Biweekly Wrap Up | What I Read on Vacation

Last week, I told you all that I was leaving for vacation. I was in Turkey from July 19th to July 30th. This was meant to be a relaxing vacation for me and my parents. They needed a break from work, and I needed to wind down from a hectic year at university. Of course, while I was relaxing at the pool, I was reading. So here’s what I read!

what i read 80c8b0

Royal Assassin (Farseer #2) by Robin Hobb // ★★★★★ // I started this series in the beginning of the year, and really enjoyed the first book. I wanted to continue immediately but these books can be quite intimidating. I’m so glad I continued though, this book was even better than the first one. I truly adore Fitz. Sometimes, I did feel like he should have acted sooner, but nothing in court is so simple. I’m excited to read the final book of the trilogy, and then continue in the other trilogies of the series (confusing, no?). 

Stone Cold (Iron Tornadoes MC #1) by Olivia Rigal // ★.5 // This was possibly one of the worst books I have ever finished. I only finished it because it’s like 120 pages. I will write a full review, with quotes, and reasons I really didn’t like it. This doesn’t have a bad rating on Goodreads, I don’t know whether they all read the same book as I did??

The Royal We by Heather Cocks & Jessica Morgan // ★★★.5 // I read this for the Goodreads Award Challenge! It’s my fiction pick for the challenge. I thought it sounded really interesting because it’s an adult fairytale basically. It’s an adult royal romance, who doesn’t like the sound of that? But to be honest, I found it quite depressing. I know the point is to make this all more realistic. But did 70% of the story have to be so depressing? Plus, 90% of the problems in this book could have been easily solved if people just talked to each other when they had a problem!

One Good Dragon Deserves Another (Heartstrikers #2) by Rachel Aaron // ★★★★★ // Rachel Aaron is quickly becoming one of my favorite fantasy authors. This series is just SO MUCH FUN. I adore Julius, and Marci too of course. We got to meet even more of his family members this time, and Julius grew a lot. 

Old Ways (Blood of Blood #2) by Paul Kleynhans // ★★★★ // These books are really quite good! The first book only has 50 ratings, and this one only has 12! THAT IS INSANE. Please read this, if you like your fantasy dark. This main character is quite dark. There are many people who don’t love the Throne of Glass series because Celaena doesn’t do all that much assassinating in the beginning, even though she is an assassin. (Don’t kill me, I do love the series). This main character, Saul, is an assassin. The body count in this book is so high, it’s kind of insane. I do think the events here were a little bit convenient at times, but I overall really enjoyed it. 


Those are all the books I read on vacation! I am in the middle of two other books I also started in the past 2 weeks. The first one is Shadow of the Raven (Sons of Kings #1) by Millie Thom. I’m about halfway through but I’m not really loving it. I’m not invested in most of the characters, and the one I was invested in just did something I can’t understand at all. The second book I’m reading is The Tiger and the Wolf (Echoes of the Fall #1) by Adrian Tchaikovsky. I previously read one of his other books Empire in Black and Gold and really loved it. I’m about 75% through with this book, and while I like it, I don’t get the point. What’s the big goal or dream here?

8 thoughts on “Biweekly Wrap Up | What I Read on Vacation

  1. I’m glad you’re still liking Aaron’s series! I *just* started the third book (the arc) that’s coming out later this week in the hope of reviewing it in time for publication. It looks really promising! (More Chelsie, yay!)

    By the way, once you finish the Farseer series, I’d recommend skipping the Liveship Traders if you like Fitz because even though it’s set in the same world, it’s just a completely different storyline. My husband (who has read ALL of the books she’s written under this name, I think), says the Farseer storyline is by far the best. Just a suggestion, since the books are all massive. 🙂 I’m currently stuck in the last book of the Liveship Traders and I’m not making much progress. 😦

    Like

    • I’m excited for the third book! Especially if it has more Chelsie. That’s interesting. I actually have the first book in the Liveship Traders trilogy, so I think I’ll give that one a go. If I can’t get into it, I’ll go on to the next Fitz story 😀

      Like

  2. Yayy, I love Robin Hobb and all of her books 🙂 Fitz belongs to my all-time favourite characters although I would have liked to punch him in the face a few times because of the stupid decisions he makes or things he doesn’t see. The last book in the first trilogy has a few slow parts, but I still loved it and the second Fitz trilogy is even better! Same with the Liveship Traders 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

