Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Books in 6 Genres You Need to Read

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. This week, it’s a back to school freebie. I was thinking that I was never really encouraged to read in school. So I decided to choose 10 books I would have in a school library/class room to encourage people to read. I chose 6 genres, so people could try different genres and see what they like best.

ADULT

The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah // Historical Fiction // This is honestly one of the best historical fiction novels I have ever read. It’s set in France during the second World War, and follows the life of 2 very different sisters. It’s got war, family, love, survival and pretty much everything. I actually got quite emotional at the end of the book.

The Martian by Andy Weir // Science Fiction // I haven’t read a lot of science fiction, to be honest. I’ve read a few adult sci-fi books, but of those I believe that The Martian would be the best choice for people who aren’t used to reading science fiction. It’s easy to get into, the main character is hilarious which makes the science lessons easier to digest.

Written in Red (The Others #1) by Anne Bishop // Urban Fantasy // I’m not completely sure this are urban fantasy, but I believe so. This is one of my favorite series ever, and I’d recommend it to anyone and everyone. Really.

The Secret History by Donna Tartt  // Fiction // This book took me by surprise. I’d heard great things about it, yet I didn’t expect to love it as much as I did. I was so invested in the characters! Some I loved, some I hated, and some I changed my mind about. This book also managed to make me feel incredibly smart and stupid at the same time.

Theft of Swords (Riyria Revelations #1) by Michael J. Sullivan // Fantasy // I’m sure you’re all sick of seeing this series/author on my blog. Not sorry whatsoever. I absolutely love his works (and I’d recommend starting here).

YA/MG

Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling // Urban Fantasy (YA) //  I couldn’t leave this out. If I had to encourage young people to read, this is the first series I’d turn to. It started my love for reading, and I hope it will do so for generations to come.

The Girl of Fire and Thorns (Fire and Thorns #1) by Rae Carson // Fantasy (YA) // YA fantasy is such a well loved genre in the bookish communities, yet I feel like this book isn’t shown enough. I really like this fantasy trilogy with (I believe) Hispanic influences and a main character who isn’t the typical incredibly-beautiful-and-good-at-everything girl. 

Percy Jackson by Rick Riordan // Mythology (MG) // Like Harry Potter, I just couldn’t leave this off the list. I still love this series, and re-read it last month. It still makes me smile. 

The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller // Mythology (YA) // Another book I’ve mentioned quite often. I won’t stop doing so until I’ve convinced pretty much everyone to read it. It’s just such a beautiful story. It’s a re-telling of the story of Achilles, yet this time through the eyes of Patroclus. I obviously already knew how this story would end. Yet this book still managed to reduce me to tears. 

The Moon in the Palace (Empress of Bright Moon #1) by Weina Dai Randel // Historical Fiction (YA) // A more recent read! I’ve been loving more historical fiction lately, and I think this is a great example. Not only is it a really well-written novel, it taught me a lot about Chinese culture/history.


Those are 10 books I would put on display, and encourage people to read! Have you read any of these? If so, what did you think of them?

51 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Books in 6 Genres You Need to Read

  1. I soooo want to read The Song of Achilles! I NEED IT IN MY LIFE ASAP. I’ve only kind of heard of it this year so…definitely on my library list. heh. And YES to Percy Jackson and Harry Potter and A Girl of Fire And Thorns! SUCH incredible books!
    I’m really lucky that like most of my school emphasis was on reading!! #homeschoolingFTW I basically blame my fierce love of books now for how much I read as a kid!

    Like

  2. Fantastic list and I completely agree with you about The Martian. I’m not big into science fiction overall, but I think the survival aspect of it and the personality of the main character make it super readable. I think I surprised myself on that one and finished it in a day, haha!

    Like

  3. I like how you have a wide mix of choices here! It’s good to not be so rigid in your selection for students, because not everyone is going to like the same thing, and this way you might get to someone who thought they hated reading 🙂

    My TTT.

    Like

  4. Absolutely love Harry Potter and Percy Jackson, of course 😀 I still have to check out Michael J Sullivan. I’m slogging my way through Malazan, don’t think I can juggle two series at once. Hopefully I’ll get to Theft of Swords before the end of the year.

    Like

  5. I have heard such amazing things about The Martian, and I loved the film so really do think that I would like the book. Should really grab myself a copy.
    Of course for Harry Potter! And I really need to finish the Percy Jackson series. Really enjoyed it but just ran out of time to read it and there is always another book that comes first! I will get round to reading it at some point!
    Some great books on your list this week 🙂

    Like

  6. I’ve read The Girl of Fire and Thorns and agree that it’s quite underrated! I have to say, to me it felt more influenced by religion rather than Hispanic culture… though I admit that I have no real knowledge of the latter. 😛

    And The Martian is SO funny! ❤

    Like

  7. Great topic! I agree that it’s important to encourage people to read in school. And not just the required reading, which may cause a dislike for reading, but just to read different things and discover what you like. And I think you have a pretty perfect list for that!
    The Martian is indeed a perfect book to get into sci-fi. And of course Harry Potter and Percy Jackson are sure to start a love of reading for many people 🙂
    Haven’t read the others yet but they seem like such a good mix and I’ll definitely check them out, especially The Others, Theft of Swords and The Song of Achilles.

    Like

    • Thank you! I know that in high school I had to read all this “great Belgian literature”. And I hated every second of it. Seriously, all the books were SO DEPRESSING? I think many people are discouraged from reading that way, and also because they just haven’t found a genre they like… I hope you like them! I do really have a soft spot for those 3 series 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

