Top Ten Tuesday: Books With a Court Setting

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. This week, it’s all about the setting. I’ve chosen 10 of my favorite books set at court! To be honest, I probably could make 2 of these lists…

There are many other books I love that partly happen at court as well. However, I had to choose 10 and decided to pick from those almost entirely set at court/revolving around kings and queens. 

A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin // I couldn’t possibly leave this out. I can’t even remember when I first read this one. It must have been 4 or 5 years? I should definitely do a re-read of these soon. I would say I’ll re-read them in preparation for Winds of Winter, but who knows when that will be. Anyway, when talking about court and intrigue, you just have to include Game of Thrones. Stabby, stabby, plotty, plotty. (Totally not actual words, whatever).

Warbreaker by Brandon Sanderson // This is actually set at two different courts! We have the court in Idris, the home of our two main characters. And then we have the court in Hallandran, where the gods live. I really love this book. Brandon Sanderson is just a master at creating epic fantasies that are also easy to read.

Cinder (Lunar Chronicles #1) by Marissa Meyer // I think pretty much everyone knows this series. But I still wanted to give it a mention. It’s been such a long time since I’ve read Cinder (about 3 years) yet I still think of it fondly. I think it may be time for a re-read soon? 

The Kiss of Deception (Remnant Chronicles #1) by Mary E. Pearson // I guess this is kind of cheating, because the majority of this book is not set at court. Yet, Lia is a princess -and the second book IS set at court. I really like this trilogy so far, and I’m excited to read the third book soon.

The Girl of Fire and Thorns (Fire and Thorns #1) by Rae Carson // I’ve recommended this multiple times, I know. But I still feel like not enough people have read it. It’s about Princess Elisa who has to marry King Alejandro because she is the chosen one (as she is the Bearer of the Godstone). Elisa isn’t the typical YA heroine I’ve seen so often: she isn’t extremely slim and fit, she doesn’t have assassin-like fighter skills and doesn’t overflow with self-confidence. She’s so relatable, smart and grows tremendously throughout the trilogy. 

The Moon in the Palace (Empress of Bright Moon #1) by Weina Dai Randel // This is actually a historical fiction novel set at court in China. Isn’t that amazing? Yes, it is. Go read it. 

Assassin’s Apprentice (Farseer #1) by Robin Hobb // This is the story of Fitz, a royal bastard. Fitz is raised at court, which is why the story mostly takes place there. I only started reading Robin Hobb this year, but I’ve been absolutely loving it.

The Queen of the Tearling (Queen of the Tearling #1) by Erika Johansen // Another recent read! I had been putting this book off for so long, because I was afraid I wouldn’t like it. I have to admit that I admire Kelsea as a Queen. She’s incredible. She needs to defend her place on the throne, and try to survive. Queens have a history of dying young in this kingdom…

The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms (Inheritance #1) by N.K. Jemisin // Another high fantasy book! This is the story of Yeine, who has to compete to become heiress to the king of the Hundred Thousand Kingdoms. Much scheming, crazy god-slaves. Do you need more convincing?

Stolen Songbird (Malediction #1) by Danielle L. Jensen // Another fantasy book, yet a tad different. This one is set at the court of the trolls! Under a mountain, as the trolls have been cursed and can’t leave. They believe Cécile is the key to breaking the curse. Solution? Kidnap her.


Those are 10 books I love set at court! Trust me, I have so many more but obviously I couldn’t include them all. What are your favorite books set at court? Which setting did you choose for this week’s topic?

39 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books With a Court Setting

  1. Hey Jolien! Great slant on the TTT topic. You know what book with a court setting that really surprised me was The Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison. It was super detailed, but I definitely got into the protag and was surprised at how much I enjoyed the whole story. I have The Queen of the Tearling and Girl of Fire and Thorns yet on my TBR list, and I HAVE to read Sanderson. 🙂

    Like

  2. My list this week was kind of similar! I did ten books with a castle setting. 🙂 I really love all things courts and castles. I still need to read The Kiss of Deception and Queen of Tearling. They sound like books I’ll love!

    Like

  3. Fantastic list! The only book I’ve read on this list is Cinder and AH I loved it so much! *_* I really want to check the other books out! 🙂

    Like

  4. Ooh I like this topic! Game of Thrones is such a natural for this topic, and I love Robin Hobb’s stuff. I haven’t read the latest Fitz books though. And The Queen of the Tearling- have to agree. I liked the first book a lot.

    Like

  5. What a great choice – it never would have occurred to me to choose Courts and yet so many books are set at court! A few on here that I need to read. I think possibly I’m the only person on the planet that didn’t enjoy the Tearling book! And I still haven’t read the Lunar Chronicles even though I have the first book on my shelves – where its been sat waiting patiently for a very long time.
    Lynn 😀

    Like

  6. There are so many on your list that are on my TBR! So many books, so little time. Queen of the Tearling is high on my soon list though. I haven’t read it for the same reasons.. afraid I wouldn’t like it. 🙂

    Like

  7. Hi! Love this list! I really enjoyed Stolen Songbird, Queen of the Tearling and Cinder and I really want to read the rest. I was sad that so many people didn’t like Queen of the Tearling, I don’t really understand why? There were so many rumours going around that it was going to be made into a film but I haven’t heard anything in ages, I really hope they do though.

    Happy Reading
    Rachel @ Paein-and-Ms4Tune

    Like

  8. Great list! I love books set at Court, though I have only read two of the books on this list so far… But I would really love to read practically all of these books soon though! I would especially love to start reading some Robin Hobb, the Assassin’s Apprentice series sounds amazing.

    Like

  9. Have you continued with the Queen of the Tearling series? 🙂

    I don’t read much fantasy books that’s why I couldn’t use a more interesting setting such as this. Oh well, time to venture out I guess, I’d love new recommendations and so I might consider reading a few of these titles aside from Cinder, The Kiss of Deception–they’re already in my TBR, while The Queen of the Tearling, I’ve already finished last year, just haven’t continued on with it. 🙂

    Like

  10. Great topic! Warbreaker and The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms are awesome reads! I just realized that I never finished the Inheritance trilogy, because I didn’t like the second part. The first one was amazing though, so I should probably give it a chance.

    Like

Leave a Reply

