2016 Mid-Year Freak Out Book Tag

I was tagged to create this post by Monique @ That Wild Soul. Thank you so much for tagging me Monique, this looks like a fun one! I’m not going to make a 20-sentence-long introduction, let’s just get into it. 

1. Best book read in 2016 so far? 

Oh no, this is such a difficult question! I’m obviously not going to count re-reads. I won’t count sequels either, because I can use the next question for that! That leaves me with: The Warded Man by Peter V. Brett, The Secret History by Donna Tartt and Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. NO, I CAN’T CHOOSE ONE. I’m sorry.

2. Best sequel read in 2016 so far? 

The Death of Dulgath by Michael J. Sullivan is definitely one of my favorite sequels I’ve read so far. So is One Good Dragon Deserves Another by Rachel Aaron, and Marked in Flesh by Anne Bishop.

3. New releases you haven’t read yet, but want to. 

No Good Dragon Goes Unpunished (Heartstrikers #3) by Rachel Aaron! It only just came out, but I’m excited to get a copy. I’m really loving this series. I’m also excited about The Beauty of Darkness (Remnant Chronicles #3) by Mary E. Pearson. Oh, and Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel

4. Most anticipated releases for the second half of 2016? 

The Thorn of Emberlain by Scott Lynch! I honestly can’t wait for that book. And the second illustrated edition of Harry Potter.

5. Biggest disappointment? 

Probably The Royal We by Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan. It wasn’t bad -unfortunately I’ve read worse books this year- but I expected a lot more from it. 

6. Biggest surprise? 

I think Hounded by Kevin Hearne fits this category well! I expected to like this urban fantasy series because it’s based on a Druid. But I actually ended up loving it! I’d highly recommend it, and can’t wait to read the next ones (although I’ll have to buy them first). 

7. Favorite new author? 

So many authors can fit this question. I loved Robin Hobb’s first two books in the Farseer trilogy. I’d heard so much about her, but never read any of her books. I also really enjoy Weina Dai Randel’s debut novel -a historical fiction book set in China. Again, highly recommend. 2016 is also the time in which I first read an N.K. Jemisin novel! Absolutely loved it. 

8. Newest fictional crush?

Probably Julius from the Heartstriker series by Rachel Aaron! He’s smart, funny and wonderfully kind.

9. Newest favorite character?

I read some amazing stories about my favorite characters this year, but they weren’t new-to-me characters. If I would have to choose a new one (and not Julius from the previous question either), I’d go for Kelsea from The Queen of the Tearling and Fitz from the Farseer trilogy.

10. Book that made you cry?

Have I shed any tears when reading this year? I honestly don’t think so. Last year, the answer to that question would’ve been easy. Now.. I guess Salt to the Sea was an emotional read. Oh, and Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare too!

11. Book that made you happy?

I read the illustration edition of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, which made me so incredibly happy. 

12. Most beautiful book you’ve bought (or received) so far this year?

I bought The Game of Love and Death this year, which has such a beautiful cover!

13. Books you need to read by the end of the year?

I definitely need to read Age of Myth by Michael J. Sullivan before the end of the year. And The Trials of Apollo #1 and Magnus Chase #1 by Rick Riordan too! I’m behind on them, and I can’t even believe it. 

14. Favorite book community member?

This is such a difficult question to answer! I’d have to go with several people. Definitely Inge @ Of Wonderland. And Kaja @ Of Dragons and Hearts too. And Kyra @ Blog of a BookaholicI don’t think I’ve answered many questions using only one answer. Oops. Sorry.


So those are my answers to the 2016 Mid-Year Freak Out tag! To everyone who wants to do this tag, I am hereby tagging you!

8 thoughts on “2016 Mid-Year Freak Out Book Tag

  1. AWW JOLIEN, YOU’RE ONE OF MY FAVOURITE BOOKISH PEOPLE TOO. *hugs* I also need to read Rick Riordan’s latest books by the end of this year – a read-along perhaps? ;D

    Like

  2. Jolien, thanks so much for this! 🙂

    Julius is one of my favourite characters, too. He’s such a sweet guy! (And stubborn, too.) I’m currently reading Book 3 and liking it very much.

    The Beauty of Darkness is on my to-buy list as well, but I might wait for the price of the Kindle edition to drop a bit, yikes.

    And Son of the Shadows made me cry most recently, I think. So emotional!

    Like

Leave a Reply

