Top Ten Tuesday: Thank You For Recommending These To Me

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic.  This week, we could choose a prior topic! You could go all the way to the first ever Top Ten Tuesday topic, if you wanted to. I chose Ten Books I’m So Happy Were Recommended to Me.

The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin // Inge @ Of Wonderland // I just finished this, and wanted to take this opportunity to say THANK YOU to Inge. I really enjoyed it! It was definitely inspiring, without being preachy. 

The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson // Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense // I always associate this trilogy with Alicia, because she encouraged me to read it. I’m so grateful because I ended up loving it! It’s a great YA fantasy with Hispanic roots (I believe) and an amazing female main character.

Heartstrikers by Rachel Aaron // Kaja @ Of Dragons and Hearts // I had previously read a different series by Rachel Aaron, but was hesitant about starting this one. I thought I’d be disappointed because YA urban fantasy with dragons sounds too good to be true. But I saw the positive reviews on Kaja’s blog, and knew I had to try it. I’m so excited to read the 3rd one soon!

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys // Community // This wasn’t really recommended to me by one single person, but by the bookish community here overall. So many people were writing raving reviews on this book so I knew I had to give it a go. I am now one of the many people telling you you HAVE to read this. 

The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen // Community // Again, not truly recommended by a single person but the community as a whole. There was so much hype surrounding this book when it was first released. Enough hype that I was hesitant to pick it up because I didn’t want to be disappointed. 

Farseer trilogy by Robin Hobb // Community // Robin Hobb has been a fixture in the bookish communities for a long time. She’s such a well-known fantasy author. I’d never read anything by her prior to 2016. I’m so glad I listened to everyone and finally picked up one of her books. Well, two by now. 

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo // Community // Such a hyped up book… I had read Bardugo’s Grisha trilogy before so I was excited to see this one announced. But by the time it was released, the hype was already enormous. I was afraid of picking it up because how could I not end up disappointed? From all the reviews, I expected rainbows to shoot out of it once opened. So I waited until the hype (in my head) died down a bit. And I loved it. 

City of Stairs by Robert Jackson Bennett // Community // I found this book to be quite intimidating when I first tried to pick it up. But I kept seeing this glowing reviews on it! I just couldn’t give up on this book -not without knowing why people loved it so much. So I struggled through the first few pages, and suddenly found myself hooked. I don’t know what happened! One moment I was struggling, the next I couldn’t put it down. 

The Secret History by Donna Tartt // Community // This is not the type/genre of book I usually read. So I don’t think I would have ever picked it up if I hadn’t seen the reviews on it. Or the awards the author has won. It’s definitely a slower read as it took me a while to finish, but it was so worth it!

The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson // Community // Brandon Sanderson is an author everyone seems to love. Yet I hadn’t really heard of him before I discovered the book blogging/vlogging communities. So I have to thank you all, for introducing me to this incredible fantasy author.


Have you read any of these books? Which books were recommended to you? I’m so excited about this week’s TTT, because everyone will have such different lists. Don’t forget to leave a link to yours!

46 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Thank You For Recommending These To Me

  1. I added a bunch of these to my TBR. The Girl of Fire and Thorns in particular sounds like it’s up my alley. Here’s hoping I love them all and get to thank you for the recommendation some day!

    Like

  2. It is a great honor to be associated with the Fire and Thorns series. Every time you mention it, it reminds me that I really need to do a reread of the whole series. Where does one find the time? I need Salt to the Sea. All I hear are wonderful things and I really want to read it. Great list and thank you for the shout out!

    Like

  3. My first fantasy friends are big high fantasy fans, so Sanderson came up in our conversations often. The Mistborn trilogy was great, and I loved Steelheart. I’m halfway through The Way of Kings (that book is HUGE), and the worldbuilding is superb.

    Six of Crows is definitely one I get recommended a lot, too, and I swear I’ll get to it this year!

    Like

  4. I saw Kaja’s reviews of Nice Dragons too a while back and I’ve been thinking of reading them as well, just haven’t got to them yet. They look good though. And I really liked Queen of the Tearling, although I’m having a bit of trouble with the second book. And Robin Hobb is such a good writer- loved the Fitz books.

    Like

  5. I’ve seen a lot of Heartstrikers around, the premise sounds interesting but I’m not a huge fan of urban fantasy. That said, I’ll be adding it to my TBR 🙂
    Yay for Mistborn! City of Stairs, Farseer Trilogy and Six of Crows recommendations feels like they’re everywhere. Haha. I hope to get to them soon!

    Like

  6. I’ve been tossing around the idea of reading The Secret History but have been hesitant since it’s not usually my kind of read either. May have to give it a shot now 🙂

    Like

  7. I am so glad you liked The Happiness Project and that your reading slump didn’t influence it ♥ it is very informative without being preachy indeed, and has a lot of good tips. It was the perfect book to start with on my way to being more happy/positive!

    (Also you’re welcome for Brandon Sanderson.)

    Like

  8. I loved The Secret History, too! Donna Tartt’s books are so dark and twisted and creepy. I’m happy to report that my college experience thus far has been nothing like theirs! 🙂

    Like

  9. Ohh, you are lucky with those 🙂 I totally love Robin Hobb, Sanderson and Erika Johansen is pretty cool as well. Hobb was recommended to me over and over by a good friend who is a big fan. Good that I listened to her 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

