Top Ten Tuesday: My (15) Favorite TV Shows

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. This week, it’s all about the TV shows. I’m so excited for many of my favorite shows to return. Although at this point (I’m writing this in August), I’ve yet to catch up with many of my favorite shows. So, let’s talk about my 15 favorite TV shows. 

ended

I’ll start with some shows that have already ended/been canceled. 

Veronica Mars // This will forever be one of my favorite shows. I love the movie as well, and the first book on audio. I haven’t read the second. This show started my love for Kristen Bell. Veronica is smart, sassy and AMAZING. You all need to watch this show, if you haven’t already. 

Buffy the Vampire Slayer // Another strong-female-main-character classic. How can you not love Buffy? I don’t think I need to explain this.

Agent Carter // I can’t express how sad I was when I realized this show was canceled. EXCUSE ME? I need my Peggy Carter fix in my life! I love this show, it’s so amazing. I did like the ending of season 2, so it’s not like it ends on a giant cliffhanger. But there is still so much of Peggy’s story, and the SSR and S.H.I.E.L.D, that we need to discover.

F.R.I.E.N.D.S. // Obviously. This is one of those shows I can re-watch forever and never get bored of it. It always makes me laugh, even though I’ve heard the jokes/lines a million times before.

running

Teen Wolf // I just caught up with this series. I’ve been loving it for years, and it gets darker every season. It all started off so innocent. And look where we are now.

Supernatural // I haven’t seen the latest season yet. Well, I’ve seen some episodes, but I’m like 18 episodes behind. I think there is a reason this show has been running for so long: it’s great. I do have to admit that the brothers have died and been resurrected MANY many times. Like cats, they seem to have 9 lives.

Elementary // This is my favorite Sherlock adaptation so far. I love Lucy Liu as Watson. I’m 8 episodes behind though… 

How to Get Away With Murder // This show is one giant mind-fuck. Honestly, half of the time I just sit there, thinking “what??”. I’ve barely seen anything from season 2 though I’m excited to catch up. This is one of those shows I prefer to binge per season, because the suspense would kill me otherwise. 

The 100 // Again, I haven’t been able to catch up with season 3. I’m afraid it will disappoint my shippy heart. But this show is so good, far better than the books (in my opinion). I’m not usually a big fan of science fiction, but this show definitely got me into it. 

Criminal Minds // I have been following this show for years. I can remember waiting every week for a new episode in my last year of high school, and that was 4 years ago. I think I started watching even before that. I never tire of this show. I love the characters, the cases -absolutely everything. I do have a soft spot for Reid and Garcia though.

The Flash // I love this so much. I first started watching because I already knew I liked Grant Gustin as an actor. I think he’s doing an amazing job as The Flash/Barry Allen. I like seeing the younger generation do so well with the superhero remakes (see Supergirl).

recent shows

Lucifer // This is one of the only shows I have kept up with during the year. I didn’t have much time to watch any shows, so I had to make a choice. And I chose this one. I can’t wait for the second season! This show only started last year, but it has made its way up my favorites list.

Blindspot // Another new addition to the TV world! I’m very intrigued by this show, and the mysteries scattered throughout the first season. I am 5 episodes behind though, so I have to catch up soon! 

Supergirl // Like I said before, I love the younger generation taking the main roles of superheroes lately. I love Grant Gustin as The Flash, and I love Melissa Benoist as Supergirl. I was a bit hesitant at first. I did love her in Glee, but let’s be honest: Glee and Supergirl are very different themes. So I wasn’t sure how she’d do. But she’s amazing!

Quantico // I have loved Criminal Minds for years, which is a show about an FBI team of profilers. Yet I’ve never really watched a show about the training at Quantico! That’s why I started watching it. I do love it, but I’m 9 episodes behind. There’s just so much intense drama in this show that I find myself needing a break at times.


I’d say I’m sorry I couldn’t stick to 10, but I’m really not. TV shows are life, and I couldn’t leave any of these off my list. Have you watched any of these? What did you think of it? Would you recommend a show to me based on what I watch?

38 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: My (15) Favorite TV Shows

  1. I keep seeing Teen Wolf, and now I think I need to try it, basically! I agree with you completely about Friends 🙂 And The 100 is my all-time favorite, and I mean… I guess it depends on your ships, but actually that isn’t true, that show will break your heart regardless, but it doesn’t even matter, I need MORE! January is too far away, but that gives you time to catch up 😉

    Like

  2. Friends is awesome! It’s one of the best sitcoms ever. I’ve been meaning to get into Buffy but I just haven’t found the time to commit. 7 seasons is quite a huge amount to go through.

    Like

  3. My wife and I were huge fans of Agent Carter and were sad to see it go. Elementary is another one of our favorites, as is Blindspot.

    Several of the other shows you list will likely be Netflix binge-watched in the future.

    Like

  4. I just want to scream YESSSS to so many of these. VMars, Buffy, Agent Carter, Lucifer—Gaaah, they are all SOO GOOD. I was happy with the ending of AC, but I also really want to know what happened to a particular character after the end of the series. (I won’t say who because of spoilers, but I NEED TO KNOW).

    Like

  5. Ah Buffy. When that was showing I completely missed it, haha. But I rectified that later in life. I don’t really follow follow Criminal Minds but I enjoy watching it from time to time. Reid is so precious. They will start showing Blindspot here soon so I’m curious about that. And I am curious about Lucifer. It sounds up my alley, haha. Good to hear you enjoyed it so much.

    Like

  6. Ah so many good shows! Veronica Mars and Buffy are shows I love to re-watch every so often too 🙂 And of course Friends is a classic! I loved Agent Carter too, but I’ve only watched half of season 1 so far… And also yes to Teen Wolf (so sad we only get one more season), The 100, The Flash and Supernatural. I haven’t watched the other shows on your list yet, but I definitely hope to start them someday. Especially Elementary has been intriguing me forever!

    Like

Leave a Reply

