Spoiler Free Mini Reviews of Clockwork Prince & Clockwork Princess

Recently I read both sequels in the Infernal Devices trilogy by Cassandra Clare. Some of you (may) know that I’m not really the biggest fan of Cassandra Clare’s works. I don’t like The Mortal Instruments -although I’m enjoying the TV show! Yet I’m glad I gave this trilogy another chance and continued, because I was more than pleasantly surprised by it. I ended up truly enjoying both books! So today, I thought I’d write some mini reviews on both books -without spoiling anything of course. 


clockwork prince

Clockwork Prince (Infernal Devices #2) by Cassandra Clare
Published: 6.12.2011
Genre: Fantasy
Rating: 5/5 stars

Goodreads

My thoughts

It’s safe to say this book was much better than I expected it to be. One of the main reasons I didn’t much care for the TMI series is that I wasn’t really attached to any of the characters. Yet I grew really attached to most of the characters in this book, even side characters. I was not only in love with Tessa and Jem, but so interested in Charlotte, the Lightwood boys, Henry, Magnus and so on. I don’t really love Will, who happens to be most people’s favorite character. In my opinion, it’s never an excuse to treat people badly, no matter the reason. Maybe that’s just my age showing, but I much prefer Jem. Jem is kind, smart, brave -everything you could ever want in a person. 

I also really enjoyed the story line of this book, how you slowly uncover the intrigue and plots together with Tessa, Will and Jem. I love this slow uncover, because it allows me to guess and speculate for myself. I think this was my favorite book in the trilogy!


clockwork princess

Clockwork Princess (Infernal Devices #3) by Cassandra Clare
Published: 19.03.2013

Genre: Fantasy
Rating: 4.5/5 stars

Goodreads

My thoughts

This was many people’s favorite book of the trilogy, yet my favorite one was the second. While I truly enjoyed this book, my love for it was tainted by two things. I’ll start with the positive things though. I think this is an incredible ending to a trilogy. As I mentioned before, not just the main characters in this story are interesting. I’m very intrigued by the side characters too, such as the Lightwood boys and Charlotte. Especially Charlotte. She’s such a strong woman, a true leader of the feminist movement within the Shadowhunter society -in my opinion. Yet there were two things I didn’t like. First, there is one scene in the book that I found SO EXTREMELY DISRESPECTFUL. I don’t know how anyone could think it was sweet, romantic or even okay. It really wasn’t. It left a bad taste in my mouth. And the last thing I didn’t like was the ending. I both loved the ending (I really do) but at the same time I felt like it was a bit of a cop out? But I loved it anyway. I know that makes no sense…


I’d definitely recommend this trilogy. Even if you’re not a fan of her other works, I’d urge you to give it a go. After all, that’s exactly how I felt. I fell in love with the characters, and was captivated by the story. 

5 thoughts on “Spoiler Free Mini Reviews of Clockwork Prince & Clockwork Princess

  1. I actually loved the ending *SPOILER COMING* because when does it ever happen that the girl gets both guys? hahaha and it’s just a testament of how special parabatai bonds can be. Alec and Jace never had such a strong bond as Jem and Will did. That is also part of why I love Lady Midnight. It’s all about parabatais.

    Like

Leave a Reply

