The Mean Girls Book Tag

mean girl book tag

It’s been a long time since I’ve done a tag post on my blog! I’ve actually been tagged in this one and another one, so I’ll try to do both asap. I was tagged for this tag by Reg @ She Latitude, so thanks Reg! She tagged me in this in FEBRUARY people. I’m so sorry it’s taken me this long, it’s kind of crazy. 

1. Which fictional character’s name did you get completely wrong? 

I’m not sure about writing the names, I don’t really have a problem with that. But how do you pronounce 90% of the names in fantasy books?? Honestly. Like, how do you pronounce Kvothe? Somebody please tell me, how to pronounce a word that starts with a K and is immediately followed by a V. And man, I have a problem pronouncing Gaelic/Celtic/Irish (and so on) names. Like 90% of the people in Hounded, or Sorcha from Son of Shadows

2. Which character would you like to place in a different fictional world?

I would love to see what Locke and his Gentleman Bastards get up to in Westeros. Let’s be real, they’d probably sit on the Iron Throne after 1 year. 

3. Which book gave you déjà vû of another book whilst reading? 

The Novice reminded me quite a bit of Lord of the Rings -or Middle Earth in general. There were humans, Elves, Dwarves and Orcs and the former 3 had to band together to fight the Orcs who were attacking the borders. 

4. Which book gave you the complete opposite of girl power feels?

There are two books that come to mind immediately. Whole in the Clouds is a middle grade book, and I DNFed it. Why? Well, let me tell you. Cora, a young girl, is being bullied and people call her fat. Her mother puts her on a strict diet so she’ll have a prettier daughter. Then Cora goes to a magical place (in the clouds) which transforms her: now she’s as beautiful on the outside as she is on the inside. How does she look now? Tall, slim/skinny and with long blond hair. I think this book TRIED to give the message that she’s beautiful, but I took this the wrong way. Also Fifty Shades of Grey. HELL NO. Anastasia is a doormat who lets a guy be abusive to her because he’s hot and rich. 

5. Name a character you wanted to cheer on while reading. 

Hmmm, let’s think. I’m always cheering for MegShe’s trying to figure out her life, sometimes in the most basic sense. So I’m always there like: YES Meg, tell them what you think!

6. How long do you typically spend in a bookshop?

I don’t really know. Are they having sales? Probably 45 minutes. Am I just browsing out of curiosity without true intention of buying anything? 15-20 minutes. How long do I spend in the library? Maybe 45 minutes?

7. Which character would have to get a restraining order on you, if they were real?

This question kind of makes me feel gross. I’m not a stalker people, no matter how hot the guy is! But I’d love to meet Hadrian Blackwater, Locke Lamora and/or Eli Monpress! And Fred & George. 

8. Which overhyped book were you cautious about reading? 

Definitely Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare. I had read the first book in the trilogy years ago. It’s no secret I’m not Cassandra Clare’s biggest fan -as far as her books go, I don’t know anything about her personality so I’m definitely not referring to her as a person. But I ended up loving Clockwork Prince, even though I wasn’t expecting it. 

9. We all love Regina George. Name a villain you love to hate.

Joffrey. I fucking hate Joffrey. And Littlefinger. I hate Littlefinger, but I’m still kind of impressed by him. Joffrey has no redeeming qualities whatsoever. 

10. Your favorite fictional parent?

Molly Weasley. No doubt about it! I just love her. She may not have a large amount of material wealth, but she just has the biggest heart. She gladly accepts Harry and Hermione into her family and home, although she doesn’t have much money to spare anyway.

11. Which book or series do you wish would catch on?

What does this question mean? Does it mean which series would I wish become very popular? Well, any series by Rachel Aaron or Michael J. Sullivan.

12. Describe your ideal character to read about.

So my favorite characters tend to be witty and sassy. Of course they have to be smart and brave, yet flawed -otherwise it’s no fun.

13. What do you do when a book gives you all the feels?

I write a loooong review on it, publish it and basically beg all of you to read it. I also ask the same of you via Twitter.

14. Which character’s one liners would you like to claim for your own?

I’d love to claim anything Locke Lamora says for my own. And Fred & George.Everything they say is hilarious. 

15. Name a character’s decision that has made you roll your eyes.

Oh there are so many, I don’t think I can even start with this one. Any decision made by Bella Swan. Or Anastasia Steele.


So who am I tagging? 

YOU! IF YOU READ THIS POST (and haven’t done the dag but/or want to) GO MAKE IT!

 

11 thoughts on “The Mean Girls Book Tag

  1. I love this tag (Mean Girls is one of my all-time faves) 😀 Fantasy names are just ridiculous sometimes. If I hadn’t looked up how to pronounce “Eyllwe” in Throne of Glass I would never have guessed it LOL. It really depends on what your native language is though because to me “kv-” isn’t a problem at all, but a lot of other sounds are. I wouldn’t know what to do with the vowel sound(s?) in “Kvothe” though hahaha.

    Like

Leave a Reply

