Top Ten Tuesday: On My Shelf for the Longest Time

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. This week, it’s about the books that have been on your shelf since before you became a blogger. I have only been a blogger for about 2 years, so I just chose the 10 books that have been on my to-read shelf on Goodreads the longest.

The Help by Kathryn Stockett // I saw the movie years ago, and book the book years ago. Yet I still haven’t read it. It’s such a shame. I started listening to the audio book once, but never finished it. 

And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini // Khaled Hosseini is such a big name in fiction, and three of his books have been on my self the longest. At this point, I don’t even remember what this one is about. I’ve forgotten the synopsis.

A Thousand Splendid Sunds by Khaled Hosseini // Like I said, his books have been on my to-read shelf for ages.

The Killing Moon (Dreamblood #1) by N.K. Jemisin // N.K. Jemisin’s books have been on my to-read list for so long. I finally read two of her books this year, yet this one had been on my to-read shelf even longer. For some reason, I never hear anyone talking about this particular one. 

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini // I think this is the Hosseini book I’m most likely to pick up. It seems the most universally loved one? I think my mom even read this in Dutch and liked it. 

The Demon King (Seven Realms #1) by Cinda Williams Chima // As a fantasy fan, I’m kind of ashamed to say I haven’t read this series yet. I have had the first book on my physical shelf for over 2 years. I’m just so scared to not like it! The hype around this series has been around for ages.

The Magician’s Nephew (Narnia #6 or #1) by C.S. Lewis // I have read a few on the Narnia books, although I read those years ago. I really should continue with the series/buy my own paperback versions.

The Archived (The Archived #1) by Victoria Schwab // This list is just full of authors whose works I should have read ages ago. I love her work as V.E. Schwab but haven’t read any of her word as Victoria Schwab.

The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater // I absolutely love her Raven Cycle. Yet I haven’t picked up any of her other books. This one sounds absolutely amazing though!

The Shining by Stephen King // I’ve only read one Stephen King book, The Eyes of the Dragon, and I believe I was around 15 then. It’s about 7 years later now, and I barely remember it at all. I do remember loving it! Yet I haven’t picked up any other works from him.


Those are the books that have been on my to-read list the longest! I know… Have you read any of these? Which ones should I read first?

43 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: On My Shelf for the Longest Time

  1. The help is on my shelf to, I don’t’ think I’ll ever read. It just doesn’t peak my interest… I read a Stephen King novel when I was quite young as well. Scared me so much I still am semi worried about going in the water! 😂

    Like

  2. The help is on my self as well. I haven’t read and I don’t think I will. It just doesn’t peak my interest. I read a Stephen King novel when I was very young myself. Scared me so much that to this day I’m a bit scared of going in the water!

    Like

  3. Oh my gosh, Jolien, pick up The Scorpio Races now! I love that book so much. It was what renewed my interest in Stiefvater (I wasn’t a fan of Shiver or Lament). I also want to read The Shining. I’ve read a couple of King’s books, but I’m very intrigued by this one. Hope you get to some of these reads soon!

    Like

  4. Kite Runner is a great book – surpassed I think by A Thousand Splendid Suns which really does pack an emotional impact.
    I also highly recommend The Shining – very different from the film version and really good.
    Lynn 😀

    Like

      • There’s a lot more going on in the story than the words “speak”…Jemisin did a great job of writing a story that is much more than just the words she used. I read both books back-to-back and it wasn’t until days after I finished “The Shadowed Sun” that I really got the entire story she was telling. Jemisin does a great job of story telling without preaching at you, and if you just read the surface story you miss a lot of what she’s saying.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. The Killing Moon, The Demon King, and The Archived have also been on my TBR for so long! I definitely hope we both get to them soon. 🙂 Sadly, I don’t think I’ve read any of the books on your list except The Magician’s Nephew, but unfortunately it didn’t totally click with me. Nice list, I hope you get to read these all soon!

    Like

  6. I love The Shining! I re-read it a couple of years ago, and was surprised by how truly creepy it is (and how much better than the movie). I really liked The Magician’s Nephew when I did a Narnia read with my son a few years back. I do want to read some N. K. Jemisin — I have a different book of hers on my TBR shelf. 🙂 Great list!

    Like

  7. I read the Kite Runner in college as required reading, and I’m so glad that it was on the list because I don’t think I would have picked it up myself with it being so far out of my comfort zone, but I loved it. A tough read at times though.
    I’ve seen The Help movie and have been meaning to read the book since but still haven’t gotten round to it. It’s been on my list for quite a while!
    I’m not good with scary so Stephen King is a big no no for me. I hope you get round to read his, and the rest of these books! 🙂

    Like

  8. I adore The Help! I saw the movie randomly once when my family and I decided to watch something on TV one day, and I instantly knew that I would have to read the book. Both forms of the story are incredibly well done!

    Like

  9. The Magician’s Nephew is amazing. I read my copy so much that it fell to pieces. It’s like finally sees backstage and understanding how everything came to be! It’s brilliant. I’m hoping to read The Demon King soon but all the others on your list are currently sitting on my long-time-TBR pile. It makes me so sad. Hope you get a chance to read some of these soon.

    Happy Reading
    Rachel @ Paein-and-Ms4Tune

    Like

  10. Great list! Most of these are still on my TBR as well, but I have read The Demon King and the rest of the Seven Realms series and absolutely loved it, so I would definitely recommend that one 🙂

    Like

  11. The Shining is one of my favourite King books, sooo good! I started reading The Demon King a few days ago, how funny xD I put it down again though.. So far it all seems very predictable & stereotypical. You can see who’s supposed to be the hero, the love interest, the bad guy, etc… I have not given up on it yet, but I might read something else first.

    Like

  12. Oh, you must read The Demon King. I feel like I’ve said this ten times already. I’m sorry, haha. The Archived is pretty good too. There is a small part of me that prefers it over ADSOM

    Like

Leave a Reply

