Weekly Wrap Up | July #1

I have to admit: this week has been pretty amazing. Aside from Friday evening, but let’s talk about that later.

what i read 80c8b0

The Moon in the Palace (Empress of the Bright Moon #1) by Weina Dai Randel // ★★★★.5 // This was on a Top Ten Tuesday list I made on 2016 debuts I was looking forward to. Then I got an email from BookBub that this book was on sale on Amazon, so I jumped on it. This is the first book in the duology, and the second book was actually released about a month or 2 after the first one. So you don’t even have to wait! I think I’ll purchase the second one soon, because I really loved it. It’s historical fiction, set in China, about Wei who is trying to win the attention of the emperor to help her family. Such an amazing book! 

Paradise Fought: Abel by L.B. Dunbar // DNF //  I really couldn’t deal with this book. I wanted to read some NA romance, but I don’t know what I got with this one. I DNFed it for the following reasons. First, he pays her tuition so she will help him learn how to flirt. Second, she ignores him and wants to sleep with another guy for information. He gets jealous when people are near her, even though he doesn’t know her. She treats everyone like shit. They are suddenly in love, although they don’t know each other as they haven’t really spent any time together that wasn’t either awkward or fighting. Hell no.

what i watched 80c8b0

Atonement // ★★★★ //  I wanted to watch a romantic movie, and this has James McAvoy in it. I love James McAvoy. I didn’t expect this to be so sad though! I was so surprised. I was also surprised to recognize so many famous faces in the movie. 

The Holiday // ★★★★.5 // This is one of my favorite movies, and I always re-watch it when I feel nostalgic, or want to watch a adorable romantic movie. It never fails to make me smile. 

in real life 80c8b0

This week has been bliss. I got the important news that I AM GRADUATING! I finished my master’s degree people, and the graduation ceremony will be held tomorrow. I’m so excited. And a tad scared, because now I have to start looking for work. That’s some scary stuff… 

Anyway, this week I celebrated, went for dinner with my parents, had lunch with a good friend and went shopping twice. Good times, no? So graduation is tomorrow and I’m excited.


How was your week? Did you read, watch or do anything fun? I’d love to heard about it, and I hope you have a great week to come. 

11 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up | July #1

  1. CONGRATULATIONS!!! 🙂 Happy graduation. And I wish you all the luck with finding a job – I don’t know how things are up North but here the job situation for young people is pretty mediocre…

    And I laughed at your description of that NA book, lol. It definitely sounds like something to give up on. Have you read Elle Kennedy’s Off Campus series? They’re pretty solid NA (though they’re problematic if you look at them too closely – but most romance is, so nothing new here).

    And I love The Holiday. I think it must be the only film where I like Cameron Diaz. And Jude Law ❤

    Like

  2. YAY! Happy graduation!!! That’s so great 😀 I know how looking for a job can be really scary, but don’t fret too much. You want to really find the right fit for you. And this is also the last time you can sort of do whatever, without having to go to work for the rest of your life. Enjoy it a little bit!

    Like

Leave a Reply

