My Thoughts on Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

frankensteinFrankenstein by Mary Shelley
Published: 1818
Genre: Gothic Horror (Classic)
Rating: 4/5 stars
Goodreads
Bookdepository

Synopsis: At once a Gothic thriller, a passionate romance, and a cautionary tale about the dangers of science, Frankenstein tells the story of committed science student Victor Frankenstein. Obsessed with discovering the cause of generation and life and bestowing animation upon lifeless matter, Frankenstein assembles a human being from stolen body parts but; upon bringing it to life, he recoils in horror at the creature’s hideousness. Tormented by isolation and loneliness, the once-innocent creature turns to evil and unleashes a campaign of murderous revenge against his creator, Frankenstein.

review

I will be the first to admit that I’m not very into classics. I haven’t read many, that is true. Yet quite a few of the ones I have read, especially in recent years, I haven’t enjoyed. For example, The Great Gatsby. I loathe that book. Or the Picture of Dorian Gray. I don’t hate it, but I don’t love it. I actually have no real feelings about it. Lord of the Rings however, I love. I keep wanting to try classics, because I want to know why people love them so much. I’m happy to report that I quite enjoyed Frankenstein!

I liked the way this story was written. At first, I was very confused because we follow a man who is not Victor Frankenstein. It’s a man who’s trying to find a crew to sail to the coldest places. No one wants to go there obviously, because they are afraid of sinking the ship and/or freezing to death. I was like: who is this person? What does this have to do with the story? Until the men on board see a sled being pulled by a dog. The sled contains a man, who is so exhausted, dehydrated and suffering from hypothermia that he can barely stand. They bring him on board, and help him get a bit better. That’s when the stranger on the sled starts telling his story. He happens to be called Victor Frankenstein. 

Like I mentioned, I quite liked reading this book. I was interested in figuring out Frankenstein’s story, especially in how it ended. It’s the first classic I didn’t have to force myself to pick up again after putting it down. Although this is a classic horror story, I didn’t think it was gory, scary or any of those adjectives. I found it more…sad? And tragic! I felt really bad for most of the characters.  I think this story raised a lot of questions surrounding humanity and compassion which I found really interesting. 

However. I was left with a lot of questions surrounding this book. Here are some of them.

1. What happened to the dog they found him with? Did they just leave it there to die?
2. Did he not wonder what happened to his creation for 2 years?
3. How utterly depressed is this guy?
4. Am I the only one who thought it kind of gross that he marries someone who calls him cousin?

25 thoughts on “My Thoughts on Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

  1. I am AWFUL at reading classics! I want to love them but a lot of the time I feel like they don’t really have plots and the writing is quite hard to decipher if it’s a really old classic and I just don’t get them. I have quite a lot of classics on my bookshelf though because I would like to try reading more classics. Have you read Anne of Green Gables and To Kill a Mockingbird? They’re AMAZING.

    Like

  2. Oh I meant to say something on the cousin thing, too. I guess because I’m an ASOIAF fan, that never phased me lol. It wasn’t that uncommon at the time either for people to do so. They were considered fat enough removed in blood.

    Like

  3. I love this book. I reference it often especially when I’m talking about a “pity the monsters” paradigm. Frankenstein is the quintessential terrible father motif. He creates this monster/child, is horrified, and runs away without taking any responsibility. This also bleeds into the Mad Scientist trope and says a lot about how science without ethics is dangerous. You can’t just make a person, essentially throw them away, and expect anything good to come from it.

    There’s this great quote. I’m probably going to mess it up. “Knowledge is knowing Frankenstein isn’t the monster. Wisdom is knowing he is.”

    Like

  4. Well, besides Fantasy, this type of classical horror stories are really my thing. “The Raven” is still my favourite poem. I suggest reading H.P. Lovecraft if you want to try some more Gothic tales of the macabre.

    Like

  5. Glad to know that you enjoyed this! For some reason I’ve never read it, but I’ll definitely have to pick it up soon… maybe around Halloween 🙂
    Great review!

    Like

  6. I didn’t like The Great Gatsby either, so I’m glad to know that there are other people out there who didn’t enjoy it! The cousin thing was pretty standard at the time Frankenstein was written, I think. Jane Austen’s books are littered with cousins marrying each other.

    Like

  7. I love Frankenstein!! I love the writing style and the Chinese box story-within-a-story pattern. I also really liked how much it made me question the monstrosity of the humans in the story instead of the “monster”. I’m with you on being grossed out by him marrying his cousin though!

    – Kritika @ Snowflakes & Spider silk

    Like

  8. I have been trying to read more classics lately although I still have many more to go. Didn’t have this one on my radar but will add it to my TBR.It sounds interesting and I like the fact that you mentioned that you liked reading it. The cousin thing is super weird lol.

    Like

  9. Frankenstein is quite possible my favorite classic. I honestly don’t like many of them, like you. But, I love this one. I try to reread it once a year or so. I think it is probably time for that. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

