Top Ten Tuesday: Buy Me These Books

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. This week is all about the books you’d buy if someone handed you a fully loaded gift card. I could go on for ages with this topic, but I’ll try to stick to 10.  

Age of Myth (Legends of the First Empire #1) by Michael J. Sullivan // I love Michael J. Sullivan, and had been anticipating this book for ages before it was released. However, I haven’t gotten around to purchasing it yet. I REALLY WANT IT. 

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton // Alicia has been recommending this book to me for a while, especially because I asked for magical realism recommendations. And this cover is so pretty! I need to have it. And read it. 

The Once and Future King by T.H. White // This is a classic, and I feel like as a fantasy/mythology fan it is a shame I haven’t read it yet. I really want to give this one a go. I’m trying to read more classics, and I feel like fantasy/mythology classics may be the best way to start reading more.

The World of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin // While it’s been years since I read A Song of Ice and Fire last, this book ha been on my wishlist since it was announced. I need something to help me survive the wait for Winds of Winter. But this book is so expensive, I can’t make myself buy it. I could buy 3 other books with that money… 

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen // First of all, look at this cover. It’s so beautiful! The reason I chose this one for this topic is that I would purchase it with a gift card. I don’t have a great track record with classics. I hated The Great Gatsby, and thought The Picture of Dorian Gray was just okay. So I’m hesitant to buy them with my own money.

The Fifth Season (The Broken Earth #1) by N.K. Jemisin // I recently read two of her other books in the Hundred Thousand Kingdoms series and really loved them. This more recent release has received a lot of buzz, and I really want to own and read it. 

Twelve Kings in Sharakhai (Song of the Shattered Sands #1) by Bradley P. Beaulieu // When this book came out, I was so excited. It looks absolutely epic. But it wasn’t cheap. Still isn’t, I think. So I’ve been waiting, hesitant to buy it. 

Fallout (Lois Lane #1) by Gwenda Bond // I love Lois Lane. That’s no secret. I watched Smallville when I was young, and Erica Durance was just an amazing version of Lois -in my opinion of course. So I want to read this! Plus, I haven’t seen this around the blogosphere much. 

House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski // This book is just unique. I have no idea what it’s about, if I’m honest. But it looks like such a different and intriguing read, I want to give it a go. Yet I’m hesitant to buy it. If I don’t like it, I’ve spent money I could have used to buy a Rick Riordan book.

The Last Wish (Witcher #1) by Andrzej Sapkowski // This is really intriguing to me, because it inspired The Witcher games. I haven’t played any of them yet. I’ve only just started gaming, really, and am not very good at anything yet. But I bought Dragon Age: Origins, have played a few hours, and really liked it. But before I buy/play Witcher, I want to read the fantasy series behind it!


Those are 10 books I would immediately purchase if I were given a gift card. Have you read any of these? If so, what did you think of them? And of course, which books would you purchase?

50 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Buy Me These Books

  1. I have tried many many times to read Pride and Prejudice but have never been able to finish the book. I love the storyline, and have watch every adaptation ever made, but I just really struggle to read it. That being said, I want this edition because the cover to SO PRETTY!!!

    Like

  2. Woah, that edition of Pride and Prejudice is gorgeous! It reminds me a little bit of a watercolor edition of Pride and Prejudice that I bought a few years ago… and still haven’t read. Whoops.

    Great list! 🙂

    Like

  3. The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender looks gorgeous and sounds really intriguing. Definitely adding to my TBR. Also, that cover of Pride and Prejudice really is beautiful!

    Like

  4. I think I’ve recommended Ava to about everybody. It was one of those books that took me by surprise. You know those books that feel like the author took a peek inside your soul before writing it? That’s what it felt to read Ava. Oh great, now you have absurd expectations. I have no idea what House of Leaves is about either, but I’ve seen these amazing pictures of it and I want to read it! Great list this week.

    Like

  5. I just read Fallout! I also just met Gwenda Bond (who is adorable and awesome and funny as hell) because she came to my bookstore last week for a YA Panel that I got to moderate (along with Megan Shepherd, Megan Miranda and Beth Revis). Her Lois Lane is fantastic- spunky and smart and a crusader of the underdog.

    I also want to read the Walton book, and while I have The World of Ice and Fire, I haven’t read it yet.

    Like

  6. Wow, what a gorgeous edition of Pride & Prejudice!! P&P is a great classic to read if you don’t usually read them because there’s a lot of fun drama and it’s easy to follow. Austen is such an excellent writer and I love her wit and sarcasm. Happy reading! 🙂

    Like

  7. Reading the Witcher series before playing the game is definitely worth it. There’s a lot of backstory that isn’t really explained in the game so certain scenes will be more impactful.

    Like

  8. I have Northanger Abbey on my list, since I already own a gorgeous copy of P&P. I’ve never seen the edition you have here, but I personally love the Vintage Classics Austen series—they’re mindblowingly beautiful.

    Like

  9. Age of Myth has such a great cover. I was curious about it and after reading the sample at Amazon I wasn’t sold, but I’d like it just for the cover! And The World of Ice and Fire- that’s one I’ve been wanting for a while, I kinda forgot about it, and yeah it’s not cheap. One of these days I’ll get it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

