Weekly Wrap Up | July #2

what i read 80c8b0

The Year We Fell Down (Ivy Years #1) by Sarina Bowen // ★★★★.5 // I LOVE THIS ONE. It’s about Corey, a girl who used to be a hockey player, and now has to use crutches and braces or a wheelchair, and Hartley, a hockey player who broke his leg in two places. I really enjoyed this story. The aspect I loved most was learning more about spinal cord injuries. How they are all different, and how it takes months for your body to recover from the shock so you won’t know which parts of your body you’ll no longer feel for months. It was really intriguing, and the romance was so sweet! 

Coming in from the Cold (Gravity #1) by Sarina Bowen // ★★★.5 // After that, I needed more Sarina Bowen. So I decided to give this trilogy a try. It’s about professional skiing and snowboarding! I’ve never skied in my life, and I’ve only been on a snowboard once (of which I felt the repercussion for months afterwards) but I love the sport. It looks so amazing. I quite liked this one too, but it wasn’t as amazing as The Year We Fell Down. I would’ve enjoyed it more if it weren’t for this one trope present in it: I really don’t like that trope. (I won’t tell you what it is though because it would spoil you.)

Falling from the Sky (Gravity #2) by Sarina Bowen // ★★★★.5 // This is my favorite one from the trilogy, because I understand Callie. She loves her job. She’s afraid she won’t have a romantic life because of it. She has lost a lot of confidence due to her previous relationship. She’s afraid to give her heart to someone else, in case they hurt her again. I understand this woman. Plus, Hank is just: wow. This one also deals with spinal cord injuries, revalidation and so on.

Shooting for the Stars (Gravity #3) by Sarina Bowen // ★★★ // This one was my least favorite of the three, mainly because the story time line overlaps with the second book. So a lot of what happened, I either already knew or had my suspicions about.

I also read another book but for the #MakeMeRead read-a-thon, so I’ll do a separate wrap up for that!

what i watched 80c8b0

I think you’ll see I was in a romance/romantic comedy mood from both my reads and my movies watched. 

Most of these are actually re-watches! 

Chalet Girl // I really like this movie, so I wanted to re-watch it this week. It has a cute romance, snowboarding, dealing with loss and best of all: Ed Westwick.

Leap Year // Another movie I really enjoy, so watched again. I just like the whole atmosphere of this movie. Plus the scenery. Again, cute romance!

Elizabethtown // This is actually the only movie I watched for the first time this week. I quite liked it, but didn’t really fall in love with it. Which is saying something, because hello, Orlando Bloom. I don’t know why I didn’t love it, I guess I just didn’t feel that click with the main characters so I wasn’t truly invested. 

What Happens in Vegas // Another favorite -and re-watch. Ashton Kutcher is just so good looking people. Plus, this story is just all types of fun. It’s basically a prank war.

Sixteen Candles // Another movie I really enjoy, so wanted to watch again. This is such a fun 80s movie! It’s adorable and cute. 

in real life 80c8b0

So what happened this week? I went to my graduation ceremony, which was quite fun. Here are two pictures from that day.

The first picture shows my friend Gila (left) who also graduated and of course, I’m on the right while we were waiting outside. The second picture from left to right shows my mom, me and my grandma. 

Not much else happened this week. The sun was shining yesterday so I spent the day reading outside. I registered as looking for employment instead of as a student. 


How was your week? Did you read, watch or do anything fun or interesting? I’d love to hear about it!

8 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up | July #2

  1. Okay I just checked out Sarina Bowen’s books and the first one in the Gravity series appears to be a Kindle Freebie at the moment. Thanks for the recs, I’m always looking for new romance reads! 🙂

    And yeah, Leap Year is one of my favourite rom coms, the setting is especially beautiful!

    Like

  2. OMG, I watched Sixteen Candles this week, too!! I had never seen it before but it’s one of my mom’s favorites from when she was younger and she’s been begging me to watch it for ages. It’s such a cute, warm-and-fuzzy movie ❤

    Like

  3. I wasn’t into The Year We Fell Down at all when I read it, so it’s so strange to read such a different opinion on it! I didn’t enjoy the relationship between Corey and Hartley, and I didn’t feel that the disability aspect was dealt with particularly well. Still, different strokes for different folks, eh? 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

