Top Ten Tuesday: Favorites Under 2000 Ratings

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. This week is about the top 10 books you enjoyed, which have less than 2000 ratings on Goodreads!

Sunbolt (Sunbolt Chronicles #1) by Intisar Khanani // 1261 ratings // Fantasy // I truly enjoyed this book when I first got it from Netgalley. It was so short, and definitely left me wanting more. I had to wait a while, yet I finally read the sequel Memories of Ash this year, and loved that one even more.

The Oathbreaker’s Shadow (Knots #1) by Amy McCulloch // 1089 ratings // Fantasy // This post actually reminds me that I need to pick up the sequel to this book, before I forget everything that happened in this one. I actually remember quite a bit, which is odd because I read it in 2014! I thought this was a really intriguing YA fantasy concept. If you make a promise, you have to tie a knot. If you break it, the knot burns and scars you, marking you as an oathbreaker. That means you’ll be banished. Amazing, right? 

The Demon Girl’s Song by Susan Jane Bigelow // 15 ratings // Fantasy // This may be cheating a bit, because this book isn’t released yet. But I really did enjoy it, and still wanted to give it a shout out here!

Warrior Witch (Malediction #3) by Danielle L. Jensen // 1003 ratings // Fantasy // This is the third book in the trilogy, which I guess is the reason it has so little ratings. I really enjoyed this whole trilogy, so I feel like it definitely deserves a spot on this list. 

The Upside of Stress by Kelly McGonigal // 633 ratings // Non-Fiction // I listened to this non-fiction book about the positive sides of stress on audio book, and actually truly enjoyed it. I learned a lot from it, as even now I think about the positive sides when I’m really stressed.

Dark Legion (Blood of Blood #1) by Paul Kleynhans // 48 ratings // Fantasy // I can’t believe this book has so little ratings, I truly enjoyed it! It’s about a guy, Saul, who was a prince. Now, he’s a slave who was taught to become an assassin. Seems like a mistake to me. 

Magic Bitter, Magic Sweet by Charlie N. Holmberg // 221 ratings // Fantasy // This is about a woman who bakes cakes which influence people’s emotions. Doesn’t that just sound amazing? I’ve really enjoyed this author’s works, and I’d recommend this one too. 

Damage Done by Amanda Panitch // 1182 ratings // Thriller, Mystery // This is a YA thriller/mystery, which I guess I haven’t read all that much of? Yet there are two on this list, intriguing. I actually really enjoyed this one, but I feel like you have to go into it not knowing anything. 

The Foxglove Killings by Tara Kelly // 194 ratings // Thriller, Mystery // This is the second YA thriller or mystery on this list! It’s actually quite different in plot, but again, I don’t want to tell you too much. 

The Moon in the Palace (Empress of Bright Moon #1) by Weina Dai Randel // 448 ratings // Historical Fiction // I think this is probably one of my absolute favorites from this list. This is historical fiction set in China, about a concubine trying to win the attention of the Emperor, and needing her cunning smarts to do so.


I’ve noticed that I received I think 9 of these for review! So apparently, some of the books I received for review and enjoyed, really aren’t read often. I’m going to try and increase my mentions of some of these, as they definitely deserve it. 

Which books under 2000 ratings have you enjoyed? Have you read any of these? Did I manage to pique your interest in some of these?

 

47 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favorites Under 2000 Ratings

  1. I heard about Magic Bitter, Magic Sweet in an author interview on my blog recently. I actually ordered the author’s debut novel after that, but I haven’t gotten around to it yet. Sounds great, though! 🙂 Here’s my TTT

    Like

  2. I haven’t read any of these yet, but Damage Done and The Foxglove Killings both sound really interesting! I haven’t read many thrillers and I’m not really sure why, since I love mysteries!

    Great list! 🙂

    Like

  3. Great list! I haven’t read any of these yet, but the Malediction trilogy is for sure on my TBR! And the others sound really good as well, will definitely have to check them out 🙂

    Like

  4. Magic Bitter, Magic Sweet is on my TBR for this summer! I’m going away for a few days today, and I think I might bring it with me for when I finish Queen of Shadows 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

