Monpress is talented. He’s charming. And he’s a thief. But not just any thief. He’s the greatest thief of the age – and he’s also a wizard. And with the help of his partners – a swordsman with the most powerful magic sword in the world but no magical ability of his own, and a demonseed who can step through shadows and punch through walls – he’s going to put his plan into effect. The first step is to increase the size of the bounty on his head, so he’ll need to steal some big things. But he’ll start small for now. He’ll just steal something that no one will miss – at least for a while. Like a king.

Synopsis Heartstrikers #1:  As the smallest dragon in the Heartstriker clan, Julius survives by a simple code: keep quiet, don’t cause trouble, and stay out of the way of bigger dragons. But this meek behavior doesn’t fly in a family of ambitious magical predators, and his mother, Bethesda the Heartstriker, has finally reached the end of her patience. Now, sealed in human form and banished to the DFZ–a vertical metropolis built on the ruins of Old Detroit–Julius has one month to prove that he can be a ruthless dragon or kiss his true shape goodbye forever. But in a city of modern mages and vengeful spirits where dragons are considered monsters to be exterminated, he’s going to need some serious help to survive this test. He only hopes humans are more trustworthy than dragons…

Synopsis Paradox 1:  Devi Morris isn’t your average mercenary. She has plans. Big ones. And a ton of ambition. It’s a combination that’s going to get her killed one day – but not just yet. That is, until she just gets a job on a tiny trade ship with a nasty reputation for surprises. The Glorious Fool isn’t misnamed: it likes to get into trouble, so much so that one year of security work under its captain is equal to five years everywhere else. With odds like that, Devi knows she’s found the perfect way to get the jump on the next part of her Plan. But the Fool doesn’t give up its secrets without a fight, and one year on this ship might be more than even Devi can handle.

#4: Intisar Khanani

I’ve read: Sunbolt (#1-2), Thorn
Want to read:  Sunbolt #3, The Bone Knife, A Darkness At the Door
Writes: Fantasy, Retellings
Goodreads

Another author I discovered through Netgalley. I was so surprised by how much I liked her book Sunbolt, although it was incredibly short. The second book in the trilogy more than made up for it though!

Synopsis Sunbolt #1:  The winding streets and narrow alleys of Karolene hide many secrets, and Hitomi is one of them. Orphaned at a young age, Hitomi has learned to hide her magical aptitude and who her parents really were. Most of all, she must conceal her role in the Shadow League, an underground movement working to undermine the powerful and corrupt Arch Mage Wilhelm Blackflame. When the League gets word that Blackflame intends to detain—and execute—a leading political family, Hitomi volunteers to help the family escape. But there are more secrets at play than Hitomi’s, and much worse fates than execution. When Hitomi finds herself captured along with her charges, it will take everything she can summon to escape with her life.

Synopsis Thorn:  For Princess Alyrra, choice is a luxury she’s never had … until she’s betrayed. Princess Alyrra has never enjoyed the security or power of her rank. Between her family’s cruelty and the court’s contempt, she has spent her life in the shadows. Forced to marry a powerful foreign prince, Alyrra embarks on a journey to meet her betrothed with little hope for a better future. But powerful men have powerful enemies–and now, so does Alyrra. Betrayed during a magical attack, her identity is switched with another woman’s, giving Alyrra the first choice she’s ever had: to start a new life for herself or fight for a prince she’s never met. But Alyrra soon finds that Prince Kestrin is not at all what she expected. While walking away will cost Kestrin his life, returning to the court may cost Alyrra her own. As Alyrra is coming to realize, sometime the hardest choice means learning to trust herself.

#5: Amanda Hocking

I’ve read: Trylle trilogy (#1-3), Kanin Chronicles (#1-3)
Want to read: First book in her new Valkyrie series
Writes: Fantasy (YA)
Goodreads

Amanda Hocking was a suprise/random discovery for me. I really enjoyed her YA fantasy series about the troll tribes, and I’m excited for her new book to be released next year. 

Synopsis Trylle #1:  When Wendy Everly was six-years-old, her mother was convinced she was a monster and tried to kill her. It isn’t until eleven years later that Wendy discovers her mother might have been right. With the help of Finn Holmes, Wendy finds herself in a world she never knew existed – a world both beautiful and frightening, and Wendy’s not sure she wants to be a part of it.

Synopsis Kanin Chronicles #1:  Bryn Aven is an outcast among the Kanin, the most powerful of the troll tribes. Set apart by her heritage and her past, Bryn is a tracker who’s determined to become a respected part of her world. She has just one goal: become a member of the elite King’s Guard to protect the royal family. She’s not going to let anything stand in her way, not even a forbidden romance with her boss Ridley Dresden. But all her plans for the future are put on hold when Konstantin– a fallen hero she once loved – begins kidnapping changelings. Bryn is sent in to help stop him, but will she lose her heart in the process?

#6: Danielle L. Jensen

I’ve read: Malediction trilogy (#1-3)
Writes: Fantasy (YA)
Goodreads

I really enjoyed this trilogy. No, of course it’s not perfect. But it’s about trolls who are cursed, and can’t leave their realm under the mountains. Hey, I spot a theme here! Two of the authors here have written about trolls. I guess I like troll stories?

Synopsis Malediction #1:  For five centuries, a witch’s curse has bound the trolls to their city beneath the mountain. When Cécile de Troyes is kidnapped and taken beneath the mountain, she realises that the trolls are relying on her to break the curse. Cécile has only one thing on her mind: escape. But the trolls are clever, fast, and inhumanly strong. She will have to bide her time… But the more time she spends with the trolls, the more she understands their plight. There is a rebellion brewing. And she just might be the one the trolls were looking for…


So these are 6 authors I believe deserve far more attention than they currently do. I’ve really enjoyed the works I’ve read, and as I said, I’ve read more than 3 books by each. Have you read any of these books/authors? Which authors do you think are underrated? 

16 thoughts on “6 Authors I Believe Deserve More Attention

  1. I love this post! Bookmarking the heck out of it, haha. My boyfriend just started reading Theft of Swords and he loves it, so I’ll probably dive into that one soon too! 😀

    Rachel Aaron/Bach is one of my favourites right now! I’ve only read the Heartstriker books, but I’ve got Fortune’s Pawn on my shelves and I plan to read that one soon. Her books are so fun and clever, and she’s so nice on social media!

    Like

    • Thank you so much! Yes, trust me (and your boyfriend…) and read Riyria soon 😀 It’s really so good. Yes, she truly seems like such a nice person! And I think she self-publishes her Heartstriker series which is just endlessly impressive.

      Like

  2. I don’t think (okay, I KNOW) I haven’t read any of these authors. You have just given me more names to add to my TBR. Stolen Songbird, Frostfire, and the Paper Magician were already on the list but it looks like I’ll be adding some more.
    Thanks for sharing!
    Amanda

    Like

Leave a Reply

