Fictional Women I Look Up To #2 | Books & TV

A month ago, I wrote a post on 10 fictional women I look up to. A reading has always been a part of my life, there have been several fictional women who have shaped my thinking and opinions. I have more than 10 though, and some I’ve discovered more recently. So today, I thought I’d write a post on 12 more women I look up to. 6 of these will come from books, and 6 from TV shows I’ve watched. 

books

Kelsea // The Queen of the Tearling (Queen of the Tearling #1) by Erika Johansen // At first, I wasn’t really feeling this book or Kelsea -the main character. In the first 20% or so, people constantly mentioned how plain she looked, how she’s nothing special and so on. I was sitting there, thinking: WE GET IT. But then, everything changed. Kelsea grew so much, and became such a strong person. She followed her intuition, and didn’t listen to others when they said she was wrong/crazy. She demanded respect from those who underestimated her because she’s a young woman. 

Oree // The Broken Kingdoms (Inheritance #2) by N.K. Jemisin // I loved Oree. She’s an artist who sells her wares in the shadows of the tree -and the city Sky. She’s also blind. I just loved her spirit! How she cared for people, but didn’t let them take advantage of her either. How independent she was. The fact that she paints beautiful paintings even though she’s blind.

Gwen // The Riyria Chronicles by Michael J. Sullivan // I chose his Chronicles series over the Revelations one because she’s more present in the Chronicles -which is the prequel series. Gwen has a gift of seeing parts of the future when she reads a palm. She knows her own future (I think) yet she’s fearless in facing it. She helped others achieve their potential, is kind and an amazing business woman. 

Meg // Written in Red (The Others #1) by Anne Bishop // I know that some people will find my choice of Meg odd. She’s not the most risk-taking character. But try to imagine this: your entire life, you’ve been locked up in one building. You are shown images of the world, yet never see it. People pay to cut your skin so you’ll see visions that answer their question. She didn’t know anything about the actual world, but she ran away and dove into it. She found a job, a place to live and friends. She’s kind. She asks for help. All the while, she’s learning how everything works: like a coffee machine or a washing machine. I think it would be incredibly scary to be dropped into a world where nothing is familiar. And I look up to Meg for dealing with it so well. 

Lila Bard // A Darker Shade of Magic (Shade of Magic #1) by V.E. Schwab // I think most people who’ve read and liked ADSOM, have also really liked Lila. She’s very independent, and never really gives up. She has big dreams, and she’ll do whatever she thinks is necessary/okay to reach them. She doesn’t pay attention to people telling her she’ll never be able to do something (like magic). I have loved watching her journey, and I can’t wait to see what she does in the third book.

Tea // The Bone Witch (The Bone Witch #1) by Rin Chupeco // Maybe I shouldn’t have included it in this list, because this book hasn’t been released yet. But I really enjoyed it -and already can’t wait for the sequel to be released. This book follows Tea for about 2 years, from the moment she first discovers she’s a bone witch/asha. I think there is a massive difference between Tea as a 13-year-old, and Tea as a 15-year-old. She grew up in a small village, which means she grew up with a lot of prejudice for the unknown/misunderstood. But she learns how wrong this vision is, and seeks to adapt it. She also doesn’t stick to the status quo. It doesn’t matter if that’s the way it is, it’s still not right to her. I love that. 

tv shows

Peggy Carter  // Agent Carter // I’m still not over this show being cancelled. Honestly. Peggy is such an amazing character! I’ve loved her ever since I watched Captain America: The First Avenger. And I loved her even more after watching this show. She’s one of the only/first women in the SSR, in the 1940s. So the men kind of overlook her. 

Buffy // Buffy the Vampire Slayer // A classic. I couldn’t leave Buffy off the list! The Slayer. Do you really need more explanation? 

Lois Lane & Chloe Sullivan // Smallville // I loved Smallville. So much. I think it was a wonderful Superman-story, and I loved many of the women in the show. In particular, Lois and Chloe. Both are so smart, strong and determined. I love that Lois is 100% herself the entire time.

Clarke // The 100 // I haven’t watched the latest season of The 100, yet I do feel like I can say I look up to Clarke. She used to be a medicine student, until her father discovered a secret about the Ark. She felt like everyone had the right to know said secret, which is what landed her in jail -and on the Ground. She’s a natural leader, yet she’s kind. She’ll do whatever is necessary, yet she has so much compassion. 

Lydia, Allison, etc. // Teen Wolf // I think there have been many great women in the Teen Wolf seasons. Lydia is one of them. Strong, incredibly smart and loyal to her friends. Allison is an amazing character too, and so is Malia, Kira, Melissa, etc. All the women are so strong and independent -sometimes even a tad scary. 

Penelope Garcia // Criminal Minds // Penelope Garcia is probably one of the reasons I love Criminal Minds so much. She’s the best character ever. For some background, if you don’t watch the show, Garcia used to be a hacker and now works as a technical analyst for the BAU. I love her witty conversations and one-liners, they make me laugh out loud often. She’s not afraid to show her personality in her clothes, hair and space decoration even though it doesn’t really “fit” with the serious image of the FBI. I love that she always wants to see the good in people, and that the years working for the BAU have not made her cynical. 


Those are 12 (kind of) more fictional women I look up to! Have you read any of these books, or watched any of these shows? Do you agree with my picks? Which women do you look up to?

8 thoughts on “Fictional Women I Look Up To #2 | Books & TV

  1. This was a really good post I liked reading about what qualities you admire in your characters and some of those books are going to make there way into my tbr for sure. Also I totally agree that Garcia is the best thing on Criminal Minds for sure, her quirky outfits always make me happy.

    Like

  2. Buffy and always will be one of my absolute favorites! The character, and the show as a whole, shows the power of women to change the world! I love Agent Carter as well, and I’m so sad that the show won’t be back.

    Like

Leave a Reply

