2 Mini Reviews | NA Books I Didn’t Like At All

You all know I read mostly fantasy. Sometimes I want a lighthearted break between fantasy novels though, because they tend to be quite heavy. So I read New Adult romances at times. They’re usually fun, easy and quick reads. I also know which tropes I like and dislike, and am usually successful in avoiding NA romances I wouldn’t like. Yet in the past month or so, I’ve read two NA books I really didn’t like. One I DNFed, one I gave 1.5 stars. 


abel paradise foughtParadise Fought: Abel (Paradise #1) by L.B. Dunbar 
Published: January 25th 2016
Genre: NA, Romance
Rating: DNF
Goodreads

Synopsis: I’m not a fighter. I was born into a fighting family. As the middle child, I was overlooked in favor of my older brother. He took the negative attention, too. In comparison, there’s nothing special about me. I’m not as big as Cobra. I’m not as strong as Cobra. He’s the alpha. I’m a beta. The second son. The lesser one. The one never encouraged to fight, never encouraged to do anything, but stay out of my father’s way. I’m not a lover either – but I wished to be – that’s why I needed her. I met a girl in the pouring rain. Sounds cliché, but it’s true. It changed everything. Because of love, I learned to fight. Betas come second, but in this fight, my story is first.

review

I couldn’t even make myself finish this one. I just couldn’t. Let me tell you why.

They first meet on vacation, when she is crying in a storm and he asks her if she’s okay. Then they meet at the student admin desk at university -or a similar place. It’s only at the admin desk that he realizes she’s the girl he had a crush on for years in high school. I’m sorry, how can you not recognize someone like that immediately? I think it’s their first year at uni, so it can’t have been that long ago. 

At said meeting, she finds out she doesn’t have the money to pay for the upcoming year (or something like that) at university. He offers to pay for her, if she teaches him how to flirt and pick up girls. That already sounds extremely creepy to me. She accepts. Then completely ignores him. Not even a thank you! I mean, I’m sorry, but that must have been a lot of money. No matter the reasons, if someone pays for you, it’s only polite to say thank you. No, she ignores him because she wants to get the attention of a certain guy who will help her get what she wants. She’s rude to him in public. She completely ignores him for the other guy. He gets completely jealous and feels like they belong together, even though they literally haven’t had a conversation longer than a minute. You don’t even know the first thing about each other! But he gets jealous. And then suddenly they both know it’s love and have to be together. I couldn’t read further than that. It just made no sense to me.


stone coldStone Cold (Iron Tornadoes MC #1) by Olivia Rigal
Published: 31.03.2014
Genre: NA, Romance
Rating: 1.5/5 stars
Goodreads

SynopsisLisa Mayfield returns home from law school to a dead brother and a former lover she no longer recognizes. Brian Hatcher, her brother’s best friend, dropped out of the police academy. Instead of working with Lisa’s brother to bring down organized crime, he became a full-patched member of the Iron Tornadoes, an outlaw motorcycle club, the very one that may have caused her brother’s fall. Searching for answers to how her David died, Lisa can’t ignore the attraction she still feels for Brian. The chemistry is undeniable but is there anything left of the boy she once loved or has he turned into a stone cold biker?

review

I’m just going to say that the only reason I finished this book is that it’s only like 120 pages. Usually, I hate writing negative reviews. I always try to find the positive aspects in it, because a person put his time and effort into it. And I’m not trying to be mean. But with
this book, I honestly don’t know what to say. I didn’t like the writing, nor the characters, nor the story. So I’ll just tell you why.

I was not a fan of the writing because I felt like there was just no flow whatsoever. It was more along the lines of: “I did this. Then I walked there and did this. This made me think of this person.” Sometimes, I feel so attached to the characters of a book mainly because of the way they are written, like in The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater. This writing style left me feeling so detached from the characters though.

Secondly, the story. It was just way too short. It was only 120 pages, which of course doesn’t allow for much to happen. The story centers around Lisa, who returns home when her brother dies. He was a cop, and she wants to find out who killed him. Well, she didn’t. Not only did she not find out anything, I feel like she didn’t even try!

Lastly, the characters. Like I said, I felt so detached from Lisa. Mostly because of the writing, but I also felt like she was a very cold person in general. It’s a bit like reading a robot’s mind? There really isn’t that much emotion. Don’t even get me started on Brian. There is nothing good about this guy. He treats Lisa like a slave, is so disrespectful, and probably a criminal too.

To illustrate my frustration, I have selected some quotes for you.

“I resolve to stop crying and try to reason with myself.”

Okay, good luck with that?? Your brother just died. How do you reason that away?

“You know you are mine, right?” And my universe bursts with millions of bubbles of happiness because I’m certain what he means is that he loves me.

NEWS FLASH: that’s NOT what that means at all! What is wrong with you?

“Now that I’m wrapping my mind around the concept (of her mother dating), I see my mother in a totally different light. Objectively, she’s really okay. How old is she anyway?”

You don’t know your own mother’s age? What?

Here she asks Brian how her brother died, because he knows more about it…

“I was told by someone who was there,” he says, his expression and his tone almost indifferent. “You sure know how to kill the mood.”

Oh yes, I’m sorry to rain on your parade. Who am I to ask questions about my dead brother when you just want to have sex? How insensitive of me…

12 thoughts on “2 Mini Reviews | NA Books I Didn’t Like At All

  1. How terrible! But I must say, Jolien, I had a lot of fun reading these negative reviews. I’ve been staying away from NA books myself because they don’t seem to have a lot of substance. I know that’s a generalization and I’m sure there are exceptions, but I think I’ll wait to pick one up when they have a more diverse selection. Great reviews!

    Like

  2. Yikes @ that “you are mine” line! I’m sorry these books didn’t work out for you, and I totally understand the feeling of NA books being a breather, even if half the time they’re so full of drama themselves, haha. Hope you find other NA books that are more to your liking!

    Like

Leave a Reply

