Spoiler-Free Review: One Good Dragon Deserves Another

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One Good Dragon Deserves Another (Heartstrikers #2) by Rachel Aaron
Published: 01.08.2015

Genre: Fantasy
Rating: 5/5 stars – ★★★★★
Goodreads


I won’t provide a synopsis as this is the second book in the series.

This review is spoiler-free, even for those who haven’t read the first book.

I did write a review on the first book in the series, Nice Dragons Finish Last, which you can find here.

review

I really enjoyed the first book in the series, so I couldn’t wait to read the sequel. I picked this one up while on vacation, and I’m so glad I chose to read it then. It was the perfect quick and fun read that had me smiling by the pool.

This book included even more family moments, which I adore. I think too little books out there, especially YA ones, include a family. Heartstrikers is centered around Julius’ family: the Heartstrikers. That’s the core of this series, and I absolutely love it. In this book, we get to see a lot more of Bethesda, Chelsie, Justin, etc. More dragon-siblings were introduced, like Amelia. Bethesda is the Heartstriker-mother, and every time she has a clutch of children she names them with the next letter of the alphabet. You know, to keep track. Julius is thus a recent child, as his name starts with a J. Amelia however, is the only remaining A which makes her very old -and very powerful. I loved meeting more of the Heartstriker family! They are all so…surprising. 

I think there is a lot of character development in this book and series. Julius is no longer so naive, and has learned to see more value in his skills. Yet he is still the nicest guy. I think that’s why I appreciate this series so much. For once, the nice guy is valued over the rest. Julius and Marci make an incredible team, and their business isn’t doing badly at all. Their friendship/romance is so slow, and it makes me savor every moment. It’s just adorable.

Because the Heartstrikers are dragons, intrigue and scheming is of course involved. It was so much fun to try and decipher all the plots, to discover who was in on it -and who was not. There is also more history in this book. History of the family, and history of the world -which I very much appreciated. 

I have to admit that I didn’t see the twists coming. The schemes and manipulations all come together at the end, and I didn’t foresee the scope of it. I was pleasantly surprised. I can’t wait to see what the 3rd book brings!

8 thoughts on “Spoiler-Free Review: One Good Dragon Deserves Another

  1. I absolutely loved this one! Learning more about all the Heartstrikers was really interesting, especially Chelsie’s backstory…poor Chelsie. It was also gratifying to see that Justin is actually a stand up guy, under all that bravado!

    That ending though! Dang. I can’t wait to see where the series goes from here! 😀

    Like

  2. I agree, I loved how everything came together for the ending. And GAAAAH the ending. So many bombshells at the end of this one. Besides the obvious one, I also can’t wait to see the reaction of a certain dragon witch when she finds out what Bob did, uh oh!

    Like

  3. I’m glad you’re enjoying this series so much! I liked meeting the extended Heartstriker family, too, they’re all amazing characters.

    And yeah, for once, I’m a fan of a REALLY slow-burn romance – they are so perfect for each other! 🙂

    Like

  4. This sounds fab!
    On the family themes, I agree. There isn’t enough focus on families in fiction (particularly YA fiction), and I love finding a book which explores the good and bad parts of being close to your relatives.
    And with a five-star rating, it must be worth it :o)

    Like

Leave a Reply

