Recently Read Romance: Cora Carmack | Mini Reviews

You all know I usually read fantasy books. However, at times I need something lighter to read. So during those times, I turn to romance. I’ve read quite a few romance novels in the past months (especially NA) but from only 2 or 3 authors. So I decided to do some mini reviews of these romance books per author. Today, I’m talking about 3 books I recently read by Cora Carmack.


all lined upAll Lined Up (Rusk University #1)
Published: 13.05.2014
Genre: NA, Romance
Rating: 4/5 stars
Goodreads
Bookdepository

Synopsis: In Texas, two things are cherished above all else—football and gossip. My life has always been ruled by both. Dallas Cole loathes football. That’s what happens when you spend your whole childhood coming in second to a sport. College is her time to step out of the bleachers, and put the playing field (and the players) in her past. But life doesn’t always go as planned. As if going to the same college as her football star ex wasn’t bad enough, her father, a Texas high school coaching phenom, has decided to make the jump to college ball… as the new head coach at Rusk University. Dallas finds herself in the shadows of her father and football all over again. Carson McClain is determined to go from second-string quarterback to the starting line-up. He needs the scholarship and the future that football provides. But when a beautiful redhead literally falls into his life, his focus is more than tested. It’s obliterated. Dallas doesn’t know Carson is on the team. Carson doesn’t know that Dallas is his new coach’s daughter.

review

I believe I had read 2 other books by Cora Carmack before starting this series. I read Losing It and its sequel, but wasn’t really impressed by them. I didn’t dislike them, I just wasn’t impressed either. I admit this book took me by surprise! I didn’t expect to like it as much as I did.

I liked this book because while there is still a bit of drama present, it doesn’t overwhelm the story like in some NA books. It’s the story of Dallas, the daughter of a football coach, and Carson, who wants to be in the starting line-up of the school’s football team. Can I just say that I love the way they met? It was so much fun! 

I was not only invested in their romance, but completely in the characters as well. I wanted Dallas to fulfill her dancing dreams. I wanted Carson to make it on the starting team. I wanted Levi to move to a different country and pretend he doesn’t exist. Carson is also such a nice guy! This is not a bad-boy-turned-good story -for which I’m grateful.

I also really enjoyed the family aspect of the story on Dallas’ side. She really had some things to work out with her dad. I can see how scary that must be, and I think it was handled well. I really enjoyed the fact that Cora Carmack didn’t just gloss over the relationship and defined it as bad in general. She truly made Dallas deal with it in a positive way.

As you can see, I quite liked this book and immediately continued the series. I’d recommend it if you’re interested in NA!


all broke downAll Broke Down (Rusk University #2)
Published: 28.10.2014
Genre: NA, Romance
Rating: 4/5 stars
Goodreads
Bookdepository

Synopsis: Dylan fights for lost causes. Probably because she used to be one. Environmental issues, civil rights, corrupt corporations, and politicians you name it, she’s probably been involved in a protest. When her latest cause lands her in jail overnight, she meets Silas Moore. He’s in for a different kind of fighting. And though he’s arrogant and infuriating, she can’t help being fascinated with him. Yet another lost cause. Football and trouble are the only things that have ever come naturally to Silas. And it’s trouble that lands him in a cell next to do-gooder Dylan. He’s met girls like her before fixers, he calls them, desperate to heal the damage and make him into their ideal boyfriend. But he doesn’t think he’s broken, and he definitely doesn’t need a girlfriend trying to change him. Until, that is, his anger issues and rash decisions threaten the only thing he really cares about: his spot on the Rusk University football team. Dylan might just be the perfect girl to help. Because Silas Moore needs some fixing after all.

review

As I mentioned earlier, I immediately purchased this after finishing the first book. And then went on to read it in a few hours as well. These are such quick and fun reads. In the first book, we meet Silas in the first chapter or so. It’s safe to say he didn’t make a very good impression. I was still intrigued though. 

I actually ended up loving Silas. This book takes place a few months after the first one, I believe. Silas is having some personal/family problems and works it out by getting into a bar fight (in my opinion, the other guy deserved to get hit). That lands him in jail, where he meets Dylan. Dylan finds herself in jail for reasons that are a tad more noble: a protest. I loved how passionate she was! I genuinely liked their romance, and the way they both helped each other. 

This book also dealt with family issues, but for both characters this time. The families are at the complete opposite of the wealth spectrum. Dylan’s family is fairly wealthy, while Silas’ definitely is not. Both need to find a way to solve them, as it is keeping them down. 

I thought this was a really fun read. I enjoyed the characters and their romance. Near the end of the novel, something terrible happens to a side character. I really like how they dealt with the perpetrator -how they shunned him until something was done. I was intrigued how that side character would be in the next book -she is also a side character in the next one. 


all played outAll Played Out (Rusk University #3)
Published: 12.05.2015
Genre: NA, Romance
Rating: 4/5 stars
Goodreads
Bookdepository

Synopsis: First person in her family to go to college? CHECK. Straight A’s? CHECK. On track to graduate early? CHECK. Social life? …..yeah, about that…. With just a few weeks until she graduates, Antonella DeLuca’s beginning to worry that maybe she hasn’t had the full college experience. (Okay… Scratch that. She knows she hasn’t had the full college experience). So Nell does what a smart, dedicated girl like herself does best. She makes a “to do” list of normal college activities. Item #1? Hook up with a jock. Rusk University wide receiver Mateo Torres practically wrote the playbook for normal college living. When he’s not on the field, he excels at partying, girls, and more partying. As long as he keeps things light and easy, it’s impossible to get hurt… again. But something about the quiet, shy, sexy-as-hell Nell gets under his skin, and when he learns about her list, he makes it his mission to help her complete it. 

review

This was definitely my favorite book of the three! Probably because I could relate to Nell the most. She was just trying to get out of her comfort zone, and experience college at its fullest before it’s over. I like that this one didn’t include any major family issues/traumas for the main characters. Often in NA, it’s that one of the two has this trauma, injury or issue. But this is just a story of a girl trying out new things. With some help from Mateo and her friends.

I really, really loved this. Of course there was some drama present. But I liked how it wasn’t 75% of the book. Mostly, it was just a joy to read. I could really relate to Nell, and I fell in love with Mateo. I also thing that’s a beautiful name, Mateo. 

I both liked and disliked how the side character I mentioned previously dealt with her experience. Her friends were supportive, yet gave her some space. She didn’t lock herself up but she didn’t participate in many things either. Which of course, I understand. But I did feel like she should have asked for help! Maybe you don’t like to talk about it. That’s completely fine. But you should try and find a way to deal with it. I don’t know, I’ve luckily never been through anything similar so I can’t really tell her what to do. 

4 thoughts on “Recently Read Romance: Cora Carmack | Mini Reviews

  1. I’m glad you decided to try out romance novels 😀 It’s always nice to indulge in new things and I’m happy that you did! I’ve never really read Cora Carmack books though, but maybe someday I’ll give them a try. I’m very wary of NA romance books, though, since I find certain scenes too steamy for my taste. But I don’t know, maybe in a few months/years I might give them a try.

    I love your review on the first book! How there are familial aspects and stuff, and I’m happy you were invested on the characters. That’s great to hear! Happy reading ❤

    Like

    • Thanks! I think it’s great that you know what you like. If you’re not up for steamy scenes, then it may indeed be best to wait a bit with NA.. When you feel up to it though, I’d recommend this series over her other one (the Losing It one) 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

