Fictional Women I Look Up To | Part 1

This is a post I’ve been meaning to write forever. I’ve been reading since I was a very young girl. Reading has thus influenced my life greatly, and I’d like to think it has helped me become a more open-minded and educated person. As a girl, I wanted to read about all these amazing girls/women who just kicked ass. And I’d like to believe I’ve found a fair few over the years. 

Here’s the thing. These women all kick ass. Yet they may not all do so in the same way. No woman is the same, whether it’s real life or fiction. Therefore we can’t expect each fictional woman to be a ninja-warrior. Or a genius with a high IQ. Each fictional woman can kick ass in her own way.

Hermoine, Ginny, Luna, Molly Weasley -and basically every woman in this series // Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling // I wouldn’t let myself make a post only featuring women from Harry Potter, although I easily could. This series has so many amazing women. Hermione is not only smart, but a true loyal friend. Ginny is smart as well, and can stand her own in a room full of powerful men, because she grew up with so many brothers. Luna is true to herself, no matter what anyone else thinks. She is the definition of self-love. Molly Weasley is an incredible mother, and her love is endless. She always invites everyone over to her home, even though they don’t have a lot of money. Professor McGonagall is just kick-ass, I wouldn’t pick a fight with her.

Lia // The Remnant Chronicles by Mary E. Pearson // To be honest, I didn’t think Lia would be someone I could look up to before I started reading this series. But my respect for her has grown a lot in the first and second book. I can’t speak for the third, because I haven’t read that one yet. But she is a woman who will work hard, and do anything, to achieve what she wants. She didn’t want to marry. So when pleading didn’t work, she made a plan. When she is in danger, she’ll defend herself admirably. When she lived as just a plain girl -instead of a princess- she waited tables with pleasure to earn her keep. 

Annabeth // Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan // She is one of my favorite characters of this series. As a daughter of Athena, she’s incredibly wise. Not just clever, but wise. But she’s also an amazing fighter. And best of all: she’s a great friend. All qualities I would want in a friend. As a sidenote: Clarisse and Rachel also kick ass. 

Arya // The Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini // Arya is an elf, and she has lived for a long time. She’s educated and wise. She has learned to adapt to different cultures. She wanted to do something more with her life, something that would serve everyone in the entire empire. She’s so capable and hard working, I absolutely love her. As an elf, she can be a bit easily offended. However, she also knows to admit when she’s wrong (even if she doesn’t like it) and apologize. She’s a warrior, a scholar and an ambassador.

Liesel // The Book Thief by Markus Zusak // Her acts may not be the biggest, but Liesel stands up for what she believes in. First, she wanted to learn how to read. So she did. Quietly, in her basement, she learned her letters. Later, she saved multiple books from Hitler. She helped hide a Jewish person. She used small, quiet acts of rebellion to stand up for what she believes in. Liesel showed me that not every change needs to start by people crowding the streets. Every tiny thing you do can be an act of meaning.

Galadriel // The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien // I know she’s not very present in the books. Tolkien wasn’t the best at writing women, let’s be honest. She’s more prominent in the movies, especially those of The Hobbit. But I love her so much. She is the wise queen every monarchy would want. She’s incredibly smart, and brave but she’s not impulsive. She thinks things through before taking action. She listens to others. 

Blackthorn // Blackthorn & Grim series by Juliette Marillier // I love Blackthorn because she is unapologetic. She has been through a lot. And she has survived. For one purpose: revenge/justice. If she doesn’t like something, she’ll say so. I love that about her. She doesn’t apologize for being the way she is, and doesn’t feel the need to explain herself either. Sometimes, it’s no one else’s business why you act the way you do. And that’s okay. 

Veronica Mars // TV show, movie and The Thousand Dollar Tan Line by Rob Thomas // This is one of my favorite TV shows, mainly because I adore Veronica so much. She’s witty and sarcastic so her conversations always make me laugh. She never gives up, no matter how many people try to stop her from investigating. She does what she wants to. She doesn’t really care what others think of her. 

Blue // The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater //  I actually adore all the women in Blue’s family. But I have a soft spot for her. She’s quirky and a bit weird, and she loves it. She doesn’t try to  fit in, because she knows she doesn’t. She’d rather find a group of friends who truly appreciate her for who she is. 

Vianne & Isabelle // The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah // The sisters in this historical fiction novel are very different from each other, yet they are both so strong in their own ways. Vianne would do anything to keep her family safe during the Nazi occupation, which most often means keeping her head down. Isabelle is a rebel, she wants to actively work against the Nazis. Both commit heroic acts: one sister grows famous for her acts under a nickname, the other is more of a quiet rebellion yet an important one at that. 


So those were fictional women I look up to, from 10 books! I definitely have more than 10 though, so I’ll probably make a part 2. Have you read any of these books? What did you think of the women? Which fictional women do you look up to? 

14 thoughts on “Fictional Women I Look Up To | Part 1

  1. Lady Galadriel is a great pick! I love that she’s got all this power and knowledge and yet it’s so understated and elegant.

    Also Minerva McGonagall – she’s the best. I mean, Molly Weasley is the best but if I had to pick a fictional profession, teaching at Hogwarts would be right at the top of the list! 🙂

    Like

  2. I love this post idea, Jolien! I’m reading Dreamer’s Pool right now for the first time. I’m not very far in, but I like it a lot so far. And of course, VMars is the BEST.

    Like

  3. I absolutely loved this post, because it definitely resonates with me so much. I love finding strong female characters, especially ones that I am able to identify with. I also agree with so many of these choices, especially the women from Harry Potter, Annabeth, and Veronica Mars.

    This post is honestly fantastic!

    Like

Leave a Reply

