Reading Slump or Reading Meh Books?

Today’s post is the result of my reading habits in the past month. I usually never pick up more than one book at a time -unless one of them is non-fiction. However, I now have 4 books on my currently-reading shelf. That really happens only once or twice a year. As you can see, I’m reading 4 books: 

Knipsel currently reading.PNG

I first started reading The Emperor’s Knife (Knife & Tower #1) by Mazarkis Williams at the end of June. I’m not that far in, as you can see because I wasn’t really feeling it at the time. So I put it down. Then, in the middle of July I left for Turkey and didn’t take it with me. So it’s been on my currently-reading shelf for over a month.

On vacation, I started reading Shadow of the Raven (Sons of Kings #1) by Millie Thom. I received this book for review ages ago. It sounded really great: about Vikings, Danish raids, kingdoms conquered and families torn apart. Sounds pretty epic right? But I’m halfway through and not really committed to it. I’m not invested in the characters. The only character I was invested in was Eadwulf, but at the middle-point of the book, I just don’t understand his actions anymore. Plus, I feel like this book is so long! It’s nowhere near as long as the books I usually read, yet I felt like I’d been reading for ages and only got to 50%. 

Because I wasn’t feeling Shadow of the Raven, I decided to start The Tiger and the Wolf (Echoes of the Fall #1) by Adrian Tchaikovsky while I was on vacation. I’m quite far into this one, so it wouldn’t take me all that long to finish it. Yet I don’t feel compelled to do so. I quite liked his other book, Empire in Black and Gold, but this book makes me feel so purposeless. I don’t know what the point is of the plot so far?

On Monday, I had to take the train to Brussels. And I was thinking which book I wanted to read on my way there. And I didn’t feel like reading any of the previous three. So I decided to start The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin. This one, I’m really enjoying. I’m advancing quite fast while reading, which is surprising for a non-fiction book. 


So here’s what I’m asking myself. Am I in a reading slump? Or am I just reading books I think are average?

Maybe I’m not enjoying/finishing the books I’m reading because I’m in a reading slump. That has happened to me before. When I’m in a reading slump, I can’t seem to commit to a story and finish it. So maybe that’s the reason I have 4 books on my currently-reading shelf. But if I really think about it, I do feel like reading. That’s not usually so in a slump -at least for me. That’s why I’m thinking it may not be a slump? I do want to read. That’s proven by the fact that I’m really into the Happiness Project and read about 100 pages yesterday evening. 

So maybe I’m just not impressed by the books I’m reading. I’m not really captivated by the first three reads, and therefore never really have the motivation to continue. Maybe it’s because to me, they are quite “meh”. You know? Those books that aren’t bad, but aren’t amazing either? They don’t really jump out at you. That’s how I feel about the books I’m reading now. They aren’t bad, certainly not. But they don’t feel special to me either. I’m not really attached to the characters, which means I’m not that motivated to find out what happens to them at the end of the book. 


Have you ever had this problem? Do you think I’m in a reading slump, or is it just the books? I feel bad DNFing Shadows of the Raven because it’s a review book. What do you think?

18 thoughts on “Reading Slump or Reading Meh Books?

  1. Hmm for me, I think you’re not actually in a reading slump. You’re really just coincidentally reading books that aren’t your taste. xD If I were you, I’d put those other three books on hold or mark them as DNF instead of forcing myself to read through them when I don’t feel like I want to anymore. Although, DNFing books aren’t everyone’s hobby, so it’s still your choice. 🙂

    Like

  2. I had the same problem a while back, but I actually removed the certain book i couldn’t finish from my “currently reading” shelf and put it on my “not-finished-yet-or-ever” one 😂😂 It’s mean, I know. But i didn’t have a choice. I don’t think its necessarily a reading slump. I think the problem here is the genre. Because I personally realized that the books I ‘dumped’ were mostly of a Fantasy or a Sci Fi genre. It might not be the same for you, but Contemporary and Romance books helped me A LOT. And don’t pressure yourself into reading these books. Just ditch them for a while and you’ll pick them up later when you feel like it 😉
    I hope this helps ❤ Happy Reading !

    Like

  3. I tend to get into reading slumps come November, when so many things iRL gets hectic. Push on, though! That said, I’ve had two books on my “Currently Reading” list for months now, one because I just can’t seem to get interested enough to finish it, and the other because I’ve only hit the halfway point at 600 pages, and it’s SO DAMN LONG (in its defense, the book is really good, just…epic in proportions, lol).

    Like

  4. I had this problem in July. A couple of books I was really looking forward to (one the third in a trilogy), just felt ‘meh’. Actually, the one was less then ‘meh’. I couldn’t help but wonder if it was my mood, or if they both would have let me down whenever (actually, the less than meh one would have, but maybe to a lesser degree). Sometimes when I feel like this, I just need a complete change of pace, and pick up a very character driven book that is more about fun than anything else.

    Like

  5. I laughed out loud when I saw the screencap, because that’s what my now reading shelf at Goodreads looks like! If you’re feeling bad about your month-old book…. just think about One Hundred Years of Solitude that’s been sitting on my shelf for over a year now.

    Also I feel it’s just the books, at least that’s what I tell myself. You can’t help it if the story or the characters don’t appeal to you 🙂

    Like

  6. I feel like in this case it’s probably the meh books, especially since you’re cruising right along with the Happiness Project. I hate DNFing books, so I usually just let them sit there forever haha. But it’s probably worth thinking about if you really don’t want to read them at the moment. You can always pick them back up again later on!
    Hope this helps! 🙂

    Like

  7. Whew! I was a little nervous when I saw The Happiness Project in your thumbnail, but I’m glad to see you’re actually enjoying that one! 😀

    It can definitely be both. And sometimes a handful of mediocre books can cause the slump. In most cases it’s just a matter of time, or of picking up the right book. Last year, The Martian pulled me out of my reading slump.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. It can be both. I was slumpy earlier this year because the books I was picking up weren’t the books I should be picking up with the pregnancy hormones. So it can be a mood slump. Where you want to read but you just aren’t picking up the right books.

    So I cleared my shelf and just picked up whatever I felt like. Maybe just clear the shelf and pick up whatever you feel like, maybe even a reread. You can always come back to these books a month later and see if it is the book or if it was a slump/mood.

    Like

Leave a Reply

