Series I Won’t Finish #4

One of the hazards of reading quite a bit, is that you come across series you have no interest in finishing. I’ve written 3 posts about this before (part 1, part 2 and part 3) and you all seemed to really like them. So here I am again, with 5 more series I don’t want to finish. 

To be honest, I could apparently keep this series going on for quite a while, because I have about 50 series I don’t want to finish, and I’ve only mentioned 20 (these 5 included). Would you be interested in that? 

#1: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

the 5th wave

What I’ve read: The 5th Wave

I read this book 3 years ago, when I started to get back into reading and this one had recently been released. I really enjoyed it at the time because I gave it 5 stars. Yet I know that after all that time and reading I’ve done since, I won’t enjoy it as much. And to be honest, because of the time that has passed already, I have lost all attachment to the characters and story line. I may watch the movie though. 

#2: Reboot by Amy Tintera

reboot

What I’ve read: Reboot 

This is actually only a duology, so it wouldn’t be too much of a hassle to finish it. But again, I read the first book 3 years ago. I barely remember anything, and I don’t feel like re-reading this one first. I did enjoy it back in 2013 because I gave it 5 stars. I feel like 2013/2014 was the true time for dystopian books like this one (and the 5th wave above) and I read many of them. Now though, I don’t really care for them all that much -and don’t read them often. I guess I’m over saturated with dystopians? 

#3: Grover Beach Team by Anna Katmore

play with me

What I’ve read: Play With Me

Another book I read in 2013! I remember this being a cute contemporary romance about football (soccer if you prefer). Which I guess you could all also get from the cover… In my Goodreads review, I wrote that it was cute but way too short (it’s only like 200 pages). I do like my sports romances, but I prefer to read them in a NA version these days? Plus, this series now has like 6 books in it, which is just too big of an investment for me. 

#4: Ransom by Rachel Schurig

ransom

What I’ve read: Ransom

I actually read this last year, so it’s not as much of an “old read” as the others have been. To be honest, I was kind of “meh” on this read. I gave it 3 stars. It was fine, but nothing amazing. I’ve read a lot of NA I think, so when a book is just okay and not blowing me away, I don’t tend to finish the series. 

#5: Scott Pilgrim by Bryan Lee O’Malley

What I’ve read: Scott Pilgrim’s Precious Little Life, Scott Pilgrim vs the World

When I read this in 2013, I think I kind of felt pressured to like it. It’s such a popular graphic novel series! And I mention on Goodreads that I enjoyed it. Yet looking back on it, I remember thinking his relationships were really weird, and I wasn’t attached to him as a character either. I won’t be continuing this series, even though most people really love it. 


So those are 5 more series I won’t be continuing/finishing. Have you read any of these? Did you like them? Let me know! (P.S. Would you be interested in seeing more posts like this?)

18 thoughts on “Series I Won’t Finish #4

  1. I haven’t read The 5th Wave but watched about half of the movie and decided to stop watching. It just felt like every other dystopian and I didn’t have that much of a connection with the main character. Maybe I should check out the book though since it was a five-star read for you.

    Like

  2. I actually started reading The 5th Wave back when the second book released but never could get into it. It’s one of those where I have to wonder what my problem is since EVERYONE loves it, but it’s just not for me, I guess. :/ Awesome post!

    Tracy @ Cornerfolds

    Like

  3. I didn’t finish the 5th Wave series either! Although, I did read the second book… despite not liking the first one. Honestly, I don’t know why I did that.

    I hope you do more posts like this! 🙂 I think it’s as interesting to see what books/series people didn’t finish as it is to see their favorites.

    Like

  4. I’m with you on The 5th Wave. Loved the first book, thought the second book was a mess. I actually borrowed the 3rd from the library, then realized I just didn’t care and returned it! Also, I think it was easier to overlook certain plot flaws in the book, but watching the 5th wave movie recently really pointed out how dumb certain things were. Oh well.

    Like

      • Out of curiosity, maybe, and if it’s free. 🙂 It just seemed so silly, especially when there’s romance in the middle of explosions and battle scenes. Plus, having children receiving military training is a lot harder to believe seeing it vs just reading about it on the page. But the first 1/2 hour or so, when it’s mainly about the alien invasion, was okay.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I really enjoy the Scott Pilgrim books, but his relationships ARE weird and Scott himself isn’t the best, so I can see why you might not want to continue!

    Like

  6. I haven’t read any of these, but I’ve thought about starting them. I really liked the Scott Pilgrim vs. the World movie, but I don’t know if I could commit to reading an entire series.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I completely agree with the fifth wave. I read it a couple of years before the movie came out, but I had forgotten everything so I tried to reread the book (which I’m pretty sure I loved when it first came out). In the end, it just didn’t click – I could see so many ‘errors’ and it just wasn’t as interesting as I remembered. There was too much romance than anything else (maybe my tastes have just drasticaly changed).

    Like

Leave a Reply

