Series I Won’t Finish #6

I’m back with another installment of series I won’t finish. Yes, 6 posts of these might seem like a lot to you. But I’ve read quite a few books in the past years, most of those belonging to a series. And there’s just no way I’m finishing all of them.

#1: Covenant by Jennifer L. Armentrout

What I’ve Read: Half-Blood, Pure, Deity

Why I Won’t Continue: Jennifer L. Armentrout’s books are always so addictive. I tend to read them in a matter of hours. They’re fun and quick reads. Yet I don’t have any desire to finish this series. I don’t think it’s her best, and it’s been several years since I read Deity. 

#2: The Selection by Kiera Cass

What I’ve Read: The Selection (#1), The Elite (#2), The One (#3), The Heir (#4)

Why I Won’t Continue: I only have one book to read to complete the series. Yet that still feels like too much effort for me. I quite enjoyed the first trilogy, as they are kind of like a guilty pleasure TV show. Fun and entertaining, not too serious. Yet I hated Eadlyn, the main character in The Heir. Absolutely despised her. And I can’t even read one more book from her perspective. 

#3: The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

What I’ve Read: City of Bones, City of Ashes, City of Glass, City of Fallen Angels

Why I Won’t Continue: This is one of the series that inspired me to write this Series I Won’t Finish-series. It’s no secret that I’m not a fan of this series. I think it’s way too long, and probably should’ve ended at book 3. I’m not a big fan of the characters or the story. I do love her Infernal Devices trilogy so don’t think I’m just hating on her as an author. And I quite like the TV show Shadowhunters.

#4:  To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

To all the boys I've loved before

What I’ve Read: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before

Why I Won’t ContinueI read this when it first came out, and only realized it wouldn’t be a standalone when I reached the ending. I was not okay. I tried reading the second book, but just couldn’t get into it. Apparently another guy gets introduced, etc. I don’t care. I don’t know what happens in the next book(s) but I’ll just be over here pretending there were 30 more pages to this one in which Lara gets her happy ending with Peter.

#5:  Burn for Burn by Jenny Han & Siobhan Vivian

burn for burn

What I’ve ReadBurn for Burn

Why I Won’t Continue: I read this years ago, and I believe it was my first Jenny Han read. I did enjoy this book, don’t get me wrong. But I have no interest in continuing. It’s about a trio of girls who are seeking revenge on guys. I enjoyed it at the time, but I don’t think I’d enjoy the sequels anymore. I also don’t feel a need to know what happens in the end?


So those are 5 more series I won’t be finishing! Have you read any of these? What did you think of them? 

8 thoughts on “Series I Won’t Finish #6

  1. I don’t blame you one bit on The Selection series. I love the first three, but the last two weren’t good. I wish I hadn’t read the last one myself. Heck, I wish I hadn’t started Eadlyn’s story at all it was unnecessary and just bad. 😛

    Like

  2. I’ve heard such mixed things about the Selection series! I have the first book and I’m interested in reading it because I’ve heard they’re a fun, guilty pleasure kind of read but I’m not sure if it’s worth it as I’ve heard the last two books have an awful main character! We’ll see! >.< I have yet to read the last Mortal Instruments book! I loved the first three, hated the fourth one (I DNFed it at one point) and loved the 5th one – so I hope I enjoy the last one! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

