Top Ten Tuesday: These Books Make Me Want to Learn All the Stuff

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. This week is about books that made you want to learn something! 

THESE BOOKS MAKE ME WANT TO…

Learn to play the guitar // Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover // I think this is probably my favorite Colleen Hoover book I’ve read so far. I truly loved the music aspect, especially because Ridge is not only an amazing guitar player but he is deaf as well. I really wanted to learn how to play the guitar after finishing this one.

Learn to code (well) // Cress (Lunar Chronicles #3) by Marissa Meyer // Cress is an amazing hacker, something I’ve always been fascinated by. She makes me want to learn how to code better, as I only know the basics now.

Bike through the Languedoc region // Labyrinth (Languedoc #1) by Kate Mosse // I’ve always wanted to visit Carcassonne, but this book made me want to bike through the whole region just to discover everything on my own. 

Learn to snowboard // Falling from the Sky (Gravity #2) by Sarina Bowen // My brother has been snowboarding for years, and I’ve always wanted to learn. I’ve only tried it once, with less than great results. Yet it seems like such an amazing sport to me! 

Read Homer’s works // The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller // Of course I’m familiar with the content of the stories. But I’ve never read an actual translation of Homer’s works! This book made me want to though. I want to read the original materials. 

Practice sleight of hand // The Lies of Locke Lamora (Gentleman Bastard #1) by Scott Lynch // No, I don’t have the ambition of becoming a pickpocket. But sleight of hand looks really cool, plus it would come in really handy if you want to learn some magic tricks! 

Visit Florence // Inferno (Robert Langdon #4) by Dan Brown // The setting of this book just seems magical. I love Italy’s culture, architecture and vibes. Florence is one of the places I’d love to visit soon.

Visit the Caribbean (Trinidad & Tobago f.e.) // The Summer of Chasing Mermaids by Sarah Ockler // The main character of this story comes from Tobago, I believe. The way she describes her culture is absolutely enchanting. The food, the vibes, the people, the setting. It all seems absolutely magical.

Finish an epic (summer) bucket list // Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson // This is something I’ve always wanted to do. Create an amazing bucket list at the start of summer, and try to finish it by the end.

Visit the Wizarding World of Harry Potter/Studio Tours // Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling // I’ve been to London a few times, yet I’ve never done the Warner Bros studio tours for Harry Potter! It’s one of my wishes, to do it asap.


Those are the things books have inspired me to do! Have you done any of these activities? Which books inspire you?

32 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: These Books Make Me Want to Learn All the Stuff

  1. I love the summer bucket list idea! I have to remember that… maybe for next summer? Books about music always make me want to play more. I dabble at guitar but it’s pretty pitiful. 🙂 Great list! Here’s my TTT.

    Like

  2. Cress’ crazy coding skills seriously made me want to go back to college to redo all those computer science courses I barely passed in. She was just so awesome in the books!

    Like

  3. Secretly, I’d like to learn to pickpocket. Shhhhh, don’t tell.

    I have read Homer – my memory is that the Odyssey is waaaaay more fun than the Iliad.

    Like

  4. I haven’t gone on the HP studio tour, but I did go to the Wizarding World and it was so amazing. If I was more of a real life crier and less of a ‘only when I read and watch movies’ crier, then I would have cried for sure. It was just like seeing the books and movies come to life. It could have only been made better my live action actors that play wizards and watch around with posh accents saying things like “so many muggles here!” etc. If you want go, go!

    Like

  5. I don’t know, Jolien, I think learning sleight of hand would be really useful in our thieving endeavors. I also really want to visit the Wizarding World. They just opened one a couple of hours from where I live, but I haven’t been yet. Great list!

    Like

  6. Books have made me want to visit so many different places, and Florence is definitely on that list! It seems like such a relaxing, fun, gorgeous place ❤ Hopefully someday!

    Like

  7. Sleight of hand is a really good one. I want to learn to do that after reading Locke Lamora too. The guitar is one of the easier instrument to learn, you could do it on your own if you have time. But I’ve heard that it’s best to find a teacher if you want to learn the proper forms and fingering techniques. Mine is certainly messed up. Haha.

    Like

  8. I did the HP tour about a year ago and loved it! I got very emotional at certain parts, there are tons of pictures of me stood in Diagon Alley with bright red eyes because I started crying out of seer awe and excitement! People around me thought I was strange!
    Coding is a cool one, I never even thought of that but it’s a skill I’d love to learn too! Cress is so cool, one of my favourite characters of the Lunar Chronicles.
    The summer bucket list sounds cool. I may plan one for next year, it feels a little late for this summer.
    Really great list! 🙂

    Like

  9. Great picks! I also read Cress, Since You’ve Been Gone and (of course) Harry Potter and I definitely agree with your picks for these books! I would love to learn more about hacking (or just general coding and computer stuff), the idea of an epic summer bucket list sounds like so much fun and I haven’t done the studio tours in London yet either so I definitely want to do that still. I did see the Wizarding World of Harry Potter at Universal Studios in Orlando a few years ago and that was just amazing!

    Like

  10. These are such great responses; I wish I thought of them for mine aha!

    I super recommend the Wizarding World of Harry Potter WB Tour! It was SO MAGICAL AND ALL OF MY HOPES AND DREAMS. A summer bucket list also sounds like a fab idea; roll on 2017!

    – TT @ Intro To Blurb

    Like

Leave a Reply

