Review: Air Awakens

air awakensAir Awakens (Air Awakens #1) by Elisa Kova
Published: 27.08.2015
Genre: Fantasy
Rating: 4/5 stars – ★★★★

Goodreads | Bookdepository

Synopsis: The Solaris Empire is one conquest away from uniting the continent, and the rare elemental magic sleeping in seventeen-year-old library apprentice Vhalla Yarl could shift the tides of war. Vhalla has always been taught to fear the Tower of Sorcerers, a mysterious magic society, and has been happy in her quiet world of books. But after she unknowingly saves the life of one of the most powerful sorcerers of them all—the Crown Prince Aldrik—she finds herself enticed into his world. Now she must decide her future: Embrace her sorcery and leave the life she’s known, or eradicate her magic and remain as she’s always been. And with powerful forces lurking in the shadows, Vhalla’s indecision could cost her more than she ever imagined.

review

I had seen this book on so many blogs I follow, and most/all of them raved about it. As a fantasy-fan, I couldn’t just let that pass. I had to read it too! Overall, I’m glad I followed my gut and went along with the great reviews. I really did like it -but I wasn’t as in love with it as others perhaps were. 

WORLD

Obviously, I can’t write about the magic and world of this book without mentioning Avatar. Like Avatar, the magic in this world is centered around the elements: air, water, fire and earth. I think every elemental book, TV show or movie will forever be compared to Avatar. Sorry, people. I won’t tell you too much, but suffice it to say that the similarities extend quite far. For those who’ve read it, do you agree with me? I so badly want to explain what I mean, but I can’t without spoiling anything.

I do wish I knew more about the history of the world. I’m guessing that will be explored more in the following books? To be honest, it’s been only about a month since I read this book -maybe a tad more- but I already don’t remember too much about the world. I remember the magic, the court, the city, the library, the gardens of where the bulk of the story plays out. But not much more than that. 

PLOT

I’m happy to say I quite enjoyed the journey this book took me on. I do think it took quite a bit of time for Vhalla to embrace herself -all the aspects of herself- fully. But while reading, I never felt like a lot of time had passed (in real life). I hope you know what I mean, but sometimes while I read I think: “it feels like I have been reading for a long time, yet I’m not that much further in the story”. Have you ever had that? Anyway, that didn’t happen here. I found myself reading huge chunks of this one per sitting. I was definitely captivated and interested in the story line.

Politics were also very prominent in this book. That’s (almost) always a positive for me, because I love reading books with scheming characters, intricate plots and backstabbing. I’m always trying to figure out who to trust, who’s just putting on a nice face and so on. It always manages to captivate me. 

CHARACTERS

From the beginning, I quite like Vhalla. At first, because she loves books and works in the library. Also because she asks questions, and values being smart. But I have to admit that at times I thought it took her a long time to take action, or to make up her mind. Yet overall, I thought she was a strong and interesting woman, and I’m definitely interested in reading more of her story. 

Of course she’s not the only character. I was also interested in both the princes. Mostly because like I said before, I love trying to figure out who is actually a good guy on the inside, and not only projecting to be one.

Did I think the characters were perfect? Of course not. But flawed characters are the best -and most realistic- in my opinion. Did it take me a while to really feel the romance? Yes. Because people should not throw others from buildings. That’s just my opinion. 


Overall, I really enjoyed this book. I’ll definitely continue the series. If you’re interested in this series -even in the slightest- I’d urge you to give it a go. The Kindle copies really aren’t expensive AT ALL. 

6 thoughts on “Review: Air Awakens

Leave a Reply

