Weekly Wrap Up | August #2

what i read 80c8b0

The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin // ★★★★ // Inge bought this book for me as a gift, and I will be eternally grateful. I really enjoyed this book. Happiness is such a big and interesting concept, but it always seems so elusive. It was nice to read the story of a woman who tried to increase her happiness by committing to a year-long project. The things she did were sometimes so simple, yet seemed incredible. This book has already inspired me to do certain things, and I’ll be writing a full post on it soon. 

The Bone Witch (The Bone Witch #1) by Rin Chupeco // Review // ★★★★.5 // I got this book from Netgalley, because I both loved the synopsis and the cover. I mean, just look at that cover. I ended up truly enjoying it. It’s about a girl who discovers she’s a bone witch when she raises her brother from the dead.

The Tiger and the Wolf (Echoes of the Fall #1) by Adrian Tchaikovsky // ★★★ // It took me a while to finish this book. I will write a review on it,promise. I’ve read one other book by this author, which I quite enjoyed (Empire in Black and Gold). But this one, I didn’t like as much. Don’t get me wrong, I gave it 3 stars which means I liked it. This is just one of those books for me, that isn’t bad but not great either. It’s just in the middle.

what i watched 80c8b0

forks over knives

I watched the documentary Forks Over Knives yesterday! It’s a documentary about the Western diet, why it is unhealthy and veganism -although I don’t think the word vegan is mentioned once. It’s about the benefits of a whole foods, plant-based diet. I had read The China Study before, so I already knew quite a lot of the information. But somehow, seeing it on screen made it stick even more. I’m really making an effort to eat plant-based (although that’s harder as I live with my parents and brother, who eat meat & dairy). I do still sometimes eat a bit of dairy, like a piece of chocolate. I really need to stop that! I’d highly recommend watching this, even if you are not a vegan/aspiring to be one.

in real life 80c8b0

Here’s what I did this week.

I applied for more jobs.
I spent some time with my family. 
I read. 
I got completely sucked into the world of Reddit.
I spent some time with friends.
I got a haircut -and now I kind of feel like a little boy, but I kind of like it too?


That was my week! What did you read, watch and/or do?

13 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up | August #2

  1. That documentary sounds really interesting! I recently finished reading The Omnivore’s Dilemma by Michael Pollan, which basically argues that, although it would ultimately be better for both people and the planet to eat less meat, it’s okay to eat meat anyways. Not sure if I agree with that or not, but it was a thought-provoking read nonetheless.

    Like

  2. Ah, Reddit can be a time sink like you wouldn’t believe. So many topics to explore! My husband is a loyal Redditor and I occasionally spend some time there, too.

    New haircuts are always good, I just had one last week and I feel fresh and new. 🙂 If your hair is newly short, you’ll get used to it and then never want to return to long hair again (at least that’s what happened when I cut my hair short a year ago).

    Like

    • Oh, definitely! I feel like there are so many subreddits to explore, I need to find more… I have had shortish hair for a while! I find that my hair looks best when it is shoulder length at a maximum. But now it hits my jawbone and earlobe, and that is so scary to me! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

